Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5634 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4077)

4 Star

(946)

3 Star

(355)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(167)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

175 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

Great series of books

The whole series of Percy Jackson is great. I am 30 yr old lawyer and have read all of them. They are basically just alot of fun. The greek mythology is interesting because I dont really know much about it. The writing is mostly the same from book to book with the same ...
The whole series of Percy Jackson is great. I am 30 yr old lawyer and have read all of them. They are basically just alot of fun. The greek mythology is interesting because I dont really know much about it. The writing is mostly the same from book to book with the same types of battles and issues for Percy and his friends to endure, but it is fun enough where it doesnt get boring even after the 5th book. These will not be repeat reads for me, but they are a fun way to space out each night and explore Percy Jackson's world. Fun and enjoyable books for any age.

posted by 1756885 on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Baby Bunny

(")_(") ( ' - ' ) ( (")(")) Bunny

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 355 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Worth the Time

    Overall, I think this book is worth the time to read. It was not as good as the first, but then when is a second book ever as good as the first. Kids are often lost in all of the Greek references but it's manageable.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    I love this one

    I have only read this one 3 times because it is kind of confusing. It moves around a lot faster than the other books, i still reccomend reading thougn

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Hudson.m

    Pretty good

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    The 3rd was Better.

    This book was alright, but I really think the 3rd, which I just finished, was better.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    A Page Turner

    I enjoyed sharing this book my son. It inspired us to find out more about the classic Greek myths. As usual, the book is better than the movie. It is appropriate for both children and adults.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    This is will to Christal

    Whats that supposed to mean?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    FYI

    The book is beter than the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Keen

    I can't beleive posiodon did it!










    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Bloooop

    RANDOMESS

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    To Katie

    I am sorry about your loss. My grandma passed on when I was five and I am still not over it. To help you, think of something happy that you love. Make it something not similar to your friend. Do not talk or think about it. I hope this helped.
    Sadly but sincerely,
    kloudy567
    PS: You can automaticlly get into my club called The Teacup Society For Books aka The TSB.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Call me West I came up with newest character below

    Tel me how my character is like do u like him or not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Two years is worth the wait but its movie wasn't released until

    Two years is worth the wait but its movie wasn't released until a year after the book's purchase, which I may not have seen the latest
    film for Percy Jackson, but I did see the Lightning Thief movie and read the Lightning Thief book at that same year (2010 obviously).
    At that same year (after reading the Sea of Monsters), I wrapped up the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and moved on to the
    Heroes of Olympus series.

    If you want to see more of my customer reviews, look in the Lightning Thief in addition to Allegiant, Batman Incorporated Volume 2,
    Yu-Gi-Oh Zexal Volume 3, Pokemon XY Pokedex Guide, Red Hood and the Outlaws Volume 1, Frozen the Junior Novelization, Amulet
    book 3 and Batman Zero Year Volume 4. Since summer is still here to stay at least until a month or two, I'd like to resume my Summer
    Reading program and see which book I would read next. Date of Review's origin: July 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Read to Malik

    Dont tell me what to do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To the demigod traitor

    Hm, your sentences are just facts and periods.
    They sound like this:

    Dadadad. Dadadadad. Dadad. Good subject, though. Just not written well. Also you gave to much info away. I know pretty much what will happen now. Keep working and if you need advice or characters, go to the land of stores reses one and two. You can post characters at res two.

    -the story reader

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Hermes girl here!!!!!!!!!!!importent messege for everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hey all you fans out there!!!!!! I decided to stop making all those books so everyone stop giving me character ideas please. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Daghter og huralez

    Hi. I really want to go on a quest because my dad is hurkelez. So plz plz pl let me go on a quest because my Dad is one of the main gods well his dad was and that makes him one and that makes me one. So I well beone of the main gods. And here is the story How I found out. I was in the car and sitting bored. Then I looked up and asked "what dows my name mean"? And my mom looked up the name Audrey. Which brings me to an very enportente part. My name is Audrey Schneider my dad was hurkelz schneder. Where was I o ya now I remember. My mom said it means nobele stracth and thats why. If you want to see me in real life I live in az e vermont dr 3039. Bye.



    Sunnsenrly,
    Audrey Schneider:)

    (You tube videos are comming soon) :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    To skylar

    Have you chatted with aiden at all tell him i need to talk to him - haley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Anyone

    How do u turn the page ive tried everything and it wont turn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    I really wanted this book to be bigger than it was. Every time s

    I really wanted this book to be bigger than it was. Every time something happened, it's happening for 3 or 4 pages before it ends. If Riordan could somehow EXPAND the books so they're much longer than they are, give time for character development and not make things seem so jumpy and forced, then I think I'd be giving this book a 5. 

    Don't get me wrong, the storyline is fantastic... I just wish it was longer and more thought out. I want the battles to be longer and I want more time to care about the characters...

    But, the book has been written, and as such, I don't expect any major changes to the series in the way of a director's cut. The action is intense and varied, with lots of new things to read about and even learn. Mythology has never been a major part of my life, but to see it played out in a possible scenario IS kind of cool. I don't love the books and yet I don't hate them, either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    ?............ngghhvgbcvvcgvggvggggghvgvggggfhvvvfgvvvvvvvvjjftdtfyftrrttttttttttttttt

    Vrfttd frbd

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 355 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18