BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1877 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1255)

4 Star

(399)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

great

Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

very frustrating!

Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste ...
Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste your time! At least wait until the series is finished. The first book was a good read but I don't know if he even knew where he was going with the second and it definately dissapoints. I have never written a review before but I am so pasionate about hating this book that I just had to. The worst part is it is well written and interesting which makes it all the more frustrating and dissapointing when it ends in the middle.

posted by 5572046 on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1896 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 95
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Best Book Ever!!!!

    Okay, so I am a huge fan of the Twilight series and after I read the Maze Runner I was absolutely amazed! I am in the middle of The Scorch Trials, and just about every chapter ends with a cliff hanger! Sorry Stephanie, this series is about 20x better than yours! Thank you Mr. Dashner!

    42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    This is one of the very few books that are better than the first... in my opinion, better than The Hunger Games!!!!!!!

    35 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Seriously Awaiting!

    The Maze Runner book was edgy enough, leaving me sitting on the edge of my seat, begging for more! The story takes its reader on an amazing journey through an all to real arena that keeps the wheels of your brain spinning. Scorch Trials will no doubt leave the reader with same feeling, only more intenses! Can't wait to sink my teeth into this one!

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Amazing

    Loved it soooo much!! I could NOT put this book down. I absolutely with all my heart recomend this book! Especially for teens like me!!:) cant wait to read The Death Cure!!!!!!!!!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Book!

    This is a great book for 6th Grader-ish people. I'm in 6th grade and I loved this book!

    24 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Well Worth the Wait!

    Scorch Trials will without doubt be one of the best books of 2010! If it scratches the surface or how great Maze Runner is, we have something big here!

    TLGBRS

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    So...

    I still have nightmares where a crank is saying the rose ate my nose...AGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH haha awesome book stayed up allnight to buy it when it first came out and read it on my nook the whole day at schpol <3

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Bless James Dashner!!! This was one exceptional book! It had thr

    Bless James Dashner!!! This was one exceptional book! It had thrilling twists and turns, and as soon as you thought you had it all figured out, Dashner hit you with another twist.. But, boy, those Cranks are creepy.. Read it, you will understand what I mean!!! READ IT!!! DON'T LISTEN TO THE BAD REVEIWS!! READ IT!! I WILL FIND OUT IF YOU DON'T.. Well, I won't find out if who ever is reading this doesn't read it, but, you all know what I mean!! READ THIS AMAZING BOOK!!!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Very good book

    When i read the first book i was hooked and had to read this one but i did not expect it to surpaas the first one. Very suspensful

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    To be perfectly honest, I was extremely surprised with this book

    To be perfectly honest, I was extremely surprised with this book!! Usually sequels are good, but never as good as the 1st book. However, The Scorch Trials was AMAZING!!! The storyline and plot was so much better and more interesting than The Maze Runner, which is interesting because The Maze Runner was amazing as well! I just could not put this book down, and I feel it is my favorite book of the trilogy. I love the character development, I love meeting new characters, I love the new setting, and I LOVE the shock moment that comes near the end of the book. My jaw was dropped throughout every chapter, and I could not put this book down. Every time a chapter ended with the last shocking sentence, I had to put the book down for a minute in astonishment and think about how crazy good this book is. I would DEFINITELY recommend this book!!! You will not be disappointed. :)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    very frustrating!

    Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste your time! At least wait until the series is finished. The first book was a good read but I don't know if he even knew where he was going with the second and it definately dissapoints. I have never written a review before but I am so pasionate about hating this book that I just had to. The worst part is it is well written and interesting which makes it all the more frustrating and dissapointing when it ends in the middle.

    5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Wow

    If I could rate this 60 million stars I would one reason being that this series is very similar to The Hunger Games when dealing with dystopian genre. Secondly, this book will keep you in suspence, at every crevice there is a flaw in Thomas's life. Poor him, I really fell in love with sime of the characters.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it

    I really loved this book, i still think i liked maze runner just slightly more but i am incredibly excited about death cure and kill order the prequel to the maze runner. Great series love it all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Deserves to be sacrificed to the dark lord no lie

    Umm, to those who say this is a great book...just no. "Surprises at every turn" more like surprises every other paragraph. There were so many twists and turns it just got boring. It starts out dull. Theresa betrays. Thomas depressed. Dead bodies. New kid. Tatoos of death. Hunger. More depression. Ratman dude shows up and spills about wicked. Flat trans to dark tunnel. Death. More depression. Bright shiny light. A lot of walking. A few cranks. Even more depression (Thomas is just a ray of sunshine, isn't he?) Theresa shows up. Thomas leaves. Thomas is even more depressed than usual...okay, you get it. I was so frustrated with the fact that Thomas, the "hero" figure, had a hard time killing this less than human...thing...that was way past the gone, that had momentarily tried to kill him,that I put it down after that. It is very confusing. The maze runner was ok but you really disappointed me with this one, Mr. Dashner!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This book made me feel a mix of different emotions. I felt as if

    This book made me feel a mix of different emotions. I felt as if I were watching from afar at what was happening. I finished this book so fast because it was so hard to put down! Each chapter held a series of twists and turns that I would have never expected. However, I found it a bit annoying and repetitive when Dashner ended a chapter with “...and Thomas passed out.” It did really get me thinking because it was such an abrupt end. Most of the book I was thinking about all the people Thomas could confide in because there was pretty much no one Thomas could trust anymore. Could he even trust himself? 
    Anyways, I cannot wait to read the last book so I hope it is as thrilling as this one!



    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    The Highest Climax ever

    I have actually owned this book for a long while up to this date. During that time, I could never get too interested in the book, as I was used to the fast excitement of The Maze Runner, and the slow buildup lost me in the first fifty pages trying not to fall asleep. However, once I really started getting further into it, I found myself further absorbed in it, rarely putting the book down until the very end of the excerpt of the next book. The action in this book really gives you no clue what happens next, and that's what kept me hooked right through to the end. Very highly recommended for anyone who has already read the Maze Runner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Just Read It!!!

    This book was without a doubt better than the first, and I can't wait to see what James Dashner brings with The Death Cure! I seriously never wanted to put the book down because each page brought some new exciting thrill. Not only was the plot great, but the characters got me so emotionally involved I threw my nook down in anger (good anger). I also felt as if I was going to fall down sobbing. Maybe I'm just a crank (book joke), but this threw me for a loop. This is a must read, read it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    HELP

    No words are showing up! Its just blank pages! I turned it completely off then waited a while and turned it back on, but it didnt make a difference. Please help!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    BEST BOOK I EVER READ.

    Awesome. Read this book. Its the best. Im nine years old and i cant read it before i go to bed because i will have nightmares but its still the best book i ever read. This book was better than the maze runner, but not by far. The maze runner was awesome too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1896 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 95