Customer Reviews for

Scumble

Average Rating 4.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Riveting

After reading Savvy by Ingrid Law, I knew that sooner or later I'd get around to reading its sequel, Scumble. This book really surprised me in an awe-inspiring way. It is the story of thirteen year old Ledge, who spends one unforgettable summer at his relative's ranch i...
After reading Savvy by Ingrid Law, I knew that sooner or later I'd get around to reading its sequel, Scumble. This book really surprised me in an awe-inspiring way. It is the story of thirteen year old Ledge, who spends one unforgettable summer at his relative's ranch in Wyoming. I REALLY liked this book, because every teenager feels like Ledge did in the book every once in a while. The author made me really connect with the characters, which I loved. Scumble is the PERFECT companion to Savvy, and I would definitely give it a five-star rating!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

at first

it was ok at first

posted by 5774921 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Riveting

    After reading Savvy by Ingrid Law, I knew that sooner or later I'd get around to reading its sequel, Scumble. This book really surprised me in an awe-inspiring way. It is the story of thirteen year old Ledge, who spends one unforgettable summer at his relative's ranch in Wyoming. I REALLY liked this book, because every teenager feels like Ledge did in the book every once in a while. The author made me really connect with the characters, which I loved. Scumble is the PERFECT companion to Savvy, and I would definitely give it a five-star rating!!!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Best book ever!

    Usually, the first book is the best. Right? Not with scumble. I didnt get this book at first, thinking it wouldnt be as good as savvy, but i was wrong. Scumble is as good as savvy, if not better. If you have doubts in your head about this book, dont. Trust me, you will love it.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Awesome

    Dont licten to the others.this is way beter than Savvy.a must read.goog for all ages

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for TeensReadToo

    Gold Star Award Winner! Ledger Kale has been waiting all of his life to find out what his Savvy is. In Ledger's family, on your 13th birthday, you have a power magically appear. Sometimes they're useful, other times they're more of a problem than their worth. On Ledger's birthday, he discovers that his Savvy is destroying everything. In an attempt to help Ledger master his new powers, his parent take him with them to the family ranch for a wedding. They then plan to leave him there for the summer. On the way there, however, he attracts the attention of the extremely stubborn and nosy Sara Jane, who knows there is something about his family worth writing a story about. Will Ledger ever find a way to control his powers? And more importantly, will he find a way to stop Sara Jane from exposing his family? SCUMBLE is a funny, entertaining fantasy adventure, especially for reluctant readers. The characters are likable and well-developed. The shortness of the chapters and the extremely well-done plot do a great job of holding the reader's interest. Those who like fantasy, adventure, superheroes, or has ever wished they had a superpower, will all enjoy reading this book and its prequel, SAVVY.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Savvy Scumble

    Same series so they are eqy good
    I put four stars cuz savvy is the first and it will always be the better one no matter what people say about it. You must read both!!!!!! No listening to any other review unless its a positive review!!! K? Good. Now go read those books!
    :-)

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    I highly reccomend this book. I really enjoyed it. But i would reccomend reading the first book in the pair "savvy" before reading scumble.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Cool

    This book really surprised me because it every one was grown up! But it was still really really good!. This book teaches you to accept yourself. Because you are wat u are

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Bloody Brilliant

    Love the book! First Savvy and now Scumble!!! It's has all the characters from Savvy or at least the people who knew the secret and a lot of new characters too. Hope you enjoyed it cause i did. Toodles Celery

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!

    Its TOTALLY worthnthe money! its the BEST BOOK EVER! Savvy was AMAZING too!!!! <3

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    ?.......

    Is mibs and will,fish samson and them im it?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Dud Scumble is a MUST BUY FOR EVERYONE. PLEASE READ THIS AMAZING BOOK AND TELL THE WHOLE WORLD

    Read this please. It is a book that I couldnt put down. Ledge is Mibs' cousin and is turning thirteen. That means he will get a savvy just like Mibs did. He hopes that his savvy is that he can run at the speed of light. But he figures out that he can break things instead of running. He meets this girl named Sara Jane. He is her friend. The weird thing is that Sara Jane took Ledge's Grandma's jar of music. Sara Jane told Ledge that her father was recycling the jar. They break into Sara Jane's fathers office and Ledge broke the safe in his office open and found a lot of cash and his grandma's jar. His parents let Ledge stay at his Grandpa's ranch, around where Sara Jane lives. After they found the jar, they found a book of when Sara jane was little. They also found when Sara Jane's parents were married. The weird thing is that in every other picture, there are different trees that grow and they were married and Ledge's grandpa's ranch. Then after they look at the book, the police came in. Ledge and Sara Jane were in deep trouble because later on, they found out that the office had security cameras. They were taken to the police station and when Ledge's uncle came in, he was very mad. After his uncle took him home, Sara Jane was locked in her room. After Ledge came home, he ran to Sara Jane's house and went in and unlocked Sara Jane's room door. Both Ledge and Sara Jane and Ledge were trying to lure the housekeeper out of the house and they did get her out. Sara Jane had told Ledge that her dad was going to tear down the house. They made it to the ranch and broke all the construction work down thanks to Ledge. That is most of the story so that you can think about if you want to read this book or not. Peace out :)!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Love it

    Omg i read Scumble for battle of the books its amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Ingrid Law

    After reading Savvy by Ingrid Law, I was pleading on the internet that someone help me find the second book. Now I have read it and I have to say that it is well worth your time.
    Scumble is full of twists and turns that will make the reader want to keep reading. The conclusion is not expected.
    A great read!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Hey

    This book was one of the most amazing things I have ever read! I can't belive I didn't read it sooner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I read both and just... wow.

    First I read Savvy. Loved it! Then I read Scumble. I fell asleep on the first page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Fav

    Best book of all time. A Total must read. Cannot wait fo Gypsy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Best book

    This is a good book and very good it is kinda slow at first but gets better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Ok

    I like savvy better

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Scumble

    Scumble is about a boy, just trying to fit in with his crazy family! This booj will make you laugh, cry and every thing in between!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Will reread this book when ever I am feeling down. Has an uplift

    Will reread this book when ever I am feeling down. Has an uplifting story for all ages. Really want to know what Gypsy's savvy will be though. As well as Fedora's might be as well considering she changes with every teacher she gets, maybe she can remember everything she learns or reads that would be cool. Not much of a story though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12