Customer Reviews for

The Screenwriter's Bible: A Complete Guide to Writing, Formatting, and Selling Your Script

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    Highly Recommended!

    As the author of ¿Screen & Stage Marketing Secrets¿ I highly recommend screenwriters to read ¿The Screenwriter¿s Bible.¿ This book solves many of the problems of properly formatting screenplays. The book solidly sets up the structure of the story you are writing in the proper script format -- precisely what agents and production companies need to submit a script to higher levels of management for a green light. If you follow the advice given in this book, you will have a screenplay with the major critical elements installed. This will satisfy story analysts. You¿ll be satisfied with the results, too! This book is of high value to the screenwriter, as a properly formatted script will be recognized as a professional submission in Hollywood. Professional submissions are a prime critical element that gets script¿s sold!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    I LOVE IT

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR CAREER AND AMATUER WIRTERS ALIKE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    The Most Practical Book on Screenwriting

    THE SCREENWRITER'S BIBLE, in one volume, comprises six substantial guidebooks: Book I: How to Write a Screenplay--A Primer Book II: 7 Steps to a Stunning Script--A Workbook Book III: Proper Formatting Technique--A Style Guide Book IV: Writing & Revising Your Breakthrough--A Script Consultant's View. Book V: How to Sell Your Script--A Marketing Plan Book VI: Resources and General Index. The book's large format 386 pages, eleven by eight-and-a-half inch, would equal at least 600 pages in the more common format of nine by six inch. Book I: How to Write a Screenplay. Aptly subtitled a primer, it presents a compact introduction to screenwriting. In particular, Trottier focuses on the three-act structure with six key turning or plot points: the catalyst the big event the pinch 'or midpoint' the crisis 'low point' the showdown the realization. Throughout, the author includes examples from well-known films. Book II: 7 Steps to a Stunning Script. This workbook includes 25 checkpoint lists and a character/action grid -- highly useful in constructing the screenplay. Book III: Proper Formatting Technique--A Style Guide. 'The spec script is the selling script, sometimes called the writer's draft. You write it with the idea of selling it later or circulating it as a sample. Once it is sold and goes into pre-production, it will be transformed into a shooting script, also known as the production draft. The spec-script style avoids camera angles, editing directions, and technical intrusions' 'page 114'. This book convinced me to use the author's software 'Dr Format' instead of 'Final Draft.' To illustrate formatting a spec script, Trottier includes his humorous three-page script 'The Perspicacious Professor.' Book IV: Writing & Revising Your Breakthrough--A Script Consultant's View. In this book the author provides tips on 'how to direct the camera without using camera directions' and exercises, based on his clients' scripts, to guide reader in revising to current spec-writing style. Book V: How to Sell Your Script--A Marketing Plan. In addition to numerous suggestions on marketing, Trottier cautions screenwriters to protect their work. 'Registering one's copyright and displaying the copyright notice on the script's title page is no longer seen as something done by paranoid writers.' Writers Guild of America will register one-page synopsis, longer treatments, as well as draft's' of a screenplay. Book VI: Resources and General Index. This book includes several lists containing 'carefully selected entries.' I promptly looked up the first entry: 'Updates to The Screenwriter's Bible' on the author's website... and found a useful tip on formatting as well as revisions on one of the exercises in Book IV. Presumably these changes will be included in the next edition. Five shining stars to this book. -- C J Singh

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Everything you'd need.

    Just started with this book, and I'm very impressed. Anything you need to know about writing Screenplay's he explains in ways that are easy to understand and gives great examples of movies you can relate too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    All you'll ever need!

    What an amazing, revolutionizing experience! Every screenwriter should own this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    THE BOMB

    This book is the best screenwriting book that I have come encounter with. I have read many book they were so complicated that I didn't finish reading. Now that I have read the screenwriters bible I am half-way through my script. It gives you direction, how to get fresh ideas to naming your characters. I recommend this book to anyone wanting to get started with a script but don't know how. This book will be the best investment you give yourself. It is all so the first pay off of your successful script. Good luck k.ray

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Nothing Comes Close!

    All you really need to know about this book is the price. That is it. If you have ever, or currently have an idea for a screenplay, this book will guide you from the ideas that are tossed around in your mind to the signing on the dotted line. Nothing comes close to this book, although the prices of actually consulting the author are slightly pricey, his book is even better. Before I bought this book, my script was good and now its even better. The minor 'writing mistakes' that I made, are gone and the script is well on its way. No other screenwriting book comes close.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    Best of Many

    I ordered three other titles about screenwriting before this one, and while all were helpful, this is the one that finally showed me what I wanted to know, and a lot more. The breadth and depth of this volume far exceeded all the others combined. Like someone else said, if you've got the gift, this is the book that will show you how to do it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    A MUST BUY!!

    A must buy for any novice or experienced screenwriter. A great reference for all aspects of screewriting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1