Customer Reviews for

Scrapbook of Secrets (Cumberland Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Scrapping Good Time!

I like scrap booking, and I like funny mysteries so I decided to give this one a try. And really, who can resist any novel that begins with “For Vera, all of the day’s madness began when she saw the knife handle poking out of her mother’s neck.” (Never fear, her mother ...
I like scrap booking, and I like funny mysteries so I decided to give this one a try. And really, who can resist any novel that begins with “For Vera, all of the day’s madness began when she saw the knife handle poking out of her mother’s neck.” (Never fear, her mother is a force to be reckoned with all throughout the novel).

As a matter of fact, most of the novel revolves around Vera, her mother, and a newcomer to the area, Annie. I really identified with Annie, trying to balance being a wife and mother along with a need for some professional (writing) release.

Although the novel is set up so that you think the author is extremely unsubtle about who did it— it was a surprise when the whodunit was revealed. And all the clues were there! I give this one a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

posted by wynwords on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A So-So Read

Reviewed By~JoAnne
Review Copy Provided By~ARC by Publisher

This book took me awhile to warm up to and even when it was finished I really had to think whether I liked it or not. It had promise but really never got there and was choppy in places. There were too many ...
Reviewed By~JoAnne
Review Copy Provided By~ARC by Publisher

This book took me awhile to warm up to and even when it was finished I really had to think whether I liked it or not. It had promise but really never got there and was choppy in places. There were too many characters and murder suspects which made it hard to feel a connection.

Annie, one of the main characters who had lived in Cumberland Creek only for a year after relocating with her family from Maryland, became the "star" of the show. On the night she was going to her first scrapbooking party, it was cancelled due to a stabbing. But off she went to the hospital to wait with the others since all the scrapbookers would be there giving moral support to Vera, the daughter of the stabbing victim and also one of the scrapbookers. Annie flawlessly became not only part of the group, as if she always was, but also the leader at times. She also took a lot of chances that being a mom of two young children, plus new to the area seemed unlikely. She was also the only non-Christian of the group and they played up the religious aspect as well - not always in a nice way. The detective in charge of the investigations - there were a few mysteries going on at once - also fed her a lot of information which seemed surprising since she was resurrecting her journalism career by writing some articles about it as a freelancer.

All in all I didn't find this a "cozy" mystery at all. There wasn't a romance and there wasn't any laughter or tears from me. I felt the story ended abruptly but we will continue to be exposed to the lives of the characters since it's the start of a new series. The book had a two chapter excerpt from it which tried to hook me from the opening pages. I will try to give the next book by Bryan a chance, but if the storytelling doesn't improve I won't go past book two.

Favorite Quote: "By the way, did they fin out who stabbed you, dear?" Beatrice's stomach sank. She'd never get over it - being intentionally hurt by someone in her community. Who would do such a thing?
"No, but it happened the same day as Maggie Rae's murder. And the brilliant Cumberland Creek police think there's a link," she replied.

posted by RtBBlog on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A So-So Read

    Reviewed By~JoAnne
    Review Copy Provided By~ARC by Publisher

    This book took me awhile to warm up to and even when it was finished I really had to think whether I liked it or not. It had promise but really never got there and was choppy in places. There were too many characters and murder suspects which made it hard to feel a connection.

    Annie, one of the main characters who had lived in Cumberland Creek only for a year after relocating with her family from Maryland, became the "star" of the show. On the night she was going to her first scrapbooking party, it was cancelled due to a stabbing. But off she went to the hospital to wait with the others since all the scrapbookers would be there giving moral support to Vera, the daughter of the stabbing victim and also one of the scrapbookers. Annie flawlessly became not only part of the group, as if she always was, but also the leader at times. She also took a lot of chances that being a mom of two young children, plus new to the area seemed unlikely. She was also the only non-Christian of the group and they played up the religious aspect as well - not always in a nice way. The detective in charge of the investigations - there were a few mysteries going on at once - also fed her a lot of information which seemed surprising since she was resurrecting her journalism career by writing some articles about it as a freelancer.

    All in all I didn't find this a "cozy" mystery at all. There wasn't a romance and there wasn't any laughter or tears from me. I felt the story ended abruptly but we will continue to be exposed to the lives of the characters since it's the start of a new series. The book had a two chapter excerpt from it which tried to hook me from the opening pages. I will try to give the next book by Bryan a chance, but if the storytelling doesn't improve I won't go past book two.

    Favorite Quote: "By the way, did they fin out who stabbed you, dear?" Beatrice's stomach sank. She'd never get over it - being intentionally hurt by someone in her community. Who would do such a thing?
    "No, but it happened the same day as Maggie Rae's murder. And the brilliant Cumberland Creek police think there's a link," she replied.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    One Star, don't waste your hard earned dollars!

    I have been enjoying "cozy" mysteries for many years now and am insulted (mad at myself too!) that I would spend money on such a poor story. You never really figured out who the main character was - if there was one. A murder and a "crop group" just didn't quite come together like it was supposed to for me anyway. I finally quit at page 150 and flipped to the end to find out who the killer was. Ho Hum. End of story. Some new writers are good, some are not so good, this one was not.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Poorly written

    This book did not impress me at all. The characters were largely unlikeable, plus there were too many of them, most of whom were irrelevant. There were also long paragraphs of exposition of what the different characters were thinking/feeling about all kinds of stuff that I also couldn't bring myself to care about. All in all, I wish I'd saved my money.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Scrapping Good Time!

    I like scrap booking, and I like funny mysteries so I decided to give this one a try. And really, who can resist any novel that begins with “For Vera, all of the day’s madness began when she saw the knife handle poking out of her mother’s neck.” (Never fear, her mother is a force to be reckoned with all throughout the novel).

    As a matter of fact, most of the novel revolves around Vera, her mother, and a newcomer to the area, Annie. I really identified with Annie, trying to balance being a wife and mother along with a need for some professional (writing) release.

    Although the novel is set up so that you think the author is extremely unsubtle about who did it— it was a surprise when the whodunit was revealed. And all the clues were there! I give this one a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Make some time in your schedule...

    .. because once you start reading, you're not going to want to put "Scrapbook of Secrets" down! From page 1, you'll be utterly engrossed by the story and wanting to find out what's going to happen next. And the cast of characters is charming and funny -- you'll wish they were your friends in real life.

    I can't wait for the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Can't wait for the second book

    Great take on the changing landscape of small towns. Cumberland Creek is inhabited by interesting characters dealing with typical, and not so typical small town life (unless murder/suicides and elderly women being stabbed in the neck in broad daylight, are typical of your small town). Enjoyed the character and plot development so much that I blame the author for my stiff neck from continuous reading!

    Can't wait to read the second book in the series to see what else unfolds in Cumberland Creek . . . and of course get more of Beatrice!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    I Want Friends Like These Woman!

    What an interesting cozy! I really get how the woman support each other, but still have these times when they're slogging through chores, and raising kids, and that time to gather with friends seems like a golden light at the end of the tunnel.

    I was moved by how they felt shock and semi-guilt (why didn't I reach out more? some were maybe thinking) when a neighbor kills herself. And I was really moved when they decided to make scrapbooks for the dead woman's children.

    There are layers to the small town that get explored. The good, the bad, and the "We love our small town and just want to ignore that ugly over there" --I really related to this as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I read this book during a trip last year and couldn't put it dow

    I read this book during a trip last year and couldn't put it down!  The characters were well-developed and  interesting.  Being from a small town, I could completely relate to the mannerisms of the townspeople and the group of friends in the book.  I've also recently read the second book in this series and it was just as good as the first.  Pick it up and enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I will not by a book that has so many spoilers. Why do people th

    I will not by a book that has so many spoilers. Why do people think that a review means "tell the whole story". I have passed up many books because of this

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    Interesting combination of practical and mystical with a dash of psychology and a dollop of scrapbooking. These characters seem like comfortable friends who have come to visit and tell a story. Not your typical "cozy". Delightful read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cumberland Creek, Virginia¿on its surface, a small town like ma

    Cumberland Creek, Virginia—on its surface, a small town like many
    others, with its charm, friendliness, and sense of safety, but also with
    some of the drawbacks familiar to newcomers. Annie and Mike moved to
    this village with their young sons for all the advantages of small-town
    life but Annie has found it a bit difficult to be accepted because she
    is an outsider. Add to that her frustrations at having left an
    investigative journalism career behind and the normal day-to-day
    feelings of being trapped with the children and Annie is wondering if
    this move has really been a good idea. An invitation to join a
    scrapbooking party may just be her mental and emotional salvation.
    Unfortunately, the party is canceled at the last moment because the
    mother of a member of the circle needs emergency surgery to remove the
    knife someone stuck in her neck. Soon after, reports begin to circulate
    about the suicide of a young woman who left a husband and four young
    children. Everyone assumes Maggie Rae was driven to such a desperate and
    final act of shooting herself by problems in her marriage and her
    emotional isolation. Then, Annie, Vera and Sheila discover piles of
    scrapbooking materials dumped on the curb at Maggie Rae’s home the next
    day, surely the act of a callous husband who doesn’t care. The ladies
    “rescue” the scrapbooks and decide to complete them for her children and
    to commemorate her life and, as they do and her secrets begin to come to
    light, they begin to question whether Maggie Rae did, indeed, take her
    own life. It doesn’t take long for the police to come to the same
    conclusion. With more than one potential suspect, how will the real
    killer be caught and will there be more victims before then? Is there a
    connection between Maggie Rae’s death and Beatrice’s stabbing?
    Scrapbook of Secrets is the debut mystery of author Mollie Cox Bryan and
    I found it to be charming and entertaining with an edge many cozies
    don’t have. Suicide is not often a topic of this subgenre and the
    reasons behind the crimes are also unusual. That makes this a refreshing
    entry into the heavily populated crafts-related mystery field and,
    although there are some plot failures including a rather important one
    regarding the handling of evidence, none are so overwhelming as to
    interfere with a reader’s appreciation of the story. I enjoyed it very
    much, especially the characters and the picturesque setting, and will
    look forward to the next installment in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Held my interest and I fell in love with the characters. I thought it was well written and am looking forward to more from this author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Love love loved this book! I just couldn't put it down , love th

    Love love loved this book! I just couldn't put it down , love the characters! Looking forward to the next book by this talented created author, mollie! Hope to meet you one day, your are my new favorite author, keep writing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Recommend - especially to Scrap Bookers

    Cute story - being an avid scrapbooker I was intrigued by the title. Good mystery, serious but yet had just the right amount of humor. Looking forward to reading other books by this author. I HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone who scrapbooks and loves mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Don't judge a book by it's cover - a delightful read!

    Just finished reading this book and I'm looking forward to the next one, and I don't even scrapbook. It surprised me, kept me interested, and made me laugh. I'm glad I took the chance and bought it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A good light read

    No heavy lifting here. A newcomer from the big city gets pulled into a rural scrapbooking group, then finds herself drawn into the mystery of an apparent suicide. Competently written, engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Funny, lighthearted mystery

    I never saw the end coming! This book keeps you guessing until the very end as to "who done it"! The characters are very diverse and so well written you can almost see them. I can't wait to read more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    What happened to the end?

    The story line and characters were believable, thought provoking and kept my interest until the end. Then it seemed like the author quit writing just to meet a deadline or word quota. It does have a sexual infidelity plotline and uses profanity in all conversation which may offend some readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    Scrapbook of Secrets was a very good book. A Mystery that kept me captivated until the very end. Can't wait to get the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    check it otu

    Fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4