BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scorched Treachery

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Before reading Scorched Treachery, I was looking at this book as

    Before reading Scorched Treachery, I was looking at this book as just a filler until Book 4 comes out. I mean Jocelyn isn't the main character in Scorched Treachery and it takes place during the time of Book 2, so I planned on reading this because it is part of the series but I wasn't looking as forward to it as Book 4. I was so wrong about this book! It wasn't boring or repetitive. So much happens and is revealed by telling the story from Ilyan and Wyn's point of views, and I think Wyn and Ilyan rose to a new level of awesomeness here.
    In Book 1 I was Team Ryland. I thought Ilyan was a little creepy. Ryland was such a sweetie! Then Book 2 came along. Ryland became broken and so did Joceyln. I don't know how these two could ever become a couple again, not with all the damage done to their relationship. I also saw Ilyan in a new light and I reluctantly switched camps to Team Ilyan. In Book 3, seeing Ilyan's point of view just solidified my move to the Team Ilyan camp. I feel sorry for Ryland, but at this point I don't see how he can be that great guy again.
    In Scorched we also see the backstories for Wyn, Cail and Thom. There is so much more to Wyn and I found myself surprised by some of the things revealed.
    I liked Book 2 overall, but I did not like the ending. This book goes past the ending in Book 2 and ends on a much better note. That is why Book 3 really compliments Book 2.
    I enjoyed Book 3 more than I thought I would...it is now my favorite out of the three. I am really looking forward to Book 4 and reading what happens next.
    I was given an ARC for an honest review.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Great book and series!!  Looking forward to Soul of Flame and Da

    Great book and series!!  Looking forward to Soul of Flame and Dawn of Ash!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Love this series

    Great Series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    My reason for giving this three stars

    I love book one and i adore book both were touchy. But now on book three *sigh* im sorry to say that this book scared me. - scared me, because the author didnt presume on... she instead went back and made point of views for wyn and ilyan. I had a gut feeling, this was going to be a slow pace read, before i even started book three. Upsetting to see this now a days, with other authors other than this one. Only to what i believe, to earn more money. Im not sure, hopefully this author didnt have that on her mind, while writing this book for the series. Im sorry, but this book was just sad, other than just wasting my time trying to read, but seriously you need to add so much ugly torture - or as i see it, punishment on the characters to make less apealling? I undersand some what on reasons why she decided to add in pov's, but this entire book, was not needed. And its causing my pace at reading to a slow drag.

    So, the reason why im finishing this book - is one, i dislike wasting my money if i dont need to. Two, im giving the chance for her next book 'soul of flame' to redeem itself from such a boring slow pace read. And three, because it started out a edge of your seat thrill with the first two books i want to finish knowing what happend and where it leads to. So yeah, my only reason for giving this book review three stars is because its all based on the other two.

    Im just hopeful i get the edge of your seat feeling again, or its going to be a long, long time before i finally finish the rest of the two books available and the one that has not come out yet.

    Props to the author though, she did very well, till now...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    Two hundred plus pages of pain, torture, heartbreak and sufferin

    Two hundred plus pages of pain, torture, heartbreak and suffering with no resolution and no happy ending.  A good book if you like that sort of thing.  Me - I like happy endings, conclusions, and some hope.  I really immerse myself in the books I read, and after this finishing this one, I felt bad enough that I don't want to read any more.  I have nothing against this author; I thought she wrote well and I fully support her as an Indie, but this series was just too dark and depressing for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Very good series

    Worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I heard the third book was almost a retelling from new poin

    When I heard the third book was almost a retelling from new point of views, I admit I was a little skeptical, but I had nothing to worry about! Rebecca Ethington totally surprised me with Scorched Treachery. It was like a whole new story and not one we already went through. It completely captured my every attention and I adored the new POVs!




    I absolutely loved getting inside of Wyn and Ilyan's heads. Wyn who has had a past locked away, one that is just heartbreaking. I felt so bad for Wyn in Scorched Treachery, yet loved her even more because of it. Then there is Ilyan, who has always kind of been second boy to me... But now I'm not so sure. My heart was so dead set on a Ryland and Joclyn happily ever after, but being inside of Ilyan's head for a book I'm not so sure. He truly does everything for her. He is patient and kind and completely loving.




    Overall really enjoyed this switch of POV and thought it really helped the story along. Cannot wait to jump into Soul of Flame though... I need to know what happens now because of how Scorched Treachery left off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Good book terrible cover

    I haven't read this book yet but I've read others in the series and they were really good and creative and the covers have been good except for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    I really love this series it's amazing I totally think that it should be made into movies. Can't wait for Soul of Flame and Dawn of Ash!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Recommended

    What can I say, the series is awesome........can't wait for the next book. Thank you Rebecca!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I stayed up reading it

    I bought the first book and when I finished I had to go buy the others I already pre ordered soul of flame so I will have it asap love it love it live it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Awesome!

    Amazing series overall. In book 1 I was rooting for Jos & Ryland, but when he got all crazy in book 2, I switches to Ilyan's side. He knows he's going to have to give her up in the end, yet he sticks faithfully by her side with love in his eyes and light in his heart. :')

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Nice get away

    Enjoyed easy read. Just the read to take your mind off reality for awhile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is one of the few series I've read so far that has kept me hooked. Its very interesting and you fall in love with the characters and what powers each has. Definitely worth reading! I can't wait ' till the fourth and fifth books come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Ddd

    Shes going 2kill ryland:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Best series Ever..

    The best series ever. I am in love with these books, can't put them down once I started. I'm dying for December 2 to come already to get my hands on the fourth series... :-) This is one of those must read/have..I love them. Thank you Rebecca Ethington for creating such great series. I hope it never ends. Crazy twist to the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    MORE PLEASE!

    Rebecca Ethington has created a beautiful world of characters! Once you visit, you never want to leave!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Great

    Loved it being able to get more out of the other characters! Cant wait for the nxt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    A new favorite.

    Im very happy to have stumbled across this series. Great characters and plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Wow

    Amazing book!!!!! How do i add nook friends? Does anyone know?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3