Customer Reviews for

The Sculptor

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT BOOK!!!!!

This book really has it all!!!! It is intelligent, thrilling, terrifying, and even funny at times! Funaro does an excellent job with his characters, allowing you to get to know them and become invested in their lives. This is such an original plot - I don't want to give...
This book really has it all!!!! It is intelligent, thrilling, terrifying, and even funny at times! Funaro does an excellent job with his characters, allowing you to get to know them and become invested in their lives. This is such an original plot - I don't want to give anything away - and it really makes you think! It hooks you on the first page and doesn't let up, taking you on twists and turns. I'm unashamed to say it even gave me nightmares!!!!! Funaro is excellent, as is The Sculptor - BUY THIS BOOK!!! I can't wait for his next one!!!!!!!

posted by BroadwayStar220 on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting plot but poor execution.

Very difficult to wade through the repetitious, long winded descriptions of why things were as the were and what everybody was thinking.

posted by old_rattler on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    A GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    This book really has it all!!!! It is intelligent, thrilling, terrifying, and even funny at times! Funaro does an excellent job with his characters, allowing you to get to know them and become invested in their lives. This is such an original plot - I don't want to give anything away - and it really makes you think! It hooks you on the first page and doesn't let up, taking you on twists and turns. I'm unashamed to say it even gave me nightmares!!!!! Funaro is excellent, as is The Sculptor - BUY THIS BOOK!!! I can't wait for his next one!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    A hunt for a deranged killer begins when a replica of Michelangelo's Bacchus, formed from human corpses, is discovered in a topiary garden. FBI Special Agent Sam Markham contacts art historian Cathy Hildebrant for two reasons: she published a book on Michelangelo's work and the killer dedicated the sculpture to her. Hildebrant is brought into the investigation as a consultant, working closely with Markham. Both grieving the loss of their spouses - Hildebrant through divorce and Markham through death - are somewhat surprised at their attraction to one another. The media quickly learns of the macabre sculpture and dubs the killer The Michelangelo Killer. When another statue is discovered, this one a replica of the Pieta, the killer leaves a message calling himself The Sculptor. Through extensive research, Markham and Hildebrant begin uncovering clues as to The Sculptor's identity. The killer, now seeing Hildebrant's aid to the FBI as betrayal, begins to plan his next sculpture, one utilizing Hildebrant's body.

    Funaro delivers a galvanizing thriller, packed with suspense around a mystery readers will enjoy trying to solve. Woven into the story are intriguing historical facts about Michelangelo and his works of art which enrich the read. Characterization is exceptional and the plot moves at a fast pace and with such intensity the reader will be vested throughout the book. An excellent debut thriller.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Sculptor- Gregory Funaro

    This is really a brilliant novel; I honestly could not put it down! Sculptor is more intellectually written than most in its gendre. It is an exciting and complex combination of horror and history, psychology and philosophy. Funaro has crafted a thinking man's thriller as only Rollins, Brown, and a handful of other authors can.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Evil and Romance

    This book is about a weird type of evil. It isn't gory with lots of blood and guts but it does describe a type of evil that is unique. The descriptions are so vivid that you can picture exactly what the author is writing about.

    The book isn't all about this evil. There is a wonderful romance story as well. An art history professor who writes a book about the sculptor Michelangelo and an FBI agent are thrown together when a statue of Bacchus is found. That in itself isn't a bad thing but it is when the police discover exactly what the statue is made of. The police now have a serial killer on their hands.

    Cathy, the professor, and Sam, the FBI agent, hope to be able to figure out exactly who this killer is before he can continue his evil ways. Yet, another statue, the Pieta, is found and this one is even more evil. How can Italian art be evil? Grab a copy and see for yourself. I hope Mr. Funaro continues to write about his two main characters - Cathy and Sam - in future books. They are intelligent and realistic characters and would lend themselves to a very good series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Amazing, better than I expected!

    I'm not going to get into the plot because others have done so, but I found this novel to be thrilling and full of surprises, while at the same time I thought all the information about Michelangelo really added to the story. I loved how the FBI agent and the professor interracted and pieced together the puzzle. Overall, it was very creepy, especially when the story switched to the sculptor's perspective. If you want a run of the mill thriller that doesn't make you think, then don't read this book. If you like detail and you'd like something different with one of the most interesting serial killers to come along in a long time, then read this book. Everything, the story, characters, writing, and the way the author gradualy reveals things was very well done. Also, I read some of the negative reviews here. Did these people read the same book that I read?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    Great book

    I very much enjoyed this book. I do agree that some of the descriptions about what people were and are thinking a little long winded, but it doesn't take away from the overall read. Very well written, great story line and interesting characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    This book is really good. If you liked Silence of the Lambs, this book is for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SHAKE OFF YOUR SLUMBER, O SON OF JUPITER

    I was at Barnes and Noble (at the time I was halfway through with The Sculptor), and found myself wandering over toward the Customer Service desk to ask one question: "Do you have any books on Michelangelo?" It wasn't until later that evening--while finishing up Funaro's novel--that I realized what I had done. Exactly what the author wanted me to do: learn one or two things about REAL artists instead of watching a special on Britney Spears on the E! network! 

    Funaro asks the question: What is the standard in which we measure the art of mankind? Not very high. Not any more. We are capable of so much more. This is the philosophy The Sculptor himself lives by. And killing the E! network's celebrities is the only way to get his point across.

    Now as far as the entertainment factor? This book has, several times, been compared to Thomas Harris' The Silence of the Lambs and Red Dragon. I'd like to also make this comparison, but in a very good way (I loved both of those books!) It has a solid, well paced mixture of thrill and information about Michelangelo. (Also, you can rest assured that all the information regarding the artist is TRUE, unlike Dan Brown's books which tend to go in and out of the truth so intricately that you learn and believe a tremendous amount of untruths!)

    Anyway, I know Funaro is a new comer in the writing field, but I HIGHLY recommend this book! A friend of mine works for the publishing house (Pinnacle)that published this novel. He got me an advanced copy and said ''you HAVE to read this!'' Now I say the same to you. I promise you'll have a blast, and you'll only have to take my word for it until you read the very first page of the prologue.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Best Book Ever!

    This book was an excellent read and I was unable to put it down but then was sorry when it ended.... Can't wait for his next book.

    I wish the book was in hard cover as it makes a great gift.

    Kudos to Gregory Funaro... his research and knowledge of Michaelangelo is spot on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT

    this is one of them hard to put down books .... that's just what I trouble doin .... putting this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awrsome

    I love funaros books! Keep them coming please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    If you liked Silence of the Lambs,you will love this

    Excellent thriller set all over Rhode Island.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    Easy reading

    I haven't read a novel in years. This is easy to read and understand. I like the fact that I can picture the "real-world" elements used in the book. A great read. I will definitely buy Gregory Funaro's works again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great thriller

    Dr. Cathy Hildebrant is a shy retiring art history professor at Brown University and the author of Slumbering in the Stone, the bestselling definitive work on Michelangelo. Like everyone else residing in Providence, Rhode Island, the art historian is aware of the disappearance of football hero Tommy Campbell just prior to the Superbowl, but like almost everyone else Cathy has no reason to think the NFL player's vanishing has anything to do with her.

    However, she learns differently when FBI Special Agent Sam Markham arrives at her door to ask her to accompany him to a crime scene. At the estate of a broker, she is shown the corpse of Tommy posed with a young faun arranged to look like Michelangelo's Bacchus with a plaque dedicating the horrific arrangement "For Dr. Hildebrant". The Sculptor hero worships Michelangelo placing the great artist on a pedestal as he plans on using human corpses to replicate the Pieta at an exhibit. The FBI hires Dr. Hildebrandt as a consultant due to her knowledge of Michelangelo and the serial killer's high regard of her. However the psychopath changes his opinion of her when he believes she betrayed him so he plans on her being the piece de resistance of his next great work of deadly art.

    There are more discussions between characters than usual in a serial killer thriller so the audience understands what motivates each key player even the title character. Yet there is plenty of action centered on the gruesome exhibits of The Sculptor and the Feds efforts to end his methodical reign of terror. Although over the top of the Sistine Chapel, the audience will enjoy this creative roller coaster ride as Dr. Hildebrant learns horridly first hand art imitates art. Gregory Funaro displays a strong talent and if justice prevails his exciting novel will sell a hell of a lot more than his heroine's book.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3