Customer Reviews for

The Screwtape Letters

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    Brillant.

    The Screwtape Letters makes you think in a fashion that is unexpected. C.S. Lewis puts into words the unnoticed ideas and processes that go on everyday. The indirect (everything in the Screwtape Letters is indirect) messages concerning morality and faith are still valid today. It is eerie to realize that the same battles over worldliness have gone on since time began.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    A creative and thought provoking take on the reality of spiritual warfare.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Essential

    The Screwtape Letters, by C.S. Lewis, consists of a series of correspondence between Screwtape, an administrator of relatively high (or, from his point of view, low) position in Satan's bureaucracy; and his nephew Wormwood, a junior tempter just graduated from "temptation college," as it were. These letters -or at least those of Screwtape to Wormwood, we never read the actual replies- concern Wormwood's attempts to secure an ordinary man's soul for hell. This demonic point of view makes for an interesting read.

    One note about the book is how, due to the viewpoint, there is a complete reversal of good and bad. Screwtape regards human "virtues" as exceedingly detrimental to the cause, and vices just their opposite. Satan becomes "our father below," and God as we know him is "the Enemy." If Screwtape recommends that Wormwood ought to encourage something in his Patient's (the person he is assigned to, and the human focus of the book) life, then we, as people, ought to discourage it. (Hence, Screwtape's being "low" in his master's service, mentioned earlier.) At first, this can be rather confusing; "Screwtape's black is our white." (Lewis, the forward.) It takes a moment to change back, transforming "good" back into bad, so that his "advice" can become helpful to the reader. However, after becoming used to the style, one can easily execute this reversal without much thought.

    I found the book to be just fantastic. It is chock full of advice to aid the common Christian on their way, and I for one believe it is one book besides the Bible itself that every Christian should read. Of course, this overwhelmingly positive perception might not prove true for all. Lewis' very 20th century-British style might prove less accessible for some; and what seems to be of infinite importance to one might appear rather insignificant to someone else. Others still might think it just plain weird. But that does not change it for me; after initially picking up the book I have read it through three times and promptly proceeded to order a C.S. Lewis 'essentials' paperback box-set.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Timeless Classic

    In the reading of the book one is whisked away as if he was Uncle Screwtape's pupil himself. Wonderful book to wake you up to how the other side thinks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    "It is funny how mortals always picture us as putting thin


    "It is funny how mortals always picture us as putting things into their minds: in reality our best work is done by keeping things out..." When people picture temptation, they usually picture a man with horns, red skin, and a pitchfork standing on their shoulder and whispering in their ear, maybe pausing to giggle or argue with the angel that is always standing on the opposite shoulder. But to C.S. Lewis, temptation was a business, a department of Hell with its own hierarchy ("Lowerarchy"), positions, and rules. The Screwtape Letters chronicles the letters between Screwtape, an under-secretary in Hell, and his nephew Wormwood, a junior tempter trying to lead an average British man astray. In these letters, Screwtape advises Wormwood on how best to corrupt the man, who they call "the patient", as well as offering some general advice on steering the human soul towards Hell. At first glance, the book would seem like the farthest thing from Christian literature. But after reading it, I can say that The Screwtape Letters is the most compelling argument for Christianity I've ever encountered.
    When I first started reading the book, I knew it would be praising Christianity. It was C.S. Lewis after all, and a book about leading humans away from "the right path". I figured it would be a bunch of thinly veiled praises of God and Christianity in general. But the book really isn't about Christianity. It's about human nature, and the struggle for humans to look beyond themselves and their problems. The whole book is actually a beautiful example of antithesis, showing the reader what is right by promoting what is clearly wrong. The book actually addressed a lot of criticisms of Christianity, like the ease of conversion and the corruption of the Church. Instead of promoting Christianity above all else, Lewis instead encouraged a more charitable and humble attitude in general, saying that, not the patient's religion, is what got him into Heaven. Of course, the book does include plenty of Christian ideas, but they're all presented in a positive way, like when Lewis says, "We want cattle who can finally become food; He wants servants who can finally become sons."
    Even though the language is tough and the philosophical concepts can be hard to digest, I would recommend this book. It's a stimulating look at the complex motivations and behaviors of good and evil, and it praises the appropriate use of religion without getting too denominational. C.S. Lewis is a beautiful writer, and what he writes about morality and God's infinite love is more compelling than any evangelical sermon. I'm a stout atheist, and my beliefs haven't changed after reading this book. However, I feel like I'm a little more conscious of what I think about others and how I live my life thanks to this book. And I don't think anyone can criticize that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    A great book!

    This book is masterfully written and very Creatively written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    screwtape letters

    made me really think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting ride

    This book made me think, which is generally a good thing. The letters made me view life in a completely different way. Some of the lessons contained in these pages still ring true today and could explain a lot of the issues that society seems to be having right now if we would but listen. The only reason I couldn't give this a 5 star rating is because after awhile the complex nature of the material got a little tedious to read, especially when you're not completely alert or focused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    MUST READ for ALL but more for those who question why certain things happen in the world and for those who dont understand how important it is to be close to GOD>

    The Screwtape Letters is a book that I would recommend for all, but it would be really helpful to people who dont quite understand how and why things happen with such a great GOD around. This book helped really understand how often the decisions that we make or rationalizations are not always our true thoughts but thoughts put into our head for a bigger cause, the cause: TO KEEP US AWAY FROM GOD.
    I was able to see by the different scenarios that Mr. Lewis set up how often we are being manipulated and we dont even realize it. It made me more aware of how important it is to remain close to GOD. It put into perspective that everytime I choose to do things wrong the Enemy gets the glory and who wants that! I want GOD to get His glory because He is the one that gives me everything. Mr. Lewis was able to show me this in Screwtapes letters and how eager the enemy wants to destroy any happiness and the lengths he will go to do so.
    This is a must read!! My only issue was due to the age of the story the English used was difficult to follow at times but not to the extent that i couldnt enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Worth Reading Again--and Again

    I've read The Screwtape Letters many times and never fail to profit from it. It is hugely entertaining, can be read in short doses, and no matter how many times one reads it, one has a shock of recognition. "That's me Lewis is talking about!" It is a psychological masterpiece. I also recommend John Cleese's superb reading on CD, and (if you're in or around New York City in the month of May) the Off-Broadway show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2005

    New outlook on Christianity

    I thought that this book had great theology and allowed the reader, if they were open to it, to see many things about Christianity. I would recommend this book to any christian or borderline christian that I know, young or old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    From the Approach of the DEVIL

    Very unique in the writing. Makes you wish Lewis was still alive to write more. But isn't that the way it is with authors of his magnitude?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Great Book

    This book is a great way to show how demons would think. it shows ways that demons would try to munpilate us and how we should prepare. i suggest this to book to readers that would be able to understand and comprehend well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    Timeless Classic

    I read and re-read this book time and time again! Years ago a priest gave me a copy of it and that began a lifelong love of this work. The very complex issues of good and evil are touched so elequently here that I think everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Funny

    Lewis was a strange man. I say 'strange' in the sense that he was so insightful. How he did it, I'll never know. The Screwtape Letters is wonderfully insightful and such an important work. The humorous style takes the wind out of the Devil's sails. If you fear Satan, you won't after reading this book. You will only know his cunning and his cheap trickery. You can learn a lot from a demon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    A back-stage pass to the tactics of evil.

    Written as helpful letters from a demon to his nephew, The Screwtape Letters gives a hell's-eye-view of how satan captures souls. Do not be leary of the subject of this book. Within it's pages you will find some of the most helpful insights you can find on how to overcome temptation. One of the best books I have read on the personal struggle to overcome evil. I very highly recommend this book. A MUST READ for any Lewis fan or Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    A Must Have

    Entertaining and profoundly helpful, The Screwtape Letters is the best of practical Christianity. John Cleese has the perfect voice for a senior tempter sending advice to an inexperienced subordinate. If you want to be preached at, some other book would probably be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7