Customer Reviews for

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1820 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1219)

4 Star

(383)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

great

Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

very frustrating!

Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste ...
Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste your time! At least wait until the series is finished. The first book was a good read but I don't know if he even knew where he was going with the second and it definately dissapoints. I have never written a review before but I am so pasionate about hating this book that I just had to. The worst part is it is well written and interesting which makes it all the more frustrating and dissapointing when it ends in the middle.

posted by 5572046 on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 383 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After having this book sit on my shelf for a while, I finally go

    After having this book sit on my shelf for a while, I finally got around to reading it.

    Plot: This plot pretty much follows the first book but instead they are on the outside. There are many plot twist or shall I say games being played among all the characters. They are tested to the brink, where even I began to think that there is no way that they can make it. This sequel brings much excitement to the reader with plenty of action.

    Love/Friendship: I’m a little sadden about this situation. Though I would say more, I’m hoping it can be all cleared up.

    Games: This games that are being played are not only deadly but they break people. I don’t think I could ever last in that situation. Just be prepared to read one hell of a roller-coaster ride!!

    The Scorch Trials is a unique story that fully em bodes action and plot. It is different with much events and entertainment to hold you to the end. The Scorch Trials is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Another great book in the Maze Runner series.

    I enjoyed The Scorch Trials. Book 2 of The Maze Runner series. It had a lot of crazy adventures and left me with a great deal of questions. Already started book 3 and looking forward to reading the final prequel to get all my questions answered about the mad experiment. All in all I am truly enjoying it and shuck it...I highly recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Pretty good

    A nice continuation of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Thrilling and exiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Fun teen trilogy.

    If you are a fan of the Hunger Games series, you will enjoy the Maze Runner trilogy equally as much. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    First book, a lot better

    I really did enjoy the second book of the maze runner series. A lot of things that was unanswered for me when the first book ended was actually answered. It kept me on my toes with all of the twists and different turns this second book took. I loved the changed of settings and how everything was so perfect. But i founded that i was screaming in anger at the storyline whenever something dramatic happened in the first book then this second one. At some point, i did find some part predictable and wished that it was a bit more thrilling then i had hoped it to be. But i'm excited to pick up the third book pretty soon :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    This series reminds me of the Hunger Games series. I've gotten good discussion from the kids who have been reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    :o)

    :o)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first two books are amazing, but I'm warning you all that th

    The first two books are amazing, but I'm warning you all that the third book isn't even ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Great

    Epic book
    Love survival stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Gggggggreat

    I still do LOVE the hunger games but his made me feel alot of diff things i love this book and i bought the whole series and if you wamt to read this book i recomend reading the maze runner first or you will not get what the book is talking about. On that note i only gave it four stars because at times i have to go back and reread becaus eit was way to hard to follow i do not recomend this to children under the ag of about 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Enjoyed all 3 books and the prequel.

    Enjoyed all 3 books and the prequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Great story. Interesting and different

    Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    the scorch trials

    An action packed and great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great book! I liked it more than the first book of the series.

    Great book! I liked it more than the first book of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Good Read

    This was a good action filled book. It was good but not great. Some of the relationships between the characters lacked basis and the characters were also very easily manipulated. All in all its a good, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    My Ratings on The Scorch Trials

    I think this is a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Not as good as The Maze Runner, but still a gripping read. Will

    Not as good as The Maze Runner, but still a gripping read. Will continue with book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    The beginning of the book had me hooked but so many perplexing e

    The beginning of the book had me hooked but so many perplexing events occur to Thomas and the gang in the first fifty or so pages that found the expanding story to be a little unbelievable within the realm of the world Dashner has created.
    Although the story continues to be very fast-paced I sort of wished that things would finally slow down so that we could get to know the characters a bit more. Character development is needed - sort of got burned out by all the traumatic events.
    Regardless I love the series and will keep reading Book III and The Kill Order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great read!!

    This is the best series i've read since the hunger games!! I really hope that they make a movie. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 383 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20