Customer Reviews for

Scorpia (Alex Rider Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(311)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 311 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Perfect

    If there is a better spy book out there, I haven't found it( and that would be a shocker because I've read a lot of them). Read the entire series if you like this book. If you are wondering if the $$$ is worth it for the book, it is.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Amazing book

    This book was thrilling and kept me on the edge of my seat i recomend it greatly

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    The best book Venice has ever been a part of!

    Conor Mckaig April 28, 2008 Scorpia Anthony Horowitz Scholastic Realistic Adventure How do you describe the average 14 year old boy? Handsome, smart, strong? Alex Rider is all these things, and a little more. Alex Rider, son of the deceased John Rider, is almost normal, sure he lives alone with only a housekeeper and he has no family left, but that¿s all part of the trade. Alex is a spy, he works for the British intelligence agency, or MI6. They, have used him four times already and he has saved the world four times. Whether it¿s a smallpox epidemic, a clone army, a nuclear holocaust, or an explosion that would blow the world in half, Alex is your man, or boy rather. Alex Rider is an only child, if fact he's the only Rider left alive. The handsome 14 year old boy is strong, smart, and a pure bred spy. He also has a knack for saving lives, he has an amazing ability to think on his feet and be very resourceful. He works for Alan Blunt the head of MI6. Mr. Blunt is just that, blunt, he never lets on about his past or his personal life and you get the feeling his only life is MI6. He doesn¿t do it alone though, his deputy head, Mrs. Jones, is just the opposite, she wears her emotions on her sleeve and is always worried that MI6 will get a bad reputation for being the only intelligence agency to have a minor die in the line on battle. On the other side of the law there is Julia Rothman, the last person you would think to see on the governments bad side. She is an attractive woman with more money than the queen, all illegally earned of course. She doesn¿t do the dirty work though, there is another, more vicious killer and his name is Nile. Unlike the river, Nile is ugly and terrible, he has a skin disease that is eating the pigment and turning this terrifying black man into a freak show of dalmatian proportions. These characters are what makes this book so excellent. This story is a roller coaster ride of dips and dives, twists and turns, all beautifully written by the ¿busiest writer in England¿ Anthony Horowitz. The previous Alex Rider adventures do not even compare with this one. As far as I am concerned, it¿s the best book ever written. Once you pick up Scorpia you will not be able to put it down until very last amazing page. But don¿t forget, without knowledge of the first four books you will be a bit behind. This is a must read for anyone who loves a good book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Wonderful book for any teen interested in "James Bond" action stories.

    Anthony Horowitz continues the Alex Rider saga when he wrote another terrific book. My son loves the entire series and cannot put the book down once he starts reading! Great for someone who did not like to read before!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Great book!

    This book kept me holding it until the very end. My favorite book in the series!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Scorpia

    Scorpia is a fantastic fiction book by: Anthony Horowitz that is action packed. My opinion of Scorpia is that it is a sit on the edge of your seat book. It is full of action and cliffhangers and I absolutely loved it. Two of the main places the book takes in is Venice and in Europe. Alex Rider a 14 year old boy wants to find out about his father who died on Albert Bridge. He gets mixed up between the criminal organization called Scorpia and the secret intelligence called M16. He nearly dies three times. The major parts are when Alex is in Venice with his friend looking for Scorpia and is in a building called Ca'Cavoda. Another main part is when they are searching for satellite dishes that Scorpias invisible sword will kill thousands of children. At the end Alex is in a hot air balloon trying to figure out a way to disarm the satellites. The author Anthony Horowitz point of 1 view is first person because it is all focused on Alex Riders' thoughts. I recommend this book to people who like action packed and at the edge of their seat books. You will learn that even a 14 year old spy has the same problems as a teenage boy and that there not alone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Awesooome!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book! This is my favorite book of the alex rider series. In this book is where alex life really changed and forever will hold in his memory. Incredible book. I looovvee it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Great!!!

    This is one of the best alex rider books!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    B

    Good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Sooo breathtaking!!

    I never could put this book down my parents always tell me i read way too much and now i have a reason! Thank you Anthony Horowitz i really thank you
    for the amazing bookkk!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Great Book

    You must read this book it is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    CHEVERE, cinco estrellas

    MAGNIFICANTE

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great book

    This book is great for anyone who likes spy books i would know because i have read all of them and i havent found a better one yet so if you think you can challenge the alex rider boks call me ( you really shouldnt even try cause you wont find northin better than a goodalex rider book) but this as to be the best book in the series ao far ive been reading some of thereviews for ark angle and some people seem to have changed tjhier mind about thier fav rider book. Its definitly worth the money so . BUY THE BOOK OR LIVE ALONE FOR THREST OF YOUR LIFE YOU WONT FIND A BETTER MATE THAN ALEX RIDER.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Scorpia by Anothony Horowitz

    In Italy, a terrorist group called Scorpia is planning a new attack called "Invisible Sword". The plan is a plot to kill every schoolchild in London. Satellites target poisoned gold-wrapped and fairy dusted cells injected into their vaccines. Scorpia has already killed the English International soccer team, and it is up to Alex Rider to stop Scorpia from killing thousands. Alex finds the satellites and disables them with barley time to spare. But Scorpia has a backup plan: they have installed satellites on a hot air balloon that will fly above London! This way, the satellites are virtually unstoppable. But Alex climbs a rope that is connected to the balloon, climbs it, and disables the satellites before they kill all the children. There are positives and negatives in this book. Some positives are that the book has an interesting plot, and it is a good length. It is a really good book to read when you are about to go to bed because it is a good way to end your day. Some negatives are that some of the dialogue is difficult, and some chapters can venture off topic and become long and boring. Another negative is that it's a book that you cant really read to younger children because they wont understand the dialogue. Anthony Horowitz has an interesting and unique writing style. He uses an action genre but jacks it up with car chases, and firefights. If you enjoy action novels with intense fights, many deaths, and tons of action you should pick up a copy of Scorpia and read it. I would recommend this book to kids of the ages 11 and up. I more recommend it to guys than girls because guys usually like action more than girls. Also, if you like the Artemis Fowl series, you will love Alex Rider

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Kool

    This is my favorite alex rider book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    a great action packed book i have read a few times with an amazi

    a great action packed book i have read a few times with an amazing ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Pinapples and banjos

    Hoped that piqued ur intrest great book but dont read comments lots of spoilers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Not the best has not the best spelling

    Exactly what the title says. It is a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Cool!!!!

    This book was an excitement from the start. At the begining i thought alex would join scorpia forever but he ended up learning about how john rider died and invisiible sword. I thought it was suprising how john was a spy for mi6 and when he got shot it was a fake to get him out of scorpia and back to a normal life. He ended up dieing from a bomb put in his luggage by ash, his godfather who was jelose of john, and that worked for scorpia. An other good part is when nile died. His weakness was heights. Alex killed him in a fight on a ballon witch would kill all the kids with raideo waves thaat would release a chemacall in the kids that got ingected a week before. In the end alex blew up the ballon and saved the kids. The down side is that when he finished the mission and got out of mi6 headquarters, he was sniped by a scorpia contract killer. That was when he saw someone like his parents. Overall it was a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Bravo

    I loved this book i liked how he became part of Scorpia the deadly terrotist organization this is one of the best books ever

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 311 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16