Customer Reviews for

Sea Change (Jesse Stone Series #5)

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

excellent book

Kept me wondering until the last couple of pages

posted by molly1934 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

SOme disconnects

I have come lately to Robert B Parker, and have read none of the Spencer novels, and just the first 5 Jesse Stone ones. What I have found is that the plots are often implausible and far fetched, but the characters and dialogue are first rate. So, I'll keep coming.

I...
I have come lately to Robert B Parker, and have read none of the Spencer novels, and just the first 5 Jesse Stone ones. What I have found is that the plots are often implausible and far fetched, but the characters and dialogue are first rate. So, I'll keep coming.

In this one, however, the author seems to have forgotten what he wrote earlier. Jesse is "convinced" he knows whodoneit, only to find out he was wrong. Yet, he never comments on his previous "certainty" and what that means.

Worse, one character in the book tells Jesse that the dead person flew on his plane to Paradise. Another character tells him she took a boat up. Mr Parker never clears up which really happened, and why one of them was lying. That nags at me!

posted by silencedogoodreturns on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    excellent book

    Kept me wondering until the last couple of pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Classic Jesse Stone

    Parker keeps you wondering what the next step will be when the Chief turns over the next Stone (no pun intended)! The relationship with his ex-wife is further explored and raises all kinds of questions about where they will ultimately end up. Great book to settle down with a cup of java!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    A Lazy Day Beach Read

    Parker's Jesse Stone series are highly repetitive, and if you've read one, you've read them all. The plots are similar - a crime is committed, or about to be committed, the characters are developed to some extent, and then the grand finale takes place, leaving some loose ends. The only place where the dialog strikes me as true is when some officious character is talking with Jesse Stone himself. Stone is always laconic and goes out of his way to commit career suicide. It feels to me as if Parker wrote this series with Tom Selleck's acting in mind. Hurried to the point of feeling mass-produced. Tolerable with a Corona on the beach IF the reader can't find a road atlas or an instruction manual for a DVD player.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    SOme disconnects

    I have come lately to Robert B Parker, and have read none of the Spencer novels, and just the first 5 Jesse Stone ones. What I have found is that the plots are often implausible and far fetched, but the characters and dialogue are first rate. So, I'll keep coming.

    In this one, however, the author seems to have forgotten what he wrote earlier. Jesse is "convinced" he knows whodoneit, only to find out he was wrong. Yet, he never comments on his previous "certainty" and what that means.

    Worse, one character in the book tells Jesse that the dead person flew on his plane to Paradise. Another character tells him she took a boat up. Mr Parker never clears up which really happened, and why one of them was lying. That nags at me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    In need of a "script" change...

    Robert B. Parker's SEA CHANGE was a typical, fast paced Parker novel, part of the Jesse Stone series. Unfortunately, I once again felt as though the author spit out the story too quickly, and the attention to detail was given more to the exploitation of women instead of some good old fashioned, fun detective-work. There is an element of incest in the storyline as well, which is always disturbing. The one thing I do commend Parker for is the portrayal of Kelly Cruz, a detective working the case out of Florida. In fact, I think that Ms. Cruz voices the concerns I and other readers have for this delicate topic.

    J.R. Reardon
    author, CONFIDENTIAL COMMUNICATIONS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Nice hook

    Jesse Stone is a character that grows on you. By this book , you feel like you are a member of Paradise PD and that makes this case all the more puzzling. Tight, the dialogue is spare as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    Not the best Jesse Stone in the series. I did like the two loca

    Not the best Jesse Stone in the series. I did like the two locations but there was and overall sleaze about the story. It is actually pretty hard to enjoy a book that goes this far into a perverted charters mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Most Entertaining

    If you haven't read any of Robert Parker's "Jesse Stone" series, you're missing out on great series. Jesse is wonderfully portraited; his strengths, weaknesses, and a slueth of few words. Parker will have you hooked by the first paragraph in "Sea Change!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    A favorite author disappoints

    Only finished because Parker authored. Found it simple & way too sleazy. Jesse Stone reminded me of Spenser in this one. The character didn't quite fit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Underwhelming

    I hate to say it but the dialogue in this book gave me the impression that Jesse Stone is starting to morph into Spencer. The speech patterns are starting to duplicate each other and Jesse has lost his hard edge in favor of the smart alec retorts that Spencer has made famous.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    Trashy and

    he could really use a good proofreader. My copy contained at least five grammatical errors. I was always a big Parker fan but this is not a quality-Parker book at all. Too much porn, too many foul words, and not enough substance. Very disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    A ROBERT PARKER FAN SAYS.....

    I have read ALL the Spenser novels over the years and have always thought of RBP as one of my favorite writers. I love the Jesse and Sunny characters too. However this novel was a little disappointing because of the sleaze content -- too graphic if you will. He doesn't NEED to do all that for a hit book. Will give his next one a try and THEN decide if I will keep reading his novels. SO sad to see an absolutely great writer that thinks he has to put in the trash to make a hit. Robert -- if you are reading these reviews -- please listen to your fans.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    Audio Very Disappointing

    I have always been a Robert B. Parker fan, I think the narration is the worst I have ever listened too. There is a he said at the end of every sentence, even if it is a question. I will look at the paperback and see if it was written this way or just read this way. If it is the writing I will not buy another Parker book if it is the narration only I won't listen to another book read by Scott Sowers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    The audio book version is a punishment

    After paying top dollar for the CD, I could not make it through disc 1 the narration is so wooden, the dialogue so boring, that I will just give the Audio book away . I have never read Robert Parker before and I will never purchase any of his writings again .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Another Parker hit

    A reader can always count on Parker to provide a great ride: a little anxiety at liftoff, a safe takeoff, and a smooth, interesting ride full of a motley crew of characters, then a safe arrival with all the untidy bits resolved. The only thing missing was Tom Sellect as Jesse Stone, but I expect that will come. Finally, I always enjoy Parker's rotating repertory company of regulars, from Rita Fiore to Spenser.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Badly Written, Badly Conceived

    Couldn't believe this was by Robert Parker. Story [what story??] relies on porno, incest, no character development, jumpy plot and a tale that is not interesting. Sub-plot isn't interesting either. Shame on him for writing junk and shame on publishers for promoting it -- readers expect more from Parker. Don't waste your time or money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    More than a disappointment

    I have read and enjoyed almost all of Parker's books and looked forward to Sea Change. I was astounded by how terrible this book is.It is liberally laced with sex,leering and alcohol but no interesting plot.The characters seemed to have been inserted willy- nilly- the most unbelievable bunch of stupid people I have ever encountered in a book- that includes Jesse Stone and the good guys.Shame on Parker for writing this and shame on the publishers for conning the public. I want my money back!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    A fast read, not bad

    Parker keeps you interested, touchy subject, but for sure somethign to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Not what I expected

    This book is what I call a surface read...not enough character development and there was very little conviction in the words spoken by the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2006

    Has Parker lost it???

    Have read every book Parker has written and this is a complete departure from his normal fast paced style. Attempting to rely on sex and explicit language as it¿s only virtue, just doesn¿t get it. If Jesse is this weak, let¿s get back to Spenser and Hawk. This is an embarrasment to Parker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3