BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1883 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1260)

4 Star

(400)

3 Star

(133)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

great

Great Book with great story line. Kept me entertained

posted by SuperBookish on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

very frustrating!

Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste ...
Only read this book if you enjoy getting to the climax of a story and discovering that it is in fact the end of the book. Maybe if he eventualy combines the books will Dashner redeam himself. I was extremely frustrated that I had just wasted all that time. Do not waste your time! At least wait until the series is finished. The first book was a good read but I don't know if he even knew where he was going with the second and it definately dissapoints. I have never written a review before but I am so pasionate about hating this book that I just had to. The worst part is it is well written and interesting which makes it all the more frustrating and dissapointing when it ends in the middle.

posted by 5572046 on February 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 400 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    it could happen

    i enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Free pink ipad

    Kiss our ands three times repost on three dfferent books look under yur pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    My name is Caroline Jones

    Velocity keeps inside its box.
    Fingers dont try to pick the locks.
    Slowly the feeling seeps into my shoes.
    Eyes roll back as I fall.
    Clover sways as the sky collapses.
    Gardens are the perfect place to die. Do you know why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Get a free ipad

    Kiss ur hands three times post this on three other books and look under ur pilllow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Not Quite As Good As The First My Initial Reaction...  The Scorc

    Not Quite As Good As The First
    My Initial Reaction... 
    The Scorch Trials was not quite as good as The Maze Runner, but I still liked it and am very curious to see what's coming next.
    Note:There are some series spoilers in this review.

    The Characters... 
    I mentioned in my review of The Maze Runner that I felt like it was the story that made it strong, not the characters. I continue to feel that way with The Scorch Trials, but I think that was more of a problem this time around. The mystery has been lifted a bit, so while there are still mysterious elements, you know the bigger picture. And that means that caring about the characters is SO much more important... and that's probably why I didn't like The Scorch Trials as much. 

    The main character is still Thomas and it's definitely still good that the story is told exclusively from his point of view. But where The Maze Runner had almost no romance, in The Scorch Trials romance is a dominant theme - and, for me at least, it didn't work. Thomas cares deeply for Teresa, but she's disappeared. Meanwhile this other girl - Brenda - shows up and he starts having confusing feelings for her. It seems like maybe she likes him romantically, but he can't see her as anything more than a friend because he still holds out hope for Teresa. I think maybe I'm supposed to see the telepathy that he has with Teresa as something that fostered a really close bond, but I couldn't see that because they hadn't spent that much time together. 

    The other characters fade in and out so much that I really can't say much about them - this is really Thomas and Teresa's story. And we've seen SO LITTLE of Teresa in the two books combined, that I don't know her at all (neither does Thomas IMHO, which is the problem). So anyway - yeah - the characters were a bit of weak point for me in The Scorch Trials. 

    The Story... 
    The story for the The Scorch Trials was still very good - James Dashner manages to pile on layer after layer of mystery. After the Gladers escaped from the Maze at the end of The Maze Runner they believe they've been brought to safety, but after one night they wake up to find out that they are in the middle of another test. And Teresa has vanished - replaced by a boy who just escaped from his own version of the maze. A maze populated by all girls and one boy. A Maze trial that was almost exactly like the one that the boys escaped. This is probably the strongest mystery in the series for me - why the two separate groups? What are they hoping to discover?

    The Gladers end up in another test - transported to a land so hot they can't walk under the sun without protection. And they have to walk 100 miles north through a city populated by Cranks (people infected with the Flare) and that brings trials and challenges of it's own, especially when the two groups - the boys and the girls from the mazes - cross each other's path. I enjoyed seeing the two groups come into contact and I'm really curious to see what the story has in store for them after this. Another really interesting element are the memory flashbacks/dreams that Thomas has throughout The Scorch Trials. I'm fascinated by the hints we get about life before the maze and it definitely added to the mystery.

    Concluding Sentiments... 
    I wish that The Scorch Trials held as much mystery as The Maze Runner or that the characters had been a bit stronger. But the story is still compelling and I look forward to seeing the final resolution. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Action packed...kept me guessing

    Action packed...kept me guessing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Its a good book

    The book starts of slow but gets good. Book 3 is next for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    A little downhill but still exciting!

    You know EVERYONE LOVES THE MAZE RUNNER! But the second book was a bit iffy. Don't getg me wrong some paets has me breathing fast and panicking but most of it was running. And running. And desert. Loved the book but once again an example of the first book always better than the sequel. ( btw he only book I think the sequel is best is the uglies series)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Teen story I couldn't put down.

    Sometimes you just want a good read without straining the brain. Though I sometimes lose patience with the writing, this trilogy has an exceptional plot and the author a fantastic imagination. I just finished this second book in the series and immediately started the third because I can'wait to see what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Good

    Entertaining series. The characters are a bit immature for their ages but that could be because of WICKED actually taking them young.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    great read

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After having this book sit on my shelf for a while, I finally go

    After having this book sit on my shelf for a while, I finally got around to reading it.

    Plot: This plot pretty much follows the first book but instead they are on the outside. There are many plot twist or shall I say games being played among all the characters. They are tested to the brink, where even I began to think that there is no way that they can make it. This sequel brings much excitement to the reader with plenty of action.

    Love/Friendship: I’m a little sadden about this situation. Though I would say more, I’m hoping it can be all cleared up.

    Games: This games that are being played are not only deadly but they break people. I don’t think I could ever last in that situation. Just be prepared to read one hell of a roller-coaster ride!!

    The Scorch Trials is a unique story that fully em bodes action and plot. It is different with much events and entertainment to hold you to the end. The Scorch Trials is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Another great book in the Maze Runner series.

    I enjoyed The Scorch Trials. Book 2 of The Maze Runner series. It had a lot of crazy adventures and left me with a great deal of questions. Already started book 3 and looking forward to reading the final prequel to get all my questions answered about the mad experiment. All in all I am truly enjoying it and shuck it...I highly recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Pretty good

    A nice continuation of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Thrilling and exiting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Fun teen trilogy.

    If you are a fan of the Hunger Games series, you will enjoy the Maze Runner trilogy equally as much. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    First book, a lot better

    I really did enjoy the second book of the maze runner series. A lot of things that was unanswered for me when the first book ended was actually answered. It kept me on my toes with all of the twists and different turns this second book took. I loved the changed of settings and how everything was so perfect. But i founded that i was screaming in anger at the storyline whenever something dramatic happened in the first book then this second one. At some point, i did find some part predictable and wished that it was a bit more thrilling then i had hoped it to be. But i'm excited to pick up the third book pretty soon :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    This series reminds me of the Hunger Games series. I've gotten good discussion from the kids who have been reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    :o)

    :o)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first two books are amazing, but I'm warning you all that th

    The first two books are amazing, but I'm warning you all that the third book isn't even ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 400 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20