Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5538 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3994)

4 Star

(940)

3 Star

(353)

2 Star

(88)

1 Star

(163)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

167 out of 191 people found this review helpful.

Great series of books

The whole series of Percy Jackson is great. I am 30 yr old lawyer and have read all of them. They are basically just alot of fun. The greek mythology is interesting because I dont really know much about it. The writing is mostly the same from book to book with the same ...
The whole series of Percy Jackson is great. I am 30 yr old lawyer and have read all of them. They are basically just alot of fun. The greek mythology is interesting because I dont really know much about it. The writing is mostly the same from book to book with the same types of battles and issues for Percy and his friends to endure, but it is fun enough where it doesnt get boring even after the 5th book. These will not be repeat reads for me, but they are a fun way to space out each night and explore Percy Jackson's world. Fun and enjoyable books for any age.

posted by 1756885 on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Baby Bunny

(")_(") ( ' - ' ) ( (")(")) Bunny

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5621 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 282
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Great series of books

    The whole series of Percy Jackson is great. I am 30 yr old lawyer and have read all of them. They are basically just alot of fun. The greek mythology is interesting because I dont really know much about it. The writing is mostly the same from book to book with the same types of battles and issues for Percy and his friends to endure, but it is fun enough where it doesnt get boring even after the 5th book. These will not be repeat reads for me, but they are a fun way to space out each night and explore Percy Jackson's world. Fun and enjoyable books for any age.

    167 out of 191 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Memorable characters

    I read this book to my 12 yr old daughter who has a reading disability. The characters were engaging and memorable with funny and poignant dialogues. She especially liked Tyson. She really enjoyed the story and wants to read more. She has even attempted to read some of it on her own which is difficult for her so that tells you how much she liked it. We have bought the rest of the books that have been written so far with the intent to read them all.

    126 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it

    Such a good read- it was worth my time.

    87 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    My class loved it.

    I read this book aloud to my middle school special education class. I had kids laughing out loud and begging me to keep going at the end of every chapter.

    80 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    A very good book

    I was drawn to "The Sea Of Monsters" by the way the first book "The Lighting Thief" ended. The first book was interesting, and non- stop action, which lead to the second book.
    It starts right before his last couple days at school. He thought that finally out of all of these long antagonizing years, that finally he would finish the year and not get kicked out. But he was so very wrong. It all started when he began having nightmares about his best friend Grover. His mom later said something was wrong at camp, Camp Half Blood. His friend Annabeth also said that, on her arrival from another state, then they decide to go and find out just what it is that is wrong! A mystery that needed solved.
    Personally, I enjoyed reading this book. It had magnificent details, and a great story-line. Rick Riordan, the author created a terrific set of sequel books. The first one was interesting, and this one is amazing. It has a lot of wisecracks, jokes, and a lot of unnatural powers.
    Overall this book is good for people who like to hear about myths and non-believe creatures, but if you believe in non-believe creatures this book isn't for you. You should always read books that you like, but if you are going to believe that this stuff is real than you really shouldn't read it.
    It's a good book for kids, sixth grade and up. It has details that little kids wouldn't understand. It has seventh grade vocabulary, and if you like mythical creatures, wisecracks, and the seventh grade words then this book is perfect for you.

    72 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!

    Once i picked this book up could not stop reading it. in fact took only a day to read. highly recommend

    56 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Sweet i can read this over and over again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is a must read my GRANDMA even read it!!!!!!


    If you do not read it you must be crazy

    54 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Super Action-Packed, a Fantastic Sequel

    The second book in the "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series, "The Sea of Monsters," by Rick Riordan, will definitely not disappoint readers after the first book, "The Lightning Thief." Being completely enjoyable and super action-packed, "The Sea of Monsters" is a fantastic sequel!

    54 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    Riordan does it again!

    The Sea of Monsters is a perfect sequel to the Lightening Thief. It continues the thrilling adventures of Percy Jackson and his friends. The way Riordan weaves mythology into this book (series) is uncanny and unforgettable! His writing is "spot on", as you read you'll find yourself right there in all the action-seriously-my breath was taken away!

    33 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    andre's review

    could you imagine how difficult life would be if you had dyslexia and ADHD? well percy jackson had that and had to deal with greek monsters and much more to endour when his bestfriend is kidnapped.

    The characters in this story seem very real and described very well. The main character is percy jackson who is a demigod which is half human half god like herculeas and there are alot more like him all over the world. His best friend is grover the saytr and his other friend isanabeth who is the daughter of athena.

    The quest begins when grover goes missing because he thinks he found the great god pan who has been missing for a long time. through the story grover sends clues through an empathy link he and percy have established. percy finds out he has to go into the sea of monsters which is the bermuda triangle.

    this story is in a modern day setting.the greek gods are real and they move with western civilization mount olympus is on the empire state building and the sea of monsters is the bermuda triangle. i hope u enjoy this book

    32 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Baby Bunny

    (")_(")
    ( ' - ' )
    ( (")("))
    Bunny

    25 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    The best book I've Ever Read!!

    The Sea of Monsters; Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan is a great fantasy book. I really liked this book because the characters always refer back to the first book because The Lightning Thief when they remember something that happened. Also I liked how the author used dialogue for the characters and not just say it himself. The setting of this book is mostly in New York at Camp Half-Blood which to mortals, it¿s only a strawberry field, but to half-blood¿s it¿s a camp for each of the different God¿s kids.<BR/> One of the major conflicts is that when the tree Thailia is poisoned and can¿t secure Camp Half-Blood, three kids: Percy , Annabeth and Tyson must go out on a journey to the Sea of Monsters( known to mortals as The Bermuda Triangle) and find evil master mind. During the story Percy Jackson has a dream of his friend Grover in need of help, but when Grover tells him he found the Fleece to save the camp, the camp travels out to find him. Also an old enemy Luke is so suspicious of this crime, but Percy doesn¿t know what he¿s capable of. Next, when the God of Thieves helps him, Percy wonders¿ is this good or a trick?<BR/> The author makes this interesting because he¿s not the only one talking, or narrating he uses dialogue of the characters to do the talking. This book would only be recommend for those above 10 and who like fantasy books. You will not drop this book until you¿re done.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Sequel

    After I read The Lightning Thief I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. It was even better than I had hoped. This book is epic and very absorbing. It's an extremely easy read I read it in probably around 3 and a half hours. I'd definitely pick it up sometime.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    What?????

    WHAT IS THIS EVEN ABOUT? A COMIC STIRP MAYBE OF THE SEA OF MONSTERS? Otherwise LOVE his books!

    12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is good the begininng was a little counfusing i didnt get what the author was trying to say but then after the first few pages i got it the puzzle piece came together then it started getting really really good you buy it read it love it!!!! ;)

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Tap here! Good advice

    This is a great book but can all you people stap talking about dateing and s-----e-----x
    Its really innapropriate!
    You know younger kids that are like seven or eight look at this stuff too?
    If yu have a problem with that make a note that is headlined

    TO I HAVE A PROBLEM

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Ya

    I am speech less. I love reading but i only like a fue book tittles like the tail of emily windsnap and the hunger games and the magic tree house. I just turned 11and now i can add this to favrot book searies!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Movie sucks!

    The movies messed everything up! Percy Jackson is 13 in the Sea of Monsters NOT 17! I mean there is a prophecy that this series is based on. And in movies Percy will be 21 in The Last Olympian!
    PRESS YES IF YOU AGREE THAT THE MOVIES SERIOSLY SCREWED UP!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Pegasus

    First off great book loove it. Second off blackjack in this book was a girl( mare). But in the thrird book blackjack turns into a boy. So what the heck????

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    Percy Jackson finds a half-brother and searches for the Golden Fleece

    Another gripping action-filled adventure over water has Percy Jackson, friend Annabeth, and new character Tyson the half-Cyclops searching for the golden fleece to heal Camp Half Blood's Thalia tree. Also missing is Percy's friend Grover - will they be able to find him in time? Will Percy's attitude toward Tyson change over time? Even adults will enjoy this story!

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5621 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 282