Customer Reviews for

Sea Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

Opal has some multiple personality disorder or something in this one. While not a bad thing, it was kind of odd. But, I guess it might be understanding considering what she goes through in this book.

At the beginning she's the character we've seen all along. She's...
Opal has some multiple personality disorder or something in this one. While not a bad thing, it was kind of odd. But, I guess it might be understanding considering what she goes through in this book.

At the beginning she's the character we've seen all along. She's a bit of a pushover, but you can tell she fighting it quite a bit. Instead of going straight to the keep when demanded of her, she still searches for Ulrick. I was disappointed how quick she gave up though. I also greatly disliked how the First Magician's and the council treated her. But, I was expecting it (they did the same thing to Yelena in The Study series). But, I was surprised at how nobody believed her. It's no wonder she switched and became a little bit sarcastic and hardened. She was learning that she couldn't trust anyone but herself.

I liked Devlin a lot during this book. It's refreshing to have a truly reformed bad guy. Although, I was just like Opal and wasn't sure if he was feeding her full of lies. Ulrick, I would have gladly punched him in the face for Opal. Overall, I was happy to see that the truth comes out and Opal learns that she truly has people who love and care about her. And her magical abilities are astounding. I don't think we've learned the true scope of what she can do. I'm looking forward to reading Spy Glass!

posted by pagese on December 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

Just finished reading this book and like the first in my opinion it starts off slow and dosent really gain my attention. By the second half I start enjoying the book. The one thing i really enjoy about the series so far is that it is very unique. Im about to start readi...
Just finished reading this book and like the first in my opinion it starts off slow and dosent really gain my attention. By the second half I start enjoying the book. The one thing i really enjoy about the series so far is that it is very unique. Im about to start reading the third book hopefully it will have a great ending.

posted by klb008 on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I have loved all of this author's books, and this one was no exception. Always an engrossing story. The book was over before I knew it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read!

    I have enjoyed both series by this writer! It is a perfect form of escape. The characters have depth and are truly likable. Great book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved it but i wish there was more love between opel and kade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MARIA, MARIA, MARIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This series is officially on my favorite books ever list!!! It is one of the best books I have ever read in the history of forever!! I was so excited for it to come out and it was completely worth the wait! Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down (much to my family's dismay). Maria delivers once again with an amazing book. The plot, characters, setting, everything was perfect. I must have read this novel and its prequel at least six times (not kidding)and I am so excited for the third book!! Spy Glass is supposed to come out early this September and I would gladly skip the entire summer to get this book! ... maybe that's too far, but you get what I mean!
    HIGHLY recommended! GO MARIA!! KEEP ON WRITING THESE AMAZING BOOKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS ONE

    if you liked the study series you will LOVE these as well but you should read the study series first so you know who the story is about but it was WONDERFUL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyed

    i really loved this series. you'll want to find out what keep's happening to Opal and her adventure's and figure out who trusts her, who doesn't she trust, who to turn to.... or in the end is it all in her head. you just wanna keep reading to find out, it was hard for me to put the book down! the ending was slightly disappointing... but it definitely wasn't predictable! so i have no clue what the next book will bring, but i surely want to find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was absolutely amazing.

    Sea Glass was even better than Storm Glass. It was a great book and I couldn't put it down. It keeps you questioning things. What's going to happen next? What does that mean? I recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    Absolute page turner... Had to force myself to stop reading...Love all her books!

    Maria V. Snyder is one of the most entertaining writers I have ever come across. I read her books as fast as I get them, kind of like when I was a kid reading The Black Stallion series by Walter Farley. I will not tell you about the characters because finding out about them is part of the charm. You will read this just for the joy of living vicariously through its pages. Great Fun !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fabulous sequel

    Opal's been betrayed and tricked into thinking someone she loves is really him, when in actuality, he's used magic to switch souls. She's on a mission to change their souls, when she's ordered home by the Council. She defies the Council to track them down. Meanwhile, the Council's anxious to see Opal considering her new found power. With her defiance, they're not sure they can trust her or her new powers. When she finally returns to the keep, she's kept under constant surveillance and is ordered back to classes. The magicians she's trusted no longer want to hear her story. Instead, she's left almost alone. Now she's not sure she trusts the Council - as no one believes her and she's forced into virtually no privacy. It's a battle of wills and Opal's realizing she has some power as she's the only glass magician who make the magical glass messengers. Will she use that power to bargain with the Council now that graduation's near?

    Sea Glass is the sequel to Storm Glass. Opal's adventures will continue in a third book due out next year (I'm hoping it comes sooner as Storm Glass came out in May and this one just came out, it seems strange to have to wait so longer for the final chapter). Maria Snyder's books always make me want to do nothing but read. It's dangerous to open them if I don't have much time to read. They're THAT addicting. The stories are amazing - the magic, the characters, the romance, and the danger are all fabulously written. Plus the covers are enticing. If you haven't read her works, start with Poison Study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating quest fantasy

    The entire Sitian Council and the three Master Magicians demand apprentice glass magician Opal Cowan report to the Council Hall immediately. Her friends warn her if she goes to the Citadel as ordered she will vanish for quite a long time inside the Keep's dungeons. To ignore their summons means being declared an outlaw but for now being free; to adhere to their summons means being declared an outlaw and at best be under house arrest, but more likely dungeon duty. Her new powers to take away a magician's power frightens them more than her as they are wary of anyone powerful enough to milk dry any magician.

    Opal chooses to travel with her exasperating prisoner Devlen and her easy to goad ally Janco to the Moon Clan's land where they hope to find Devlen's body containing Ulrick's soul so that Yelena the Soulfinder can switch them back. Opal believes she loves Ulrick and will do anything to save him though she fears Devlen is right that her beloved is addicted to the blood magic, which if true would mean she lost him. As she treks across a land in which every mage wants her for her new skill, Opal also thinks about the hunk Kade the Stormdancer who seems repelled by her. However, Opal has no time to explore her desires as her quest remains steadfast.

    Although it helps to have read STORM GLASS to understand how far Opal has come and the soul switching magic, SEA GLASS is a fascinating quest fantasy. The heroine makes the novel worth following as she struggles to remain resolute while seemingly every practitioner in Ixia wants a piece of her. Fans will enjoy Opal's second gem of an adventure as she tries to rescue her beloved, but must at the same time either drain or elude a horde of mages. Maria V. Snyder affirms with the Glass series what the Study trilogy proclaimed that she is a super fantasist.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4