BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scoop

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

This was a fun book to read, with an interesting plot. I liked the characterizations, and as a free download, it was really one of the good ones. Lots of action and Cauley is no shrinking violet. I finished the book at 4:30 a.m., this morning, so I'd say it really ke...
This was a fun book to read, with an interesting plot. I liked the characterizations, and as a free download, it was really one of the good ones. Lots of action and Cauley is no shrinking violet. I finished the book at 4:30 a.m., this morning, so I'd say it really keeps your interest.

posted by TheDownloader on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blah

Lost interest very quickly. Tried to finish it but found i didnt care what happened to anyone. Good thing it was free.

posted by Anonymous on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was a fun book to read, with an interesting plot. I liked the characterizations, and as a free download, it was really one of the good ones. Lots of action and Cauley is no shrinking violet. I finished the book at 4:30 a.m., this morning, so I'd say it really keeps your interest.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Good book!

    For me, a good book is one you think about for a few days after you finish it. This book is one of those. Last night I woke up and I thinking about the events in this book! I really enjoyed it! The only disappointment was seeing that the sequel is not available on Nook! I was ready to buy it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Blah

    Lost interest very quickly. Tried to finish it but found i didnt care what happened to anyone. Good thing it was free.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Highly recommend. Can't believe this was a free book. I couldn

    Highly recommend. Can't believe this was a free book. I couldn't put it down. Don't miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Anonymous

    Just loved the book. Sooo much fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    The main caracter is a total mess, she gets into and out more gawd awful situations than you can imagine. Well written; can't wait for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Good Read

    I enjoyed reading SCOOP, it is a little long. Some parts drag but it is a good story. I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Enjoyable chicklit mystery

    Plot was decent and the main character likeable - pretty entertaining but no lasting impression.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Just silly

    If you want a light, silly book you'll enjoy this. The mystery part of the story was good - didn't figure it out right away. Overall the constant bad things that happen to the lead character get a little ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Excellent

    Loved this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Great read

    - interesting story line with moments of humor. Definitely have to buy the next book in the series. Hope to see more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Great!

    This was a great book and worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    V

    Very interesting, funny, suspensful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Couldn't put it down

    Grat nd fun story to read...couldn't put it down and immediatlly read the second and now can't wait for the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Get a good editor/spellchecker/grammarian!!! Get a good editor/whoever it is that is responsible

    PLEASE!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Good read

    Cauley MacKinnon writes obits and wants to be a reporter on the Metro side of the paper. With her friends, police, a hot FBI agent and the mafia she manages to get into trouble but does solve the mystery. Who will be the guy she ends up with?

    This book and the sequil are good fun reads. There are some sex scenes, not many, so it is not appropiate for under 16. Cauley MacKinnon is to Austin, TX as Stephany Plum is to Trenton, NJ.

    Looking forward to more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Funny, a rainy day treat. First in a series

    This 530 page novel is the first in a series. It really needs to be read first. Unfortunately, I read it second and for me, a lot of it seemed like a rerun. But it does add depth to the second book and clears up a few puzzles. I kept thinking I had read these two books before and realized they were a lot like the Calamity Jane series, which I also enjoyed. So much so alike, in fact, I wonder if the same author wrote both series, but used a different name for each. The mystery plot is interesting in Scoops, the characters likable, the animals realistic and lovable, even the bad people have merit, there is some extremely mild cursing, sexual situations and murder. None of these is very graphic. My main complaint about these books is one of the same I have for Calamity Jane, the author does not know what a comma is or how to use one. There are a lot of left out words as well. Sometimes a person needs a rich, fancy desert and sometimes a plain chocolate bar is best, these books are the chocolate bar. A fun, satisfying read for mystery readers looking for something light and sweet. Recommended for readers 16 and up.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    E

    2.5 stars. Not really exciting. At times I skipped many chapters since it dragged on & on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Fun book

    Laugh out loud funny and plenty of action. Sort of a Stephanie Plum character (by Janet Evanovich) comes to Texas type of book. Am looking forward to reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Great book. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6