Customer Reviews for

Screen Play

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    Chris Coppernoll's contemporary romance "Screen Play" was thoroughly entertaining. And like any good romance, it made my heart pitter-patter and soar on more than one occasion. Add a little suspense, and the captivating effect was perfect.

    I adored this story because I got lost in it's pages and lived in an entertaining alternate reality while I was reading. The character development was impeccable and the faith element was perfectly done. I said this before, but the romance literally took my breath away. Seriously. I can see why this novel got such a high rating from Romantic Times. It was a perfect novel in many respects. Several times I'd even forgotten it was written by a man because the author clearly understands a woman's heart. That, in and of itself, is impressive.

    I also loved the setting. The various details in each portion of the book were so well developed and researched that I felt like I was in the story. I was Harper and I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. She was one of the most believable and lovable modern era heroines I've found in a book in a long time. I also loved the secondary characters. Their drama gripped my heart and I loved how everything played out with it's highs and lows. Harper was such a good friend, but it went both ways. Avril was also there for Harper when she needed support. Did I mention that I was enthralled with this story?

    The plot, the characters, everything about this story reeks of a novel that should be nominated for an award of some kind. If I had a chance to vote on a nomination, "Screen Play" would get mine...hands down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In a word. Incredible.

    I have been meaning to read a book by Chris for more than a year. I just never have a craving for contemporary fiction. Whenever I have free time I am always reaching for the historicals. After reading "Screen Play" by Chris, I am sorry that I waited so long before introducing myself to his storytelling voice. The entire time I was looking forward to what was coming next. Already, partially read I would recommend it. After finishing it, I highly recommend it.


    There is not just one story in there but several. The character voice of female Harper Gray is incredibly well developed by Chris. There were many little things that showed her personality and I am very impressed from a male point of view how well she came together on the page.

    While enjoying the story I was expecting it to wrap up right after the New York play, but it continued and it was as enjoyable as reading a sequel of character's lives that you are not quite ready to let go of as a reader. After a short trip to London with my SisterB where we saw a play a day, except one day two I recall our performance of "The Woman in White" that was saw. This show sticks out in my mind specifically because the staring roll was played by the understudy. I remember being curious about what goes on in the mind of someone that plays the roll of an understudy and thanks to the first half of this fabulous treasure of a novel now I have a better plausible picture.

    However, just this fact was not the only part of the story that I could relate to. I met my Enginerd online. Long story short, neither was looking and it all happened upon a fluke some would say, or rather God's design that we did not expect. Know how wonderful it was and at the same time how people are still uncertain if that is an okay way to meet people I could completely relate to the characters as they impatiently waited for the next email, IM or text message.

    This was a story that was enjoyable to read and the characters were truly brought of the page to me. I can imagine them as palpable persons and that is to me an extremely valuable talent in an author. Once again, I repeat, I am sorry that I have not delved into the imagination on the page from Chris before, but I am so glad that I have found his writing now. I cannot wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a warm inspirational romance

    Thirty something Harper Gray has wanted to make it in theater for years, but her break never occurred. Financially broke and depressed, she becomes excited when she is offered the understudy role to TV superstar Helen Payne in the Broadway revival of Arthur Mouldain's classic play Apartment 19.

    At the same time as her career seems to survive, Harper decides to try on-line dating as she has not had a man in her life almost as long as she has not had a part. However, she finds no one in the New York metropolitan area or for that matter the East Coast of any interest. The best prospect is a zillion miles away, but that means choosing between a chance for love and a chance to perform on stage.

    This is a warm inspirational romance starring a wonderful lead character, her best friend Avril, other players involved in the play, and Luke. With a first name mindful of author Harper Lee, which may be coincidence but I'd rather believe otherwise; the story line is driven by the heroine who must make monumental life altering decisions one way or another between love and fame. Fans will enjoy Chris Coppernoll's fine tale of free will to choose while also look forward apparently to Averill in sandy eggo.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Sweet

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    An amazing read!

    Every now and then a book comes your way that you aren't sure you will enjoy. Then the surprise happens as you discover an author that is unknown to you who simply blows you away with their writing ability. This is what I experienced as I started to read and could not put down this book.

    The story opens as the main character, Harper, a new Christian and believer, is preparing to leave behind a bad year and fly to New York. She has been given the opportunity as the understudy for the lead role in a theatrical production of a play that has not seen the stage in 30 years.

    From there the story takes on a life of its own as Harper begins to accept how God works in our lives and to trust in Him. Harper joins an online dating group based on the input from her best friend Avril. In surprise she meets James and Luke, both are Christian men. James is a widower with 2 small children who lives in San Diego. Luke is a pilot/logger in Alaska. Harper finds herself drawn to Luke and decides to maintain contact as friends as there is so much distance between New York and Alaska. She feels the same way about James.

    The lead actor, Helen Payne, is fired by the Director Ben Hughes. Harper suddenly finds herself playing the lead role. Harper puts her trust in God and gives the play and role a whole new and fresh perspective. The play receives high acclaim in the theatrical reviews that hits all the papers. At a party given by the New York Theatrical Society Harper is introduced to Joseph Haggen, a Hollywood Director.

    Harper is contacted by her Agent asking her to come to California as the offers are pouring in. Harper leaves New York after the play closes and flies to California. When she arrives, her agent informs her that she has received an offer to play the lead female role in a movie that Joseph Haggen is producing.

    This story is truly exceptional as it takes all the fears and worries Christians experience each and every day. There is such a level a realism and fiction weaved together to provide the reader with an interesting and well written faith-based story.

    If Christian-based is your genre, then pick up a copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Great read!

    Wonderful book! Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    great

    Great read and good for bedtime!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Surprisingly good

    I was surprised that this book was interesting and a good read because so many Christian fiction books have a character in show business. Unexpected story line, a main character that shares her faith and a surprising ending. I enjoyed that the author skipped over potential rabbit trails like the ex- boyfriend. I gave it 4 stars because the first chapter was not captivating but I am pleased I continued reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Inspirational!!

    It is not often that a work of fiction can teach me and inspire me and remind me to turn to God in all things..... This story did all three. Excellent!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Loved this read. Not what I expected, MUCH MORE?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    haven't received it yet

    haven't received it yet

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Screen Play

    What a great story! After spending a year in almost complete isolation, Harper finally gets her big break as an actress. But she still isn't happy, as she longs for a meaningful relationship in her life. In desperation and loneliness, she rather skeptically registers for an online dating service. Even Harper is surprised by the outcome.

    The most amazing thing that I found about this story was the typical Hollywood setting and how it was mixed with an incredible woman of strong faith in God. Her witness and lifestyle was a clear and honest testimony to everyone that she came in contact with. This story is an inspiration to anyone who might struggle with being honest with our co-workers and friends about what we believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Starstruck

    Thank you to Audra Jennings at B & B Media for my review copy of this most interesting Christian fiction romance story.This is the first book I've read by this author who enjoys using metaphors and similes. When the story begins, the protagonist, a thirty-year-old wanna-be actress, is at the bottom of her barrel. We watch her struggle and see her story unfold. Intertwined with all of the backstage politics is an internet romance. I learned a good bit about both the career of an actor and online dating.Just when I felt that I had the plot all figured out, the author throws in a twist and then another, until I gave up and just enjoyed the read. Truly, I did not guess the ending. I predict you'll enjoy this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Charming romance filled with faith and fun

    Screen Play by Chris Coppernoll is a refreshing romance full of faith and hope. Harper Gray has had a rough year: dumped by her boyfriend, a too-long dry spell of no acting jobs, and feeling like she has no purpose, nothing left to live for. The only reason she survived financially was because of residuals from a cold medicine commercial. After giving her heart to the Lord, everything starts to change. She's hired to be the understudy in a play on Broadway working along with her best friend Avril. Then Harper gives online dating a try and finds a couple of men who spark her interest. Things get even better when she ends up in the lead role and astounds the critics and the theatrical world, but she may discover that she'd give it all up for love. Coppernoll does a terrific job of writing Harper's voice, a skill not many male authors possess. Her meteoric rise to fame along with falling in love makes her story a compelling peek into Hollywood and Broadway. (Oddly enough, I had just read a biography of Amelia Earhart to my daughter before finishing up this novel last night. Readers will catch the reference.) Coppernoll is an emerging writer in the Christian romance field, and this may just be his best work yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1