BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Scream Catcher

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Story, Great Writing

    Zandri's done it again! After reading and loving Moonlight Rises, I had high expectations for Scream Catcher and the author didn't disappoint. First and foremost, Zandri is exceptional with words and his descriptions throw the reader headfirst into the story. I really appreciate an author that can get me so involved with the characters in a crime thriller, instead of being all about the action, which totally bores me. Even more impressive than his actual writing is Zandri's ability to successfully beat a dead horse (ah, that made me laugh). I really thought the whole 'murdering people just to hear them scream' thing was old news, but Zandri brought new light to it by creating a murderer that develops games using real screams from his victims. It was actually fairly disturbing to imagine how in-tune with killing game developers of that genre need to be and how people prefer the most realistic simulations. I guess it's probably common sense, but the detail in Scream Catcher really made me think about it more than ever.

    Although I really enjoyed Scream Catcher, there were a few things I wasn't too crazy about. At first, I thought the mention of an iPhone was tacky, but it makes sense when you find out what the killer does and how tech-savvy someone like that would reasonably be (although it still wasn't necessary). I got over that after the first few chapters, but it was a bit off-putting until I learned more about the killer. Another thing that bothered me was how unbelievable a couple situations were. I expect a fiction novel to be just that, but it's difficult to lose myself in a story when I keep thinking, 'well, that would never happen'.

    Despite a couple minor issues, I was still very impressed with Scream Catcher. The short chapters and cliff hangers between them make it hard to put down, so plan to set aside the entire day to finish it. You'll keep convincing yourself, "just one more chapter", then realize your kid's been at soccer practice for the last 8 hours or something. I'm not sure if that says more about what kind of mother I'd make or about how freaking awesome Vincent Zandri is, but I'm hoping it's the latter.

    Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Live To Read

    The best quality of this novel was the high intensity. The reader will not have to read far before hitting plenty of action. The serial killer appears very realistic, the reader won't have to deal with a phony killer. The main character, Jude, was a likable character. He is protective, strong, and smart. The secondary characters were fun to get to know, particularly Jude's family. It isn't easy to make a character too personable in a thriller/mystery, but the author accomplishes that easily in this novel. One of Jude's best characteristics was his ability to admit his fear; too many characters are portrayed as "perfect." Jude's small imperfections were what made him so easy to like.



    Many scenes were action-packed, very fast-paced. The reader will be entertained throughout the novel. There is always a note at the beginning of each chapter indicating the setting, day, and time; this is always helpful in a mystery/thriller book. The book is not very predictable, there are quite a few twists and surprises; the reader will be kept on his/her toes. Overall, this is a great book for reading on a long car drive or commute. This book is recommended to adult readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Brilliant!!!

    SCREAM CATCHER by Vincent Zandri
    Published by StoneGate Ink
    ISBN:
    At the request of the author, an EPub galley was sent, at no cost to me, for my honest opinion.

    Synopsis (from author): Life is but a scream. Then you die. Jude Parish was once a tough cop. But now he is afraid. For reasons even he can't begin to fathom, the former violent crimes cop turned bestselling true crime author has acquired a fear-filled demon that's lodged itself inside him. A demon so real, so visceral, he can only imagine a slimy reptilian beast with scaly gray skin, black eyes, and razor-sharp fangs having taken up residence inside the place where his once confident and fearless soul resided. Now, in the wake of his literary success, the ever anxious Jude is hoping to lead a quiet, peaceful life in the idyllic Adirondack vacation town of Lake George, New York with his new pregnant wife, Rosie, and Jack, his young son from a previous marriage. But when Jude becomes the accidental witness to a bizarre "kill game" in which the killer, video game designer and master of disguise, Hector "the Black Dragon" Lennox, insists on recording the screams of his victims prior to shooting them dead, the ex-cop's life is turned upside down. When Lennox is arrested by the L.G.P.D. and Jude is asked to act as the state's "star witness," he has no choice but to fight his demon-fear and take on the role. But what he doesn't realize at the time is that the killer's arrest is actually the first chapter in what is a carefully designed and scripted kill game that will involve Jude's entire family. How will the kill game end? It will end not with a whimper, but a scream.

    My Thoughts and Opinion: Where do I begin? I'm thinking that I should apologize in advance as this is not going to be like my typical reviews where I attempt to make them short, concise, and to the point but this book has me reeling. It all started in May of 2010 when I read a debut novel, Moonlight Falls, by an unknown author to me, Vincent Zandri and I was hooked. Since that time I have read every one of his books and he doesn't disappoint.

    I wrote a pre review last week when I was quite surprised when I received this galley in my email. So I will start this review there. (written on 07/28/11) If you are a reader of mystery's?, thrillers, non stop action filled novels, mark your calendar for the release of this book!!! Vinzent Zandri has IT!!! Vincent Zandri is IT!!! Vincent Zandri is brillIanT!!! Just when you thought he reached the pinnacle in writing, he has found a higher mountain!!! He has raised the bar with Scream Catcher!! My heart was pounding at warp speed!!! And that's from reading 1/2 the book. It can only get better!!! In ten days...plan on spending the day reading....it's a page turning, can't put down novel.

    Now that I have read the book in it's entirety, I can give a full review. Fantastic!!!! Zandri is a genious at story telling. Why does this book have me reeling? His inventiveness of writing style. I noticed a deviation immediately. It has the classic Zandri flair, short chapters, cliff hanging chapters, twists and turns, non stop action and page turning suspense. However, this had more drama, less quirky, quip dialogue and more of a psychological thriller plot. Masterful!!!! In my pre review, I stated "it could only get better"...It did!!! Exceptional!!! His creative talent is phenomenal!!!

    Vincent Zandri and Scream Catcher are Champions!!!!
    My Rating: 5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Killer From A Best Selling Author!!!

    Some people may think that I'm all out crazy to sing the praises about Vincent's books the way I do. And those people may just be right. I'm not scared to admit that Vincent Zandri's work is incredibly awesome. For a suspense author, he's got his stuff in the right place.

    The thing that I love about Zandri's work is this: the adventure. Yep, the adventure. How can one have an adventure reading a Zandri novel?? Listen closely.....he fills it with fast paced, heart pounding amazing-ness that will leave the reader far from where they started. He sucks them, twists them up and sets them down in unknown places each time.

    Scream Catcher. Just the name of this novel grabbed me. But, what is it really about? It's about a murderer. Duh. ;-) No, seriously. It is about a murderer but one who does things a little differently than most. He captures the moans and the screams of those that fall victim to his evil, on recording. He uses them for his games that he creates, and Jude Parrish is the one that races against time, to find this monster and save his family from falling into the trap, and becoming the next set of victims.

    Each page turn brought a new spark to Jude's hunt. Each page turn brought me closer to the edge of my seat and my knuckles just a little bit whiter. My fear level rose with this Zandri novel like it hasn't done before. Wondering what the killer had in store for Jude and seeing the ending, well, this is one book that will be with me for a long time to come!

    Suspense lovers, I highly recommend this book! It's filled with mystery, suspense, murder and twists that will leave you looking over your shoulder, turning the night light on, and questioning everyone you meet. This is definitely another great 5 Book worthy read from a best selling author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Nothing Great

    From all the previous reviews, I thought this was going to be an epic book. It really was a simple story of evil, police ineptitude, political corruption, and personal fear. Jude, the ex-cop and main character, makes illogical decisions and poor judgments regarding the safety of this family. I realize this is a book of fiction, but an adult with any maturity, let alone someone with police training, likely would have operated with greater caution and not fallen victim as easily as he did. Overall, this book was a big disappointment. Don't plan to read this author's other books. I believe this is the worst review I've given since I got my Nook and I've probably reviewed about 75 books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1