Customer Reviews for

Scorch (Croak Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    We pick up shortly after Croak left off. Lex is still dealing wi

    We pick up shortly after Croak left off. Lex is still dealing with the loss that took place in the previous book. She’s not the same old snarky Lex that we’re used to. She’s reserved, quite and a bit sulky. However, it doesn’t take long for her to start to return to her old self, but she will never be the same. Not to mention she still has a killer she has to catch and the townsfolk of Croak have turned not only against her, but her uncle (who’s mayor) as well.

    The way the synopsis reads I thought that they would be on an adventure from the get go but that’s not the case. In fact they don’t actually head off to DeMyse until the last quarter of the book. The whole beginning of the book is the fallout of what took place in the last book as well as developing a little bit more of the story and mystery.

    Again, Gina is amazing when it comes to creating interesting characters. We get two new characters added to the ranks of reaper, Bang and Pip. Bang doesn’t talk, instead she signs in her own way (not ASL) and Pip… well he’s a motor mouth. He talks a mile a minute and doesn’t have an off switch. The two new characters definitely added a little something to the table. Plus, we get King Tut! I mean… how many books have you read where King Tut is in it? I bet you didn’t know that he could bench press a camel named Lumpy? HAH! See that right there is why you must read the book. Gina is one crazy chick and her awesomeness shows in her writing.

    Again, she leaves us with another cliffhanger. However, it works because it ends this chapter in their lives and starts a new journey in the next one. However, there are a lot of questions left unanswered and I for one will be tuning in to Rogue to see what happens next. Gina has skyrocketed to one of my top fave authors with the two books that she’s wrote. I love the way she creates a story, doesn’t get bogged down with mundane details and give her characters so many various personalities that you wish they were real so that you could try to befriend them. Seriously, I want a psychotic Lex as my friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved it

    This series is awesome! 264 pages. Keeps you reading. Recommend highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Janessa, Age 15 for Citybook Review Poor Lex is a Gr

    Reviewed by Janessa, Age 15 for Citybook Review
    Poor Lex is a Grim Reaper, as if being a teenager isn’t hard enough, and  has already made a major no-no when she accidentally gives her power of damning souls to Zara and then lets her get away. Lex quickly finds herself on the outs socially and only worsening as Zara goes on a damning rampage, leaving no one safe in the small town of Grims. Will she find the book in time that could save more innocent lives before it is too late?
    “…show the way to the cabin, or I swear to God I’ll feed you to the first bear that inevitably shows up to eat us.”
    This is a hilarious book that, excluding the grim reaper part, most teens can relate too. What puzzled me is how could no one see that Zara is blatantly killing people? At some point (sooner than later) you would think someone would figure it out. It is still a splendid read with quirky characters, teenage mishaps, and a wild adventure.
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review* 
     *You can view the original review at City Book Review & Musing with Crayolakym

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    All of those plot twists!

    This is the best book I've read in awhile, and at the everything unraveled. Not gonna spoil anything, but Ms.Damico definitely pulled out all the stops with this. It was certainly an unexpected turn of events, and A LOT of plot twists! Cant wait for the next book! :3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Best book

    So this book legitly is the best book ever no spoilers here tho :p ill let u no now though.... this book will keep u on ur toes... u just wont b able to put it down- Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Scorch is the sequel to Croak, and for those of you who haven't

    Scorch is the sequel to Croak, and for those of you who haven't read Croak yet you should probably get to that first. I'll try my best not to spoil the first book. I'm not making any promises, but I guarantee that this book's a winner.

    First off, let me just say something about Lex and Driggs. I adored them both so much better in this book, they were so freaking cute, adorable and sweet and had quite a number of scenes that had me grinning, then laughing, then wanting more. Let's just say that I particularly liked this shower scene of theirs. It was hilarious. I wanted to hug them both. Damico's characters are just as dysfunctional and entertaining as ever and I think I fell in love with each and every one of them all over again-especially Ferbus, I really liked him.

    Anyway, Lex is back! And she's just as badass as she was in the first book, but you know, better. The story starts with our lovely Lex returning to Croak where, after the events that transpired in the first book, she was not received well. The townspeople treat her like she's a blight on their existence and basically shun Lex and her Junior friends and blame every little bad thing that happens to Croak on them. Norwood and Heloise were the worst of the lot and I wanted to reach into the book and slap them silly and do other nasty, violent things to them for picking on the Juniors and Mort, too (although, I can't imagine Mort getting picked on).

    In Scorch, Lex is still looking for ways to hunt down Zara and is following clues that lead her to this super secret book that holds well, secrets, obviously. But then things go horribly wrong and Lex, her Uncle and her Junior friends all flee to DeMyse to escape the chaos that is Croak. This is where everything takes a turn for the worse and Scorch took me on a roller coaster ride of suspense and heartbreak. When it ended, I really had to stop myself from slapping someone (I know, I know, I'm violent). Just when I thought it would all be okay, BAM, everything goes up in flames. It was intense and I loved every minute of it. Well, except Zara, I didn't like her, she's so consumed by revenge and power that she'll do anything to get what she wants, even to the point of Damning innocents and was really, incredibly frustrating at the end.

    Scorch is the utterly thrilling sequel to Croak, it's intense, it's heart-breaking and it's strangely funny, even if I did want to bash my head in when I read the ending. You definitely need this book in your life.

    - Nicole of The Twins Read duo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    5 Stars *This is an advanced reader¿s copy* *This is the second


    5 Stars
    *This is an advanced reader’s copy*
    *This is the second book in a series. If you have not read Croak you may want to skip this review.*
    I am not going to give a detailed synopsis of this novel for the simple fact that it is a sequel.
    Being a teenager is hard enough for Lex, but being a teenaged Grim Reaper adds more to the challenge. After Uncle Mort introduces her to Croak and all things reaper events start to play out that are beyond her control but that she must face. Along with her uncle and fellow junior Grims she must figure out how to stop the damning of innocents while on the run trying to prove her innocence.
    This one is as much (maybe more) fun as Croak! There is action, adventure, humor, romance and sadness all rolled up into one big ball. These characters, even the antagonists, have so much depth and texture. I want to hang out with these Grims. I could also be happy visiting those who reside in the Afterlife. These books really do have a little something for everyone and I don’t have a single complaint except that I am ready for the next one now! I will shout recommendations from the rooftop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1