Customer Reviews for

Sea of Crises

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Wonderfull

    I just loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Loved this book!

    Great story! Will be looking for other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Like the story line.

    Really enjoyed this book, will read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A really great read

    This is one of the few books that I have given a great rating. I bought the book because of it's premise and it was better than I ever thought it would be. I'm not sure how many books this author has written, but if he has more out there and they are as good as this one, I will read them. As I finished the book I realized that I could picture this as a great movie. A GREAT READ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Fun Read, Great Action

    Non-stop action from begining to end. Interesting premise for a story that conspiracy theorists will love. Makes a poignant point with the story line on the brothers and how families can become estranged through misunderstandings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Awesome!

    Had me hooked right away and kept my interest right to the end. Read this book, you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Awesome reading

    Would not have been the same without the young russian. Loved him much!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I found the book to be very enjoyable. I went through it in one

    I found the book to be very enjoyable. I went through it in one day. Don't read most of the reviews. They give too much of the book away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Very good book

    Full of suspense. Fast paced with great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    After reading the reviews, which were very wordy, I find that I

    After reading the reviews, which were very wordy, I find that I don't need to read the book. I now have the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    This is a real page turner. Excellent read!

    This is a real page turner. Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great page turner!

    I really liked this book, read it in two days - couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Great story!

    Can't say much without giving it away, but this had me hooked after the first couple of pages. Full of surprises!
    Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Awesome

    Great Book, A Must Read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It was once said, "In the case of good books, the point is


    It was once said, "In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you get through, but how many can get through you."


    This book blew me away. I have never read anything close to this that had me guessing as much as this book did.

    Commander Bob Cartwright was an astronaut and had been on a space mission. As the capsule was returning to earth the heat shield had failed and the three bodies inside were burnt beyond recognition.

    Years later one of Cartwright son's discovered information and called his two brothers to meet him. He found evidence that it might not be their father who was in the capsule. But if that was true, then what had happened to their dad?

    I really liked this book and the development of each character. The author really spent a lot of time in taking totaly different personalities and making them work as one unit.

    Excellent Read and worth five stars.

    Posted by Whispering Winds Book Reviews at 9:39 AM No comments:
    Rated G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I first heard about this book when I got an email from the autho

    I first heard about this book when I got an email from the author himself, Marty Steere. I was so ecstatic to be sought out by an author and requested to read and review his book. As this was my first author request, I took my time to read, re-read and re-re-read the book until I practically knew the plot line by heart. Conspiracy theories have always intrigued me, even the really crazy ones, and this one got me hook, line and sinker. The story starts with Nate Cartwright, eldest son of Bob Cartwright (fallen astronaut of the Apollo 18 mission). Nate gets a call from his little brother Peter to pick him up from the airport. Peter is a paranoid reporter (rightly so), who calls his big brother for help. He thinks he's being watched and followed and he is right. Peter tells Nate his discoveries about the Apollo 18 mission that took their father and the lives of two other astronauts. After an shocking and horrendous warning from a group called the Organization, Nate and Peter search for their other brother Matt (who has his own mysterious background). The brothers set off in search for more answers and this sets off a chain of events that lead to shoot outs, fast car chases, and an even more shocking discovery. About halfway through the book, when the brothers, plus the family of the other two astronauts, finally have enough pieces of the puzzle, there's a good chunk that tells the real story of what happened during the Apollo 18 mission. I found this portion of the book very fascinating! Marty Steere did a very good job slipping in the past in between the present. The characters were fully developed with their own complex backgrounds. The storytelling is amazing! I felt like I was there with the characters; experiencing the rush of adrenaline as bullets whizzed by and shifting the car into gear to outrun the Organization's cronies. I liked that pace of the story and the sudden turn of events that kept my interest throughout the book. I especially like the "subtle" hints of romantic possibility between Nate and Maggie, Major Dayton's daughter. The last third of the book was, in my opinion, the best cat and mouse game between the head of the Organization and a group of people who want to know the truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was lucky to receive a reviewer's copy from the author for thi

    I was lucky to receive a reviewer's copy from the author for this book. This book has both a lot of good parts and some not so good. The premise of the book is that there was an additional Apollo mission to the moon in the mid 1970's (Apollo 18). During that mission, NASA lost contact with the moon module and no further contact was made until it splashed down on Earth days later with the inside of the capule "fried" with three burnt bodies inside.

    Flashforward to the present and Nate Cartwright, son of one of the Apollo 18 astronuats gets a desperate call from his brother Peter to pick him up at the airport. Peter tells him he is being followed by bad people. When Nate meets Peter he tells him he has been investigating documentation from the Apollo 18 flight and has proof that the capsule that was recovered, was not the capsule that was sent up.

    When they get home they are beset on by some bad guys who give them a warning to stop looking into the Apollo 18 mission. Nate and Peter are not deterred and decide to locate their brother Matt for help. Matt is some sort of secret operative living in hiding who had been declared dead several years prior. Matt wants to help his brothers learn what happened to their father and they go in search of answers. Having ignored the bad guys' warnings they are now pursued by the bad guys.

    Now what was really good about the book. The author spends roughly a third of the book telling the story of what happened to the Apollo 18 crew on the moon and this part of the book is very compelling and these pages fly by really quickly for the reader. Now for the not so good. The rest of the book is kind of boring and seems to copy from a lot of other stories. Matt turns out to be a type of unstoppable Jason Bourne and he seems to get weaponry and explosives out of thin air. We have seen a lot of this before in Die Hard and Rambo movies.

    Had the book been solely been the story on the moon, I could easily have given it five stars. The rest of the book brings down my rating to three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    This book caught my interest almost immediately, which I loved.

    This book caught my interest almost immediately, which I loved.  Nate received a call from his brother, Peter, late at night asking to be picked up from the airport.  He is positive he is being followed.  Nate picks him up, asking why his normally calm and levelheaded brother would be so paranoid.  Peter, who is a writer, tells him he is finally writing the book he has always wanted to write...the one about the Apollo 18 space mission.  Their father was the commander of the mission and died during re-entry when the modules heat shield failed and the men were basically cooked to death.  In doing his research, especially with the help of a Freedom of Information Act inquiry, he obtained documents and photos never seen by the public.  In examining one photo (a particularly gruesome one of the inside of the module when it was opened to get the astronauts out) he realizes that the module number is wrong.  The one in the photo is the one that was supposed to be used in the cancelled Apollo 19 mission, not the one sent up to the moon with his dad.  Of course now he is questioning what is really going on and if the body they buried was in fact his father.  His investigating triggered an entire secret government agency to try to contain him and his information.  From the moment Nate and Peter got home to find what they THOUGHT was Nate's dog decapitated and hanging from a hook as a warning, it was constant action and intrigue.




    I honestly loved reading this book because I love a book that can not only catch your interest, but keep it all the way to the last page.  This book managed to do that in spades.   The characters were all fantastic and easy to like, even the bad guys, lol.  It is a very well written book, and the ending was FANTASTIC.  I loved learning the true fate of the men of the Apollo 18 mission in Mr. Steere's story.  It would make a great movie!  Five stars and I'd definitely read more from this talented author. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    The National Aeronautics Space and Administration lied and now s

    The National Aeronautics Space and Administration lied and now some must pay with their lives.

    ***
    The tragic loss of the crew during re-entry of the Apollo 18 mission hits home as suddenly as an unknown group tries to kill one of the astronaut’s sons. On the run from “The Organization, ” the protagonists out to preserve a race to the moon secret and their own government that wants to leave their secrets buried, Commander Bob Cartwright’s sons can’t stop their work to uncover the conspiracy or they will die. This fast-paced tale will leave the reader wondering what else has been covered up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Reviewed by Laura Carter for Readers Favorite In 1976 the last

    Reviewed by Laura Carter for Readers Favorite

    In 1976 the last of NASA’s manned lunar missions, Apollo 18, was unsuccessful in its return to earth and all three astronauts were killed during the attempt. This tragedy meant that no one ever found out what commander Bob Cartwright meant when he said “that shouldn’t be here” shortly before communications were lost. 36 years later, Bob Cartwright’s sons uncover a shocking secret - the capsule that was found and contained what was believed to be the remains of the Apollo 18 astronauts was not actually the capsule for the Apollo 18. As the brothers investigate the truth of the past events, they find themselves up against a secret government agency that will go to any lengths to keep the truth covered.

    "Sea of Crises" is an engaging, intriguing mystery that will leave you hanging on the writer's every word, as you follow the characters on their mission to uncover the truth. The action is non-stop and fast-paced and is mixed with just the right amount of mystery to make a perfect thriller. Marty Steere has written a book that will leave readers desperate for more of his brilliant writing style. The characters are well-conceived and developed and complement each other perfectly. From investigative journalist Peter to smart workaholic Nate and finally Matt, an ex-member of the very organization that is hunting them down, each character brings their own edge to the book. "Sea of Crises" is so stunning a read that you will be unable to stop reading until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2