Customer Reviews for

Screenplay: The Foundations of Screenwriting

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for beginning writers...

This is a GREAT book for the beginning writer. I have read it and other books by Syd Field repeatedly for help, and I consider him to be a sort of mastermind of the art; however, the book lacks some of the vital details that are necessary to becoming a full fledged scre...
This is a GREAT book for the beginning writer. I have read it and other books by Syd Field repeatedly for help, and I consider him to be a sort of mastermind of the art; however, the book lacks some of the vital details that are necessary to becoming a full fledged screenwriter(e.g. 'plants and payoffs', 'themes', etc.). I am advising this book to be read by all aspiring screenwriters. But it will not be the end of the road, so to speak. You will have to read other books to advance your knowledge...

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Basic Book but Needs Updating

For those who are starting out in the screen writing field, this book will give you the basics of a screenplay. Those who know the basics of a story will find this book too elementary. Some parts are out of date, such as the chapter on typewritters vs. word processors....
For those who are starting out in the screen writing field, this book will give you the basics of a screenplay. Those who know the basics of a story will find this book too elementary. Some parts are out of date, such as the chapter on typewritters vs. word processors.

posted by Anonymous on May 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    If you buy one book on writing screenplays or fiction, this should be it...

    Excellent. Clear, practical explanations and guidelines to help you structure a story and develop interesting characters. "Screenplay" is by far the best book on fiction/screenplay writing and I've probably read them all. If you must choose one book to purchase on the subject, this should be it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2000

    Great for beginning writers...

    This is a GREAT book for the beginning writer. I have read it and other books by Syd Field repeatedly for help, and I consider him to be a sort of mastermind of the art; however, the book lacks some of the vital details that are necessary to becoming a full fledged screenwriter(e.g. 'plants and payoffs', 'themes', etc.). I am advising this book to be read by all aspiring screenwriters. But it will not be the end of the road, so to speak. You will have to read other books to advance your knowledge...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Syd Field on Writing a Screenplay

    An accomplished screenwriter, Syd Field, provides the basic formatting details, and techniques involving character and plot development along with information essential to screenwriters. Helpful examples of real screenplays of popular movies illustrate how the elements and methods described are implemented in the actual writing process.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Good Basic Book but Needs Updating

    For those who are starting out in the screen writing field, this book will give you the basics of a screenplay. Those who know the basics of a story will find this book too elementary. Some parts are out of date, such as the chapter on typewritters vs. word processors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2000

    An essential tool

    Though Syd Field falls in and out of fashion among insiders, his work is vital to understanding the living dynamics of screenplay format. Too many new writers dismiss such valuable aids out of a misplaced sense of sophistication. As a result, they never complete a screenplay. Field provides a readable and usable text with examples of physical format and the great works Field recommends. Field uses Chinatown as a central example of how great tales are woven, so the reader is advised to do his homework. You wouldn't fix a car without knowing how an engine is built. This book belongs on every serious hopeful's shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    ScreenWriter 1231

    If you want to start your own movie. Stay here. To chat about our movies or movies u hav seen...and other things...go to result 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    Do not buy

    This is quite possibly the worst reader I have ever purchased. Luckily I was able to get a refund or I would have really been upset. Im not sure if anyone else had this issue but my experience was un-satisfactory.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Syd Field Foundations of screenwriting

    Real great book , teaches you the whole picture of, how to write a screenplay and cites examples too.
    That will give you a better understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still the best

    Syd Field's Screenplay is still the best screenwriting book on the market. Everything else is a regurgitation of what the great man has been teaching for the past four decades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2