Customer Reviews for

Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful concept, sweet romance

When Sienna goes to Indonesia as part of her father's relief team (helping tsunami orphans suffering from PTSD), she doesn't know what to expect. She's resistant to going, but there's not much to keep her at home: her mother died three years ago in a plane crash over th...
When Sienna goes to Indonesia as part of her father's relief team (helping tsunami orphans suffering from PTSD), she doesn't know what to expect. She's resistant to going, but there's not much to keep her at home: her mother died three years ago in a plane crash over the ocean, and since then Sienna's stopped surfing, flying, or doing much of anything. The one bright spot in her life is the hint of tension with her guy friend Spider, a surfer who still calls her by her old nickname "Sea" (painful irony there, as she's now afraid of the ocean). But once she gets to Indonesia she meets Deni, a 17-year-old orphan who takes care of the other children from his region and has problems with the orphanage leader's authority. The two of them grow closer together as they help each other emotionally overcome their past losses.


With this wonderfully unique premise, Sea engages with the trauma of a fairly recent world tragedy and spins a compelling YA romance from it. The Indonesian culture is portrayed in respectful detail, the love story rings true, short chapters keep the pace clicking along nicely, Sienna is a sweetheart and Deni...well, it's easy to see why Sienna falls for him.


An observation: though there's plenty of peril in the story (psychological, physical, sanitary), the scariest moment in novel for me was when Sienna rides off into town with Deni on his motorcycle. I was thinking, Girl, you are so lucky you're in a YA romance, because under any other circumstances, driving off with a cute boy you recently met in a country where you don't speak the language, without anyone knowing who you're with, where you're going, or when you're coming back is a baaaad idea. The trip with Deni was fantastic and really advanced the story and the emotional arcs, but my big sister alarms were going crazy anyway.


Lastly, when reading Sea, you can look forward to a fantastic and very unexpected ending. Usually, when a book takes an unexpected turn toward the end, I'm upset by the imbalance, and ready throw the book against the wall, but in Sea, the change is totally satisfying. I highly recommend it.

posted by Tiger_Holland on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hi

A golden she cat with white paws walks into sea clan I herd u need a medicin cat and i may be ur cat my name is goldenwind and i have saved many and never had a cat die

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful concept, sweet romance

    When Sienna goes to Indonesia as part of her father's relief team (helping tsunami orphans suffering from PTSD), she doesn't know what to expect. She's resistant to going, but there's not much to keep her at home: her mother died three years ago in a plane crash over the ocean, and since then Sienna's stopped surfing, flying, or doing much of anything. The one bright spot in her life is the hint of tension with her guy friend Spider, a surfer who still calls her by her old nickname "Sea" (painful irony there, as she's now afraid of the ocean). But once she gets to Indonesia she meets Deni, a 17-year-old orphan who takes care of the other children from his region and has problems with the orphanage leader's authority. The two of them grow closer together as they help each other emotionally overcome their past losses.


    With this wonderfully unique premise, Sea engages with the trauma of a fairly recent world tragedy and spins a compelling YA romance from it. The Indonesian culture is portrayed in respectful detail, the love story rings true, short chapters keep the pace clicking along nicely, Sienna is a sweetheart and Deni...well, it's easy to see why Sienna falls for him.


    An observation: though there's plenty of peril in the story (psychological, physical, sanitary), the scariest moment in novel for me was when Sienna rides off into town with Deni on his motorcycle. I was thinking, Girl, you are so lucky you're in a YA romance, because under any other circumstances, driving off with a cute boy you recently met in a country where you don't speak the language, without anyone knowing who you're with, where you're going, or when you're coming back is a baaaad idea. The trip with Deni was fantastic and really advanced the story and the emotional arcs, but my big sister alarms were going crazy anyway.


    Lastly, when reading Sea, you can look forward to a fantastic and very unexpected ending. Usually, when a book takes an unexpected turn toward the end, I'm upset by the imbalance, and ready throw the book against the wall, but in Sea, the change is totally satisfying. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sea is a Beautiful Story about Love and Loss

    I wasted no time reading the book from the moment I got it. This book is a tragically real story, one that makes you reconsider the life you have and the things you take for granted yet also yearn for the love that builds this novel.

    Sea starts with main character Sienna Jones receiving a plane ticket to Indonesia on her fifteenth birthday. Still affected from her mother's death years ago, Sienna remains closed off and hostile, refusing to go on the plane, mainly for her fear of them. After talking with her father, Sienna eventually agrees to go on the trip, which is turns out to be the best thing that could have ever happened to her. Not only does Sienna find love, she finds herself.

    Sienna is probably one of them most developed characters I have read in a long time, by the end of the novel she is practically a different person. She matures so much, and learns to accept the past and embrace the future. The writing was well suited for the novel, and I loved how Heidi ended Sea. There were many themes and symbols in Sea, ones that only made the novel stronger.

    Overall, Sea was a refreshing debut with a painstakingly real message and a close look on what it means to love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Breath-taking debut

    Heidi R Kling has written a breath-taking debut with Sea! Readers are plunged head first into a heartbreaking story of loss, hope, and new experiences. Sea is a book that speaks to everyone, but everyone can take something a little different away.

    Sea is a touching story that helps a person connect with themselves. It is a book to make you think, and think deep. You look at the situation these characters are in, and it makes you look at the world around you in an entirely different way.

    The characters were wonderfully written. I fell in love with Elli - I wanted to pull her off the page and just give her a hug. She was a little ball of sunshine even after all the horrors she had been through. Sienna was a wonderful main character. She was compassionate, and had drive - she had experienced horrors in her past and wanted to help others work through their horrors. She fit no cliches and was her own person. One of my favorite things about Sea was there were so many characters you may have only heard from once or twice, and they stuck with you throughout the entire book. And with all the characters, it almost seemed like you could hear their voices in your head.

    When I first read this description of Sea and heard there was this relationship between Deni and Sienna I was excited. As I read, I found out Sienna would be in India only 2 weeks, and for a moment I remember thinking, "Oh no! Will that connection be real? I mean, can something that awesome believably build in that short of a time?" I was worried for a minute that that connection they had would fall flat, and not live up to my expectations, but Heidi R Kling left no room for doubts or anything with the strong connection Sea and Deni had. It was so intense and beautiful, you were simply drawn to it. Their relationship was so involved, and blew you away.

    As you read, you get this feel of Indonesian culture. You saw the characters' struggles, and that presence of culture just intensified the reality of them. I also loved the setting - it was unique. I had never read a story in this setting, and everything was new. That made Sea a hundred times better, as you didn't just feel like you were along side the main character discovering this new world to them. In Sea you literally were along side Sienna discovering Indonesia and its culture.

    When you are reading Sea, you would by no means guess that it is a debut novel. The story leaps off the page and speaks to you. It's a journey of the heart and emotions. Once I started reading, I had troubles putting it down. Sea is a book for all types of people, it is one you don't want to miss

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    SEA is a Must Read

    I just finished this book. I am blown away. Heidi Kling wrote one of my favorite novels. Sea was thrilling, sweet, adventurous, while still having that feel where everything seems like it's going to be ok. I fell in love with these characters, they were written wonderfully.
    Some people think that the author chooses the book and some people think that the book chooses the author, in this case, Sea definitely chose Heidi. While reading it, I couldn't help but think that this book was mad...more I just finished this book. I am blown away. Heidi Kling wrote one of my favorite novels. Sea was thrilling, sweet, adventurous, while still having that feel where everything seems like it's going to be ok. I fell in love with these characters, they were written wonderfully.
    Some people think that the author chooses the book and some people think that the book chooses the author, in this case, Sea definitely chose Heidi. While reading it, I couldn't help but think that this book was made for her to write. The love story in this book is unbelievable, it is short, yes. But you get so involved in it. Every page left me hanging, thinking to myself "What will happen next !?"
    Every few pages I would talk to the book. No, I'm not crazy. but that shows just how much you will get pulled in when reading. I know this review involves a lot of fangirling. But, I am being completely honest. Sea will take you through an amazing, heartfelt story. You will laugh, you may cry, but one thing I am almost positive. you will love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Yo

    F bbbgf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Tito Mynt

    Drops a rabbit in front of them when they areb't looking and sneaks back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Two eyed

    Watch them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Poppy

    Frankenstein res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Blossom

    Poppy i cant find it. She yawned

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Lavender

    Delete our location post!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Roxy

    Wat was i saying it was to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Jake

    Yes it was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Mosskit

    Wails

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Lilacgrace

    Pads out...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Flameclaw

    Res three is a magazen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Waveripple

    The she cat pads in. May i join?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Enderfur

    Yea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    To Carson

    Scart is in res two. --The messengers at mailbox.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5