Customer Reviews for

The Scourge of God (Emberverse Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

enthralling but strange change in direction

It has been twenty-three years since the Change when earth plunged into a pre-electric era. Mankind scrambled to survive as over ninety percent of the population died. Clan Mackenzie led by High Priestess Juniper and the Bearkillers thrived on the land while the dicta...
It has been twenty-three years since the Change when earth plunged into a pre-electric era. Mankind scrambled to survive as over ninety percent of the population died. Clan Mackenzie led by High Priestess Juniper and the Bearkillers thrived on the land while the dictator who wanted to rule perished (see THE SUNSET LAND). However a new danger has arisen the prophet Sethaz and his flock slowly infiltrate the people surrounding Juniper and her people he and his followers recruit or kill based on their cause being godly. --- Meanwhile Juniper¿s son Rudi and other friends and warriors from home journey east across what was once the proud United States of America towards Nantucket where he hopes to learn more about The Change. The Lady sent a messenger Ingolf from Nantucket to pick up The Sword and bring it home. The prophet knows of Rudi¿s quest and sends his best assassins to prevent him from succeeding. At the same time the President of the United States of Boise, who got the job by committing patricide allies with the prophet because he wants to expand into Pendleton with Mackenzie¿s Western Oregon after that but they go to war to stop him. --- This second tale in the second saga switches from the post apocalyptic thriller to a ¿Greek¿ Tragedy as the Gods manipulate and guide their followers and sinners. Readers observe dark demonic possessions and frightening futuristic visions while scrying and other magic takes the saga in a new direction. Fans will remain enthralled once the shock lets up as the tale is filled with action, strong characters in conflict, vivid descriptions of a battered dying land trying to come back to life two plus decades since the Change, and a great cliffhanging climax. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Scourges chroncoles

Scourge Felt firestars claws sear his throat. Blood welled out of he wound, scourge gave firestar a hating look and croaks something unmakeable: " i....will....get...my...reve-" and the last traces of life escaped his body.

Scourge felt his eyes open and saw lush green...
Scourge Felt firestars claws sear his throat. Blood welled out of he wound, scourge gave firestar a hating look and croaks something unmakeable: " i....will....get...my...reve-" and the last traces of life escaped his body.

Scourge felt his eyes open and saw lush green trees amd plants mixed with light clear sky. The warming sun shined on his black pelt. He stood shakely on he paws when a beautyful silverpelted she-cat pad torwards him he growled and unsheath his claws " no need for that " the she-cat meowed" i have healed your wounds and have broung you to starclan." " im no stupid mouse muncher" he spat " i will claw you and kill all your worthless clans" the she-cat looked at him pacintly " if those cats were worthless how d they beat you?" She questioned. Scourge concidered this phrase and saw sence in it. " i wasnt ready " he growled " next time i will shred that mangy bottem feeder firestar!!" The she-cat sighed and meowed " easy said then done my son" scourge recoiled at the info. Could this be? he thought is my mother really a starclan cat? Scourge thought about it for a long moment then anwsered " if you are my mother how did i end up in a twoleg house!!" The she-cat meowed "first thing first i need to say my name. I am silvermoon. I have been watching you and i am disapointed in you!! You have been very wicked you have to change!!!" " very early to make demands" scourge snorted " we will know each othe better before any of that happens" scourge sat up straighter trying to regain his dignty. Silvermoon suddently hissed in a sacred voice " you will find greatness but feel pain you will love but be hurt at the end a war will wag and blood will be." Scourge stumbles backwards as fighting cats intered his mine. Blood and death surronded him. Silvermoon hissed " YOU WILL WAKE NOW!!!!!!!

TO BE CONTINUED

posted by 10625723 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    enthralling but strange change in direction

    It has been twenty-three years since the Change when earth plunged into a pre-electric era. Mankind scrambled to survive as over ninety percent of the population died. Clan Mackenzie led by High Priestess Juniper and the Bearkillers thrived on the land while the dictator who wanted to rule perished (see THE SUNSET LAND). However a new danger has arisen the prophet Sethaz and his flock slowly infiltrate the people surrounding Juniper and her people he and his followers recruit or kill based on their cause being godly. --- Meanwhile Juniper¿s son Rudi and other friends and warriors from home journey east across what was once the proud United States of America towards Nantucket where he hopes to learn more about The Change. The Lady sent a messenger Ingolf from Nantucket to pick up The Sword and bring it home. The prophet knows of Rudi¿s quest and sends his best assassins to prevent him from succeeding. At the same time the President of the United States of Boise, who got the job by committing patricide allies with the prophet because he wants to expand into Pendleton with Mackenzie¿s Western Oregon after that but they go to war to stop him. --- This second tale in the second saga switches from the post apocalyptic thriller to a ¿Greek¿ Tragedy as the Gods manipulate and guide their followers and sinners. Readers observe dark demonic possessions and frightening futuristic visions while scrying and other magic takes the saga in a new direction. Fans will remain enthralled once the shock lets up as the tale is filled with action, strong characters in conflict, vivid descriptions of a battered dying land trying to come back to life two plus decades since the Change, and a great cliffhanging climax. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AFTERNOON MATINAE

    This is actually the fifth book of a long series, but I'm not anxious for it to end. Stirling keeps it fresh by highlighting different characters and introducing new ones. He also highlights new cultures. The emphasis on the Celtic or Wicca culture of Clan Mackenzie was beginning to get a bit old so I was pleased that part of the book was devoted to the evolving culture of the Sioux and a culture that sprang from Buddhist monks at a conference when the "Change" occurred. The book bounces back and forth between Rudi Mackenzie's party on their quest to reach "the Sword" in Nantucket and the forces of Eric Larsson, Signe, and Astrid and Sandra Arminger and Tiphaine d' Ath as they try to stop the advance of the combined forces of The Church Universal and Triumphant (Cutters) and the United States of Boise. The Seekers are introduced - malevolent, telepathic arch villains representing the Cutter Prophet and capable of taking physical control of any of their followers making the possessed nearly invincible. This book ends like an old time movie matinee with the hero and heroines in deep trouble requiring the viewer to see the next movie to discover how death is cheated. Nevertheless, this series still has me hooked, and I will hate to see it end. My fear at this point is that the ending will be a cheap let down similar to the ending of Philip Jose Farmer's Riverworld series nearly forty years ago.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Scourges chroncoles

    Scourge Felt firestars claws sear his throat. Blood welled out of he wound, scourge gave firestar a hating look and croaks something unmakeable: " i....will....get...my...reve-" and the last traces of life escaped his body.

    Scourge felt his eyes open and saw lush green trees amd plants mixed with light clear sky. The warming sun shined on his black pelt. He stood shakely on he paws when a beautyful silverpelted she-cat pad torwards him he growled and unsheath his claws " no need for that " the she-cat meowed" i have healed your wounds and have broung you to starclan." " im no stupid mouse muncher" he spat " i will claw you and kill all your worthless clans" the she-cat looked at him pacintly " if those cats were worthless how d they beat you?" She questioned. Scourge concidered this phrase and saw sence in it. " i wasnt ready " he growled " next time i will shred that mangy bottem feeder firestar!!" The she-cat sighed and meowed " easy said then done my son" scourge recoiled at the info. Could this be? he thought is my mother really a starclan cat? Scourge thought about it for a long moment then anwsered " if you are my mother how did i end up in a twoleg house!!" The she-cat meowed "first thing first i need to say my name. I am silvermoon. I have been watching you and i am disapointed in you!! You have been very wicked you have to change!!!" " very early to make demands" scourge snorted " we will know each othe better before any of that happens" scourge sat up straighter trying to regain his dignty. Silvermoon suddently hissed in a sacred voice " you will find greatness but feel pain you will love but be hurt at the end a war will wag and blood will be." Scourge stumbles backwards as fighting cats intered his mine. Blood and death surronded him. Silvermoon hissed " YOU WILL WAKE NOW!!!!!!!

    TO BE CONTINUED

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Liam

    O.O
    "Scourgeh, l haven't seen you around buddy. What's up Lunamen?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Lunas

    That's my skill. I can understand emotions and memories and know what they mean. I can picture people. I'm going to be a psycholigist or bioligist. It's what I'm good at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Steven

    "I get it. Like Bree is good at writing and whatever the hell Journalism and Philosophy people do." He shrugs. "I'm getting some sleep."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Scourge

    Well i dont have all day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    The auther

    It was great. Make it seven pages and not four. Good detail. But you forgot to uppercase your Is and do this: 'Can it be',scourge thought. I got a little confused. Please read The Golden Cat at golden girl results two to seven. Skip result five because there is no chapter there. No rude comments. If you didnt like my story day what i should do better. You can advertize there but with a sentence or two how you liked my story. Ask questiond at qu second result and ill answer it in qu result four. Please continue your story and read mine. The auther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Nice!

    But kind short r u gonna post another in 2 result?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    A new take on Post-Apocalyptic Sci-Fi

    Imagine one day all the engines stopped working, and all the gunpowder stopped burning. Planes fall from the sky, people are suddenly trapped miles from home, the entire society is re-written so that only the strongest sword arm survives. Kingdoms rise overnight. Many, many, die when food can't get to where they are in enough quantities. Surprisingly well-told with well-written characters, if the style is somewhat repetitive in many places. Well done throughout, good first stepping off point for the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    We all wish we could rise from the ashes...

    Stirling has created a world that becomes more and more alien to the reader in subsequent books. Stirling has also done an amazing job of developing main characters -twice! The pace of this book can be frustratingly slow. By that I mean you know the group is going to Nantucket, but they just seem to be unable to get there. I found this surprising, but I love how the story has turned into an adventure. You never know who will live and who will die in Stirling's books. It seems to me to be a totally dynamic reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Hurry Up

    What takes so long to get these books to paperback. When you have four books in a series in paperback why wood you buy a hard cover. Hurry up who wants to wait a year every book just to be able to continue the story. Step up the writing a little bit and release a book every six months. Waiting six or seven years to get a full sotry is kind of annoying escpecially when it is such a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique and Enthralling

    This series has got me hooked. I am greatly anticipating the third in the series. Book 2, Scourge of God, is a transition book, much like The Two Towers is in Lord of the Rings. We know most of the characters from the first. We know the quest for the Sword of the Lady, and we know about CUT!!!This book can be read as a stand alone but you would miss a lot of the nuances in the details. I love reading these books and finding references to our current world as if they were in the past. One I particularly enjoyed had to do with the current Prince Charles and Prince William and a spat over who should succeed in the monarchy. Alternative History can be done well or poorly. This series of books is done extremely well. Fantasy readers will find much that is familiar, as will Science fiction fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series so Far

    Dies the Fire was great series. The 1st book in this series was ok. Can this 2nd book come out in paper back already so I can buy it and read it. Shish whats taking so long? Who wants to buy a hard cover when I have all the other books in the his series in paperback. Get on it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Continuing Emberverse

    First, this book is part of a continuing series. However, Stiring is an excellent writer and the book stands alone as a great adventure tale, full of battle scenes, mini-societies, and strong memorable characters. It takes place in a 'changed' world, where the laws of physics themselves have been altered, mankind has been dealt a near-deadly blow, and is now trying to achieve civilization again. There has been a terrible loss of technology, and something is taking it's place as a source of power. Old religions have come alive, and new ones have risen. I recommend one reads the entire series, starting with 'Dies the Fire'. 'Scourge of God' should certainly whet the appetite..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4