Customer Reviews for

Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns: The Romance and Sexual Sorcery of Sadomasochism

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    PERFECT for the BEGINNER

    When I first entered into the lifestyle I was a little apprehensive, but my Dom recommended this book and it was a great help. Even now when I read it, I still seem to learn something new..the book is GREAT!!!! Its a definate MUST HAVE for those who live the lifestyle full-time as I do and those who like to add a little more to their sex life. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    BDSM must have !

    I can not say it enough... this book is the ultimate newbie guide to the BDSM lifestyle,weather a Top or bottom. It explains many things from the definitions of roles, contracts, and most importantly.. how the mental aspect is just as important as the physical .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    The Bible

    For those in the lifestyle this book is a must have for beginners and advanced members alike. The book is informational and entertaining unlike many books that are out there. Remember Safe Sane and Consenual...Lets play safe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    AWESOME

    when i first began my journey into this other world i bought the book, after reading and rereading it opened my eyes to a lifestyle i was born to live. AWESOME book and a must read for all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Funny, frank, informative

    A must have for all Doms and subs alike. Miller and Devon's style of writing was so entertaining i actually passed the book onto my mother! She loved it and it helped her to better understand and finally accept my lifestyle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Great gift for any OPEN sexual person!

    This book greatly illustrates what fun things you can do to spice up your sex life. It's cute and funny drawings make you laugh and the advice make you cry, literally...!!!Whether you are into advanced S&M or just into love bites this book will rock your love life and YOUR WORLD!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    A must have for the novice and experts

    very informative. well written and easy to follow. Makes even the most embarrassing things to talk about seem easy. full of laughter as well and puts you at total ease and comfort reading. a book that even a person with no understanding of the subject could grasp and understand easily. love mine and read it over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    One of the absolute best

    There is so much misinformation out there about SM that it just makes me sick. This is especially true of fiction. Therefore I'm especailly glad that Screw The Roses is in print. This is one of the most realistic, useful books out there and I recommend it all the time. It is very well illustrated, the authors clearly know their stuff, and it is light and easy to read with a lot of humor in it. The only suggestion I would make is that you see if your local Barnes and Noble carries this book on it's shelves. Its very important that accurate information be as widely available as possible because the inaccurate information sure is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    A wonderful book

    BDSM is not something that you just dive into. You need to learn how to do it first. Philip and Molly have written a wonderful book that will teach you how to do just that. The book is comprehensively organized and has a nice sense of humor. It is also more illustrated than the other SM books. It has a very good section on bondage and a very good section on whipping. In some ways, the book tries to do a bit to much. It goes into things like electricity play and fisting but should do so in greater detail. The book is also written exclusively from a dominant-male/submissive-female point of view, so I guess that is both a + and a -. Overall, this was a good quality realistically written book that I recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1