Customer Reviews for

Scrapbook of Secrets (Cumberland Creek Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Scrapping Good Time!

I like scrap booking, and I like funny mysteries so I decided to give this one a try. And really, who can resist any novel that begins with “For Vera, all of the day’s madness began when she saw the knife handle poking out of her mother’s neck.” (Never fear, her mother ...
I like scrap booking, and I like funny mysteries so I decided to give this one a try. And really, who can resist any novel that begins with “For Vera, all of the day’s madness began when she saw the knife handle poking out of her mother’s neck.” (Never fear, her mother is a force to be reckoned with all throughout the novel).

As a matter of fact, most of the novel revolves around Vera, her mother, and a newcomer to the area, Annie. I really identified with Annie, trying to balance being a wife and mother along with a need for some professional (writing) release.

Although the novel is set up so that you think the author is extremely unsubtle about who did it— it was a surprise when the whodunit was revealed. And all the clues were there! I give this one a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

posted by wynwords on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

One Star, don't waste your hard earned dollars!

I have been enjoying "cozy" mysteries for many years now and am insulted (mad at myself too!) that I would spend money on such a poor story. You never really figured out who the main character was - if there was one. A murder and a "crop group" just didn't quite come to...
I have been enjoying "cozy" mysteries for many years now and am insulted (mad at myself too!) that I would spend money on such a poor story. You never really figured out who the main character was - if there was one. A murder and a "crop group" just didn't quite come together like it was supposed to for me anyway. I finally quit at page 150 and flipped to the end to find out who the killer was. Ho Hum. End of story. Some new writers are good, some are not so good, this one was not.

posted by mysteriesformeCA on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cumberland Creek, Virginia¿on its surface, a small town like ma

    Cumberland Creek, Virginia—on its surface, a small town like many
    others, with its charm, friendliness, and sense of safety, but also with
    some of the drawbacks familiar to newcomers. Annie and Mike moved to
    this village with their young sons for all the advantages of small-town
    life but Annie has found it a bit difficult to be accepted because she
    is an outsider. Add to that her frustrations at having left an
    investigative journalism career behind and the normal day-to-day
    feelings of being trapped with the children and Annie is wondering if
    this move has really been a good idea. An invitation to join a
    scrapbooking party may just be her mental and emotional salvation.
    Unfortunately, the party is canceled at the last moment because the
    mother of a member of the circle needs emergency surgery to remove the
    knife someone stuck in her neck. Soon after, reports begin to circulate
    about the suicide of a young woman who left a husband and four young
    children. Everyone assumes Maggie Rae was driven to such a desperate and
    final act of shooting herself by problems in her marriage and her
    emotional isolation. Then, Annie, Vera and Sheila discover piles of
    scrapbooking materials dumped on the curb at Maggie Rae’s home the next
    day, surely the act of a callous husband who doesn’t care. The ladies
    “rescue” the scrapbooks and decide to complete them for her children and
    to commemorate her life and, as they do and her secrets begin to come to
    light, they begin to question whether Maggie Rae did, indeed, take her
    own life. It doesn’t take long for the police to come to the same
    conclusion. With more than one potential suspect, how will the real
    killer be caught and will there be more victims before then? Is there a
    connection between Maggie Rae’s death and Beatrice’s stabbing?
    Scrapbook of Secrets is the debut mystery of author Mollie Cox Bryan and
    I found it to be charming and entertaining with an edge many cozies
    don’t have. Suicide is not often a topic of this subgenre and the
    reasons behind the crimes are also unusual. That makes this a refreshing
    entry into the heavily populated crafts-related mystery field and,
    although there are some plot failures including a rather important one
    regarding the handling of evidence, none are so overwhelming as to
    interfere with a reader’s appreciation of the story. I enjoyed it very
    much, especially the characters and the picturesque setting, and will
    look forward to the next installment in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    check it otu

    Fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    A fun little quick read

    While this is certainly not a Mary Higgins Clark mystery, it is a quick easy read with the element of mystery to it. Some of the mystery lies in the unfinished story lines for several of the main characters. The characters and plot need more development but that's to be expected in the first book of a series. My biggest gripe about the book? The fact that "Mennonites" are mentioned as possible murder suspects --why not just say that the suspect is a religious fanatic and call it good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    R,ecommend

    I liked the characters! Writing could have been better"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Well written but....

    Interesting story line but when did the woman sleep?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Interesting story, but not a lot of excitment

    This story is good for light reading and learning about srapbooking, but not a page turner for a mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Scrapbook Of Secrets by Mollie Cox Bryan The group of woman who

    Scrapbook Of Secrets by Mollie Cox Bryan
    The group of woman who meet to work on their scrapbooking have found out some interesting things. Weird things like one of their mothers getting stabbed in the neck, not feeling it, but having to be operated on. Their way home they drove by the one who had died to discover her husband had cleaned out all his wives things, all her scrapbooking so the woman take it all so they can go through it
    later. They do not think she committed suicide as she had young children. They hope to find more clues to back up the fact that they think she was murdered. One thing they find out had brought in a lot of money for the family.
    The chapters are very short and there are a lot of them. I do not think with everybody involved that I could even tell you who is married to who and what kids they have. There are just so many people.
    The mystery becomes more than that as other things come to light and things are happening to others in the community.
    Love the glossary of terms used, tips and tricks and how to do scrapbooking. Also love that this is a series and there is more to come of the same type of mysteries with most of the same group of people. This means that maybe I'll be able to keep the characters straight.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1