Customer Reviews for

The Sea Wolf

Average Rating 4
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This story begins with the protagonist Humphrey Van Weyden on a

This story begins with the protagonist Humphrey Van Weyden on a ferry steamer called the Martinez. Humphrey is a literature critic who depends on his father for income, and is weak and frail. The Martinez eventually ends up in a collision with another ship. Humphrey is ...
This story begins with the protagonist Humphrey Van Weyden on a ferry steamer called the Martinez. Humphrey is a literature critic who depends on his father for income, and is weak and frail. The Martinez eventually ends up in a collision with another ship. Humphrey is then rescued by seal-schooner called the Ghost ruled by the brutish yet intelligent Wolf Larsen and his cruel men. From here he must use his wits, gain strength, and courage to survive in his harsh new environment filled with madness.

I could practically read the philosophy of Naturalism in every line of the story. The characters acts, thoughts, and personality only added more emphasis to this philosophy. For example some characters can have a caring nature, while others can have a more empathetic one. Humphrey also constantly describes the horrible conditions of his new environment and how he learns from it, which gives another great example to this theme. With this piece of classic American Literature, London also heavily highlights the need of self-reliance. He does this with his character Humphrey. Stuck on a boat with no one to support him, there would be no one else to trust but himself. London shows through Humphrey ways that self-reliance is an advantage that individuals can use as a benefit, then as a burden.

I loved the way Jack London describes every event in perfect detail. His word choice and imagery could practically play a little movie or paint a vivid picture in my head. The pace of the book was very interesting too. It sped up right from the beginning and maintained its pace until the story was finished. Many of the characters could be likable depending on the person. I personally favored Humphrey because his ideals are similar to mines. Though Wolf Larsen is the antagonist of this story I could not hate him because of the pain of loneliness he feels. Many of the other characters I felt were average and were only used to make the story dramatic, which they succeed in doing. The main thing that disturbed me in this book though, was the precise detail of blood, gore, and crimes committed on the ship. Other than that little topic, I found this book very exciting, and adventurous.

This book was very enjoyable to read, and was hard to put down. This characteristic can be shared in London’s many genius pieces of literature such as, Call of the Wild (one of my personal favorites), White Fang, and A Daughter of the Snows. If anyone is thirsting for a good sea adventure, then the Sea Wolf is the perfect choice.

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it is okay. worth reading once. i was disappointed because i lo

it is okay. worth reading once. i was disappointed because i love most of his work. he is such a grest writer. but i was little let down by this one. great character in Wolf Larson. but no great character to match him. the hero's i ended up booing. no great chemistry ...
it is okay. worth reading once. i was disappointed because i love most of his work. he is such a grest writer. but i was little let down by this one. great character in Wolf Larson. but no great character to match him. the hero's i ended up booing. no great chemistry was there between the hero and heroine. they were very naieve i felt and you would think after all Wolf put them through they would be a little more hardened or wiser for it but no just a couple of crazy intellectual kids in love in the middle of the north pacific. they were really good even great moments in the book - but they were very few and far between. recommend? yes. more than once? no.

posted by BellGuginofan1 on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This story begins with the protagonist Humphrey Van Weyden on a

    This story begins with the protagonist Humphrey Van Weyden on a ferry steamer called the Martinez. Humphrey is a literature critic who depends on his father for income, and is weak and frail. The Martinez eventually ends up in a collision with another ship. Humphrey is then rescued by seal-schooner called the Ghost ruled by the brutish yet intelligent Wolf Larsen and his cruel men. From here he must use his wits, gain strength, and courage to survive in his harsh new environment filled with madness.

    I could practically read the philosophy of Naturalism in every line of the story. The characters acts, thoughts, and personality only added more emphasis to this philosophy. For example some characters can have a caring nature, while others can have a more empathetic one. Humphrey also constantly describes the horrible conditions of his new environment and how he learns from it, which gives another great example to this theme. With this piece of classic American Literature, London also heavily highlights the need of self-reliance. He does this with his character Humphrey. Stuck on a boat with no one to support him, there would be no one else to trust but himself. London shows through Humphrey ways that self-reliance is an advantage that individuals can use as a benefit, then as a burden.

    I loved the way Jack London describes every event in perfect detail. His word choice and imagery could practically play a little movie or paint a vivid picture in my head. The pace of the book was very interesting too. It sped up right from the beginning and maintained its pace until the story was finished. Many of the characters could be likable depending on the person. I personally favored Humphrey because his ideals are similar to mines. Though Wolf Larsen is the antagonist of this story I could not hate him because of the pain of loneliness he feels. Many of the other characters I felt were average and were only used to make the story dramatic, which they succeed in doing. The main thing that disturbed me in this book though, was the precise detail of blood, gore, and crimes committed on the ship. Other than that little topic, I found this book very exciting, and adventurous.

    This book was very enjoyable to read, and was hard to put down. This characteristic can be shared in London’s many genius pieces of literature such as, Call of the Wild (one of my personal favorites), White Fang, and A Daughter of the Snows. If anyone is thirsting for a good sea adventure, then the Sea Wolf is the perfect choice.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Really good book.

    Good book. Interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    March

    Glanced around. He climbed up a tree and sat on of the low brances. He looked at Deathbone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    Any Rand must have loved Wolf Larsen. I found myself attracted t

    Any Rand must have loved Wolf Larsen. I found myself attracted to him, but, in the end...no, Dick Cheney personified. Humphrey Van Weydon is the true hero.
    This book causes us to question our beliefs. Hopefully, if you're not too dogmatic, you'll side with Van Weyden....be an arbiter of peace and love, rather than animalistic carnivorism.
    Beautifully written...a classic that should be revisited.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Shimmer

    Is locked out. As well as Daylight.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Good book

    I realy love all of Jack Londons books, and this one is good too, but it is hard because my favorite character is the Wolf. Hummphery Van weidein was not good enough of a guy for the whole setting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    it is okay. worth reading once. i was disappointed because i lo

    it is okay. worth reading once. i was disappointed because i love most of his work. he is such a grest writer. but i was little let down by this one. great character in Wolf Larson. but no great character to match him. the hero's i ended up booing. no great chemistry was there between the hero and heroine. they were very naieve i felt and you would think after all Wolf put them through they would be a little more hardened or wiser for it but no just a couple of crazy intellectual kids in love in the middle of the north pacific. they were really good even great moments in the book - but they were very few and far between. recommend? yes. more than once? no.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Awesome Storyline!

    I have read the book several times through the years. This format being free had numerous typos- but I dealt with it. Still a great story!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    UM HELLO?

    Do you have common decency to not ignore me?It's called being polite you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Paladyn

    I SHALL SLEEP NAO. G'NIGHT SNICKERDOODLES!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    To all

    Pease tell Andy at Ethics to go to his book with Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    Terror

    He felt his spine crack and his forehead savagely torn away. He collasped into a puddle of blood, twitching feebly. "The.. Death.. Bringer..." He chocked, his trembling body going still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    To Lumi

    Bios go 'canterbury tales'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Carson

    She sniffed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Terror

    The cat lunged at Discord, gleaming dog-teeth claws unsheathed and aimed at his shoulders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Treas 2 to Platt

    We're going to prank OutCast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Dismay

    :D.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Plattiipus- Firesteel

    We care about you. I wouldn't blame you if you left, l'd just be really, really mad. :3 buddeh, please don't leave. I'd miss you so much that l could scream till my guts came out. Then you'd have a mess to clean up. ;3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Platinum- Song!!!

    This one's called Lunar Heart. Enjoy! Pwease give me feedback! No, l don't cut like the lyrics suggest. I apologize for any spelling mistakes or typos. <br>
    <p>
    They wonder why l'm in this dark cloud <br>
    They wonder why the scars on my wrist are so deep <br>
    They wonder why l never show my doubt <br>
    They wonder why l never weep <br>
    <p>
    The need, to tear, into my own flesh <br>
    The need, to feel, the blood run past my fingers of mesh <br>
    The want, to see, the scarlet beads of my empty <br>
    The need, to know, my knife has fulfilled it's duty <br>
    They say how couldl have such a black soul <br>
    I tell them, l got a lunar heart <br>
    <p>
    They wonder why l find it easy to not care at all <br>
    They puzzle over how l can live in such a black hole <br>
    They inquire over how l put up with these grey walls <br>
    They question what dark force has my soul <br>
    <p>
    The need, to tear, into my own flesh <br>
    The need, to feel, the blood run past my fingers of mesh <br>
    The want, to see, the scarlet beads of my empty <br>
    The need, to know, my knife has fulfilled it's duty <br>
    They say, how could l have such a black soul <br>
    I tell them, l got a lunar heart <br>
    <p>
    What serves as a force of my depression <br>
    It's not hate, what gave you that impression? <br>
    What makes my black spin, it's not love suppression <br>
    Call it crazy, the want to kill <br>
    Yours truly <br>
    <p>
    The need, to tear, into my own flesh <br>
    The need, to feel, the blood run past my fingers of mesh <br>
    The want, to see, the scarlet beads of my empty <br>
    The need, to know, my knife has fulfilled it's duty <br>
    They say how could l have such a black soul <br>
    I tell them, l got a twisted heart, messed up heart, bruised black and blue heart. A hard as diamond heart, steel heart, burning up on fire heart. <br>
    <p>
    What serves as a force of my depression <br>
    It's not hate, what gave you that impression? <br>
    What makes my black spin, it's not love supression <br>
    Call it crazy, the want to kill <br>
    This lunar heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2015

    Kii.ng(2)

    Aw, thanks Darkie. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14