BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1883 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1260)

4 Star

(400)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

great

Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

very frustrating!

Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste ...
Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste your time! At least wait until the series is finished. The first book was a good read but I don't know if he even knew where he was going with the second and it definately dissapoints. I have never written a review before but I am so pasionate about hating this book that I just had to. The worst part is it is well written and interesting which makes it all the more frustrating and dissapointing when it ends in the middle.

posted by 5572046 on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 400 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Good

    Really good. Looking forward to next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    The Scorch Trials takes place immediately after The Maze Runner,

    The Scorch Trials takes place immediately after The Maze Runner, and after the Gladers have finally escaped the Maze but the test and the mind games are far from over. The Gladers areput into another test, unlike anything they have experienced, and life-threatening in a different kind of way. It's all about testing variables and finding a candidate to cure a disease know as the Flare that will eventually make those who caught it go crazy. 




    I had to major issues with The Scorch Trials. Primarly, I hated the pacing. I didn't feel that same connection like I did with The Maze Runner. In The Maze Runner, while everything was happening so quickly, it was so easy for me to get sucked in and not realize my surrounding. I was totally absorbed in the book. With The Scorch Trials, a lot was happening but I was utterly aware of what was happening. I couldn't just dive in and immerse in the Gladers' world. Although a lot was happening, it felt like it was happening painfully slow.




    Another issue I had with the novel, is something that I attribute to myself, than on Dashner's part. I just couldn't fully imagine this world especially outside the Maze and the Wicked compound. It wasn't like Dashner wasn't descriptive, because he was, but I just couldn't compute the immensity of this other desert-like place. I understood that the conditions were horrible, but if you asked me to describe it, I couldn't. I think this lack of comprehension totally affected my enjoy of novel. I feel like The Scorch Trials is supposed to raise the stakes but because I didn't understand the environment, I couldn't fully understand the risks. 




    Not that The Scorch Trials doesn't have it's moments because there are some moments that will make your heart stop. Especially towards the end. Ohh the plot twist. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Very Good Series

    The Maze Runner series is great, especially for for preteens (12-14). I loved the every book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Great book

    Good book, if you like survival books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Really really good!!!

    It's very action packed. And there's a little romance! Thomas is trying to get his friends away from WICKED. One of the best books ever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was exciting & suspensful. Great book to follow up the first!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Excellent Sequel

    This book kept me just as much on the edge of my seat as the one before it, and I am anxiously awaiting the next one. With new characters, new situations, and new puzzling information about WICKED, there's just enough to start to piece together what the heck is going on - until, of course, things that we thought we knew are revealed to be false and things we never thought possible turn out to be very, very real. In short, if you've read Maze Runner, you MUST read this. I enjoyed it even more than the first one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    The Scorch Trials by James Dashner is definitely the book to kee

    The Scorch Trials by James Dashner is definitely the book to keep you on the edge of your seat while waiting to see what happens next. The thing that I really loved about this sequel is that the author continued to build on to the existing characters that we met and got to know from the first book. Weather it's the growing tension between Thomas and Teresa and the truth about their past together or the audience getting introduced to new characters like Jorge, Brenda, and the girls from the group B as they all travel across the barren land known as the scorch to finish these "trials" set up by Wicked James Dashner keeps the readers totally invested into what's happening. I recommend this book for those readers that like to be kept on their toes and constantly guessing about what's going to happen next because that is exactly what The Scorch Trials does and I love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    READ THIS!!

    Winston dies in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    I love this series

    I loved it but the ending made me so mad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    To anyone whis read the book

    Plz tell me if tessa is okay at the beginning the sample cuts off at--- then the handle clicks. And the door swings toward thomas. Idk what happens next. And i really need somone to tell me. I cant get the book till christmas. Its killing me. Also if you would tell me if they start dating? They as in tessa and
    Thomas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I don't really know where to start with this one ... I picked it

    I don't really know where to start with this one ... I picked it up immediately after finishing the first novel and I'm glad that they went together completely seamlessly. It was if the book had just continued and there wasn't a different title. This is great for a reader who picks up the whole series after it's complete and doesn't have to wait for each installment. If I had read this when it first came out and then had to wait for the third book, I would be nothing short of pissed. Once again, this one stopped at this massive crossroads and I had to pick up the 3rd book before I even wrote the review for this one because I just had to know what had happened.

    All in all, a good book. I wavered between 3 and 4 stars on this one. It was super exciting and so much stuff going on, so I wasn't bored but I did find myself skipping sentences and paragraphs just because the info wasn't REALLY important and I wanted to get on with the story. I guess you could say it lagged a little for me. Now, this may not be the case with a younger reader. Compared to the age that this book is targeted at, I'm old and I can imagine that younger generations might have more patience for this style of writing.

    I really don't have much else to say ... I can see why this book's rating is lower than the first ... the excitement does taper off a bit but it's still something that will keep your attention and you'll feel the need to pick up the next installment right after you finish it. The characters were great, the author really kept the same feel throughout both novels. The book magic was still the same ... nothing about the characters were changed, the feel of the novel was identical to the first. I think that is hard sometimes with authors. They get the first novel published and then who knows how long of a break there is in between the first and the second and before you know it, the characters just don't read the same between the two. I'm glad that didn't happen this time.

    I don't have any more time for dissecting this one ... I gotta get back to reading the final novel in the series ...The Death Cure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Horro

    ITS SCARY
    0-------------(-----------)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    After reading the Scorch Trials, I found out that it is a pretty

    After reading the Scorch Trials, I found out that it is a pretty good book despite having a somewhat slow beginning.  The story starts off
    right after the events of the Maze Runner when Thomas (the protagonist of the story) and the Gladers get ‘rescued’ and brought to a
    building. When the Gladers wake up the next morning, they find that their rescue was a scam and it was really a ploy by the people who
    created the Maze, WICKED and the Gladers are forced to travel across the Scorch, an area of land 100 miles long with burning
    temperatures in two weeks. From there, the Gladers travel across the Scorch and nearly get killed on several occasions. 
    The Scorch Trials does start out a little slow. Some parts at the beginning of the book are kind of boring and it may be hard to concentrate
    and keep reading. However, once the book gets in motion, it becomes quite interesting to read. The Scorch Trials has several scenes
    where the action scenes are so intense to the point where you don’t want to put the book down, which I won’t specify so you’ll read the
    book yourselves to find out. Unfortunately, despite the suspense sequences, the ending of the book is a little bit underwhelming. The
    ending seems to be really good until the book actually does end. The book ends rather abruptly without any questions answered. At the
    end, we don’t really learn anything new.
    The Scorch Trials is a pretty good book. The beginning, end, and some of the plot are somewhat questionable but it’s definitely worth
    reading, well at least after reading the Maze Runner.
    Mr. S, the username rhymes with mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Chase

    Uuuuhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    will23@gmail.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    4 1/2

    This is a great book along with The Maze Runner. Alot of people say tha this book is really random but it's not it all makes sense if tou pay attention.




    *spoiler-ish*

    If you say this book is random, it isn't because WICKED is just throwing in more variables and they're in the real world now. Not some man-made puzzle. This is what earth is now, a giant ball with infection and plague crawling all over it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    Non-stop action! Once again, there is a second in a series boo

    Non-stop action!


    Once again, there is a second in a series book that I found more enjoyable than the original, though there was more character development and plot in the first, making “The Maze Runner” a better novel all around.  The action is where the appeal is in this one, with “The Scorch Trials” picks up immediately where “The Maze Runner” ended, with the Gladers once again being thrust into a situation they do not understand and have no chance to stop and ponder.

    “The Scorch Trials” has action that literally does not stop.  No time is left to think, and the panic felt by the characters becomes very real.  The violence is raised to a higher level than in “The Maze Runner”, so those with weak stomachs should most likely stay away.  In fact, it is taken to a high enough level that the target age group seems to be older.  Gruesome is a good word for it.

    The writing is solid and as I said, the plot moves rapidly, making it a good choice for reluctant readers.  There is not much time spent on character development, but it is not neglected, either.  It simply builds naturally on what has already been established in the first book, with a couple of new characters thrown in.  Don’t go in expecting any answers.  “The Scorch Trials” brings nothing but more questions, but it does so in a way that left me eager to find out what is going on, as opposed to frustrated that too much was happening.

    A solid read, and I am looking forward to seeing where it all leads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Addicting

    I could not stop reading this book!!! Better than first and much more interesting. Although I expected more from the ending, it left me wanting to read the next book even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Good

    Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 400 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20