Customer Reviews for

The Scorpio Races

Average Rating 4.5
( 414 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(274)

4 Star

(89)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended to fantasy lovers, horse fans, and teens tired of vampires.

Maggie Stiefvater makes horses scary. This is The Black Stallion with fangs, a book that's ready to sink its teeth into your shoulder and drag you kicking and screaming through the pages. Stiefvater's use of imagery leaves readers with a frantic drumbeat in their head a...
Maggie Stiefvater makes horses scary. This is The Black Stallion with fangs, a book that's ready to sink its teeth into your shoulder and drag you kicking and screaming through the pages. Stiefvater's use of imagery leaves readers with a frantic drumbeat in their head and the insistent feeling that one should be checking for sand in their shoes. This book is dubbed a love story and rightly so, but the love readers will find here won't be in stolen kisses and awkward gropes on the beach. Instead, Stiefvater's words stir up a mixture of feelings that will have readers looking at the ocean in a whole new way. This is not a book for cynical adults. For people who look around and hate the world, hate their job, and have too many obligations that a 404 page journey through Thisby is about as impossible as jumping on a plane and trying to find Thisby, put this book back. This is a book for teens and one of the best I've read in 2011.

posted by 9921932 on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Slow

This book was well written, the pace of the book was so slow.

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    I felt like it ended a little abruptly, but I really loved Sean

    I felt like it ended a little abruptly, but I really loved Sean and Puck, and even Dove and Corr. A great read with a different story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Read if you dare

    There are books that you can perdict but the things is that this book was nothing like that. I swear i had no idea how this book would end. It didnt disappoint. It could go so many ways. The ending is really annoying cuz you dont know how it ends ends. I guess we'LL just have to see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    AWESOME! I totally disappered into the island everytime I read

    AWESOME! I totally disappered into the island everytime I read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Great Book

    This books is worth reading. Most Hunger games readers will like this book. the author did really well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Though this novel was slow at times, I really enjoyed it. The dy

    Though this novel was slow at times, I really enjoyed it. The dynamics of the character's stories mixed in with the legend of the kelpie makes for a very interesting story. I did expect a little more action, what with the description and cover, but the writing was compelling enough to keep me reading regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Weird...

    This is a weird book...and I loved it! Different from all the other young adult books I've read. All the coming of age elements are there...but they revolve around an island where meat eating horses come out of the surf and there is so much intrigue that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Not your typical "horse book"

    This story is one of the best "new books" that I've read in a long time. It focuses on both a male and female as the main character, and the use of wild, man-eating sea horses is pretty hard to beat. (I would also like to assure future readers that it is not done in a cheesy way at all). Stiefvater wrote a story that feels very real and believable, and the ending is a GOOD one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm halfway through right now, and it is EXTREMELY SLOW! I was h

    I'm halfway through right now, and it is EXTREMELY SLOW! I was hoping for a little more romance and a little more action... But it is very well written, that is for sure! Great author, but the execution of the book just wasn't great! I think Maggie was trying too hard to make her own Hunger Games...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Pretty good

    It would have been soooooo much better if i didnt have to do a report on it :}

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Utterly Mesmorizing

    I just finished this book and I can honestly tell you I am mad at myself for reading it so fast. I miss the characters already. The author does such an amazing job when shes creating Puck and Sean. And yes it is condered a romance but not the overbearing type - not the "I cant ever live without you" romance but she delivers a book based on love. Not just th love between a boy and a girl but between the riders and their horses. So dont expect immediate results this kind of romance is a slow but burning - I could feel what the characters were feeling. Also this is the kind of book that you cannot predict and Stiefvater will keep you on your toes.
    My only provlems wih this book is 1) not everything is clearly defined. You have to work through some clues to understand certian things in the book. 2) the ending. Omg couldnt you leave me some closure, Maggie? I want morrre. And 3) there should be more than one book... maybe not. Either way I just wish it didnt have to end. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Different and entertaining

    A love story entwined into a dangerous race of mythical horses. If you read wolves of mercy falls, and liked it, then you should read this as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Greaa Great charcters and unique story

    A bit of a slow and convoluted start, but well worth persisiting. Characters came to life and i couldnt put it down after the first 100 pages or so.

    Was recommended as similar to Hunger Games which may have elevated my expectations too high. It is nothing like Hunger Games...but enjoyble in its own right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    I agree with the comment below!!!!

    NEEDS MORE ROMANCE!!! Fine book tho!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Fabulous

    Amazing book!!!! I couldn't put it down. The only thing that I would change would be that I wanted it to be a little more romantic between puck and sean!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Wish there was more!

    Loved the unique storyline and imagining where this island is in the world. Great read for anyone looking for something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Original, belivable world

    I enjoyed how original & magical the water horses were & how familiar the small island town was.

    Strong, bold female character & brooding, strong male character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    He's fighting and biting and riding on his horse

    One of these days I will pick up the Mercy Falls series, but for now they sit patiently in my TBR pile. I wasn’t aware that Ms. Stiefvater had moved onto greener pastures until I spotted The Scorpio Races on the shelves. The cover was inspirational, and I dreamed of magnificent horse races with a grandiose historical backdrop and a female lead that will do me proud.

    Let me just say that The Scorpio Races may not be what my dreams were made of – but holy epic of epics, this book packed so much MORE that I forgave it for my tiny disappointment!

    THE GOOD BITS
    {Delicious toe-curling romantic tension} The story unfolds with two different narrators, and each have their burdens to bear as they find themselves drawn to each other. Sean knows all too well the allure of the capaill uisce, but he also has had firsthand experience with the vicious and unpredictable deaths these water horses take part in. He does not attend the training sessions for training’s sake, but to make sure the foolhardy participants remain in one piece. Especially this year’s unexpected participant Puck, who signs up for the sake of saving her family from bankruptcy. Both tend to keep to themselves, but they somehow drift together with their intense determination to win the Scorpio Races. What is a little unusual about this romance is that Sean and Puck never really acknowledge that they liked each other – or went about the usual cycle of “does s/he like me? do I like him/her?” They just drifted together, and on the rare occasion that they touched, it was electric.

    {A win-win ending} Not that the story is TOO perfect and everyone gets to eat and have their cake, but I could not imagine a better conclusion than the one delivered. By the end of it, readers will find themselves torn between Puck and Sean – and while it would be amazing to have them both come out on top of the pack, the story ends better with the one winner. What I appreciated is the aftermath of that brutal race. Puck and Sean may have thought the Scorpio Races was the end-all of their training efforts, but truthfully the Races gave them a better sense of what they wanted and deserved from life.

    {Capaill uisce} I loved how Maggie Stiefvater imagined these mythological horses into something that works for her. They definitely work for me! They were beautifully ferocious - and, even though they might bite me into little pieces at any given moment, I would so trade up to them from a My Little Pony!

    THE BAD BITS
    {Slow canter toward the Scorpio Races} The prologue seems a little misleading. It starts off in the midst of the Races, drenched in adrenaline, breath held to see what would happen – and when something tragic struck, a certain pace had been set and I expected it to cannonball into Chapter 1. However, the story slows down considerably – and with it the immediate excitement for the Races. The Scorpio Races works as is and builds the momentum up to the inevitable climax, but if you are expecting a fast-paced read, this is not one of those books.

    THE OVERALL
    The Scorpio Races is made of EPIC – full of awesome and fearsome – and marks Maggie Stiefvater as one to watch because, if this is the direction she wants to take us after werewolves and faeries, then I will gladly follow!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Good Story! Read it!!

    Overall I thought this book was very good and well written. That being said, there are about 66 chapters in this book and the races start at like chapter 64. The book kept my interest the whole way through though and I love the characters (except for Mutt Malvern). This book isn't as gory as it may seem being flesh eating sea horses and all; so for those of you who are squeamish - you'll be just fine. I would definitely recommend reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Good

    This book is really good, at times it's a bit slow going at times though. The writing is extremely descriptive, it's almost as if you're right there in the book. But I just wish there was some more suspense and action since there was definetly lots of room for some more. I think the idea of horses that can kill is pretty interesting so overall I liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Worth it

    It builds plot and characters slowly, but I really got into it! If you love YA fiction, and especially if u love horses, too, you will really enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5