Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Trolls (Sea of Trolls Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Horrible and Original

    Like so many other wizard stories nowadays, this book just didn't have that spark. Sorry to damper the mood but I just couldn't get into it. My advice to the author, try and come up with something new. And write from your heart, let the reader see what you see and describe. Keep writing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    the sea of trolls

    it was adventurous and once you thought 'there couldnt be anything more exiting thann this'...... there was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    The Sea of Trolls

    The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer
    Have you ever dreamed of being in a great, exciting adventure that you always thought it will never come true? An average, eleven year old Jack, son of a farmer who lives in a wonderful village comes upon an extraordinary adventure. The village was too magnificent to last forever, so it caught destruction. "-like all beautiful things, it attracted destruction," said Bard. His peaceful life ends when he becomes a bard, gets captured by savage berserkers with his troublesome sister, Lucy, and experiences many more surprising events. He even meets half trolls, dragons, queens, lunatics, and many more monstrous characters as he continue on with his adventure .He finds that the world is a whole new place a s he opens his eyes and discover new things. Will Jack and his sister's life ever become normal again? This is a fun fantasy novel that I will recommend many readers who are interested in reading about great expedition, mythical creatures, and legends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Good Book!

    This book was really good. It kept me absorbed. Me and my friend raced to see who could finish this frist. ( I won ) I read it in 3 days. I really liked the story. I am into all the magic, fantasy kind of stuff. So this book. Was really good. I liked all the troll parts. This book was very good. If you like books that have a great story, a little religion (christianity, magic, and fantasy, then this is the book for you! I also recomend the Warrior series, the Inkheart triology, and Harry Potter series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hated it.

    This book was constantly being sold at book fairs and such, and I decided to buy it...because it looked promising. <BR/><BR/>I, personally, hated it. It sounded like a fourth grader wrote it, and that's the kind of group that it should be aiming at. Unfortunatly, it is a very long book, and kids that age usually don't have that long of an attention span. <BR/><BR/>I don't recommend this book. But for those parents who have small children who want something mindless to read, then maybe it is a good book for you.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    this book was very entertaining

    the book sea of trolls was about a boy who trains to be a bard, a wizard type person and his trainer becomes brain dead and the boy is captured by berserkers, normal people then when they drink a potion they go berserk and they have no feelings, becomes a slave, and has to go to a place called mirmirs well to save the life of his younger sister, who was also captured. they, him and a sheild maiden Thorgil, meet trolls and other creatures on the way. this is a thrilling book packed with loads of adventure. my favorite part of the book was when they battled the troll bear, because in the troll world things are bigger and we are weaker, and a very important character dies. then you learn that he was no savage, he was a hero. this was a great book and i recommend it to you. KEH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    This book is so awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This Book ROCKS!!!! You need to read this book. Ok the title might be weird and 'diffrent' but this is an amazing book. Its wonderfully written and I coudn't put it down!!!! It might take a little while to get into but its really good. PLEASE READ IT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Most Favorite

    The story's so complex. Every page has you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    A bold, adventuresome book

    Jack is a farm boy who has a younger sister, Lucy, and his parents. They live in a little village where everyone knows everybody. Then Jack starts helping a Druid Bard and the bard asks him to be his apprentice. The Bard soon teaches essential things to become a *bard* including to listen very carefully to your surroundings and to know what is around you all the time. Soon Jack knows what a real nightmare is and he almost dies because the bard hit him so hard. He gets a week or so off to recuperate. When he gets back he thinks that the bard lost his mind when fighting off the nightmare, or so he thinks. So Jack is left alone to protect his village from being defeated by the Viking **berserkers**. They are found and are taken hostage to the main island where that clan of berserkers lives. He then goes on different quests in order to save his sister and himself. They face a number of different challenges which will force them into hardships. *A person who composed and recited epic or heroic poems, often while playing the harp, lyre, or the like. **An ancient Norse warrior who fought with frenzied rage in battle, possibly induced by eating hallucinogenic mushrooms. The book I thought started out as a slow pace and then picked up after the introduction of all the characters. It had good details and it always seemed to answer all of my questions that I thought of. The book never got off track and kept the same thought throughout the entire book. The thing that I didn¿t like was how they would always be able to talk to each other in an easy language that could be picked up very easily. So far this is the only book and might be the only book. This book would be best for kids age ten and up because there are hard words to learn and pronunciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Cool Book

    This is an exiting and awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Awsome read

    Sea of trolls was one of the best books I have read about this time period (13 century). The adventures that the main character encounters are really interesting and cool. The plot is a really good one with twist and turns and always ends up answering your questions. I really enjoyed the way I couldn¿t stop reading this book. The way some of the problems were resolved were very clever and fun. I felt like I was there as it happened because of the great detail that was put into this book. There were some very neat characters and stories in the book. Some were very unique, others well you¿ve just read about in every other story. I couldn¿t believe how fast I read this book. Once you pick it up you won¿t put it down. So as before the book is an awesome book and gets 113 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This Book was Great.It opened my eyes to science fiction. It was By far the best book I ever read.Don't forget the sequel it is twice as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is full of magic, action, and myth but it feals so real you can almost join the action. I think that Nancy Farmer should get even more newberry awards for this book. Who ever can tell Nancy to write more books of this series because she has a good sence of adventure. Keep going Nancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Sea of Trolls is an exciting book about a boy and his sister who get kidnapped by bersekers and they embark on an exciting adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    The Sea Of Trolls

    I think that the Sea Of Trolls is a great book! This book is fiction and it has 450 pages. If you like a long book read this one. In Jacks village there is a bard who knows how to do magic Jack becomes that bards apprentice and learns how to use magic all of a sudden the bard goes crazy and Jack does not know what to do. A Little after that Jack and his sister Lucy get captured by something called a Berserker they get taken far out into the sea and have many adventures. In the time of the story they meet many interesting creatures including some very big hideous ones. In this book there are a lot of main characters there is the head berserker Olaf. There is the bard and there is Jack and Jacks sister Lucy. They all play a big part in this story. My favorite Part of the book is when Olaf is fighting a Troll Bear because it is really exiting. I recommend this book because it is really exiting. It is exciting because in is really intense when you start reading you can¿t stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Kid's Review

    I would like to recommend the book The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer. It is 450 pages long. I would give it a four and a half star recommendation. The genre is fantasy with a twist of realistic fiction. The setting takes place in Scandinavia. This book tells the story of a boy named Jack, and his quest to become a Bard, but in the process Berserkers (Vikings who want to die in battle) raid their town and kidnap Jack and his sister Lucy. The year is A.D. 793. It is about Jack trying to keep his sister safe, and makes some new friends in the making. One of my favorite scenes is when Olaf is finished with a mighty battle against a troll bear. Olaf says ¿My fame will never die,¿ and Jack responded, ¿It never will. Would you like me to repeat the song I performed in King Ivar¿s hall?¿ Olaf simply smiled and said, ¿Oh, yes.¿ Then the sky turned a deeper blue, the wind stopped, and Jack looked back at Olaf and saw that his spirit had fled. This scene is important to me because it just shows that Berserker¿s aren¿t all ¿Oh I¿ll kill you and destroy your town¿ kind of people, they actually have emotions and will show them if they meet their ultimate goal. Of course, the ultimate goal is to go to Valhalla, also known to us as ¿Heaven,¿ and in that case means die in battle. I like the way the book is written, because it truly brings out an idea of what berserkers are like. Raid towns, kill all, and plunder dungeons. I know what it would have felt like to be Jack, to first be treated as a slave, and then to be treated as a god, (within berserker reasoning). The author brings out the true characters, revealing deepest and darkest secrets. I enjoyed this book, although it was quite easy for my reading skill. I would place this on my top ten favorite book list, without a doubt! I would recommend it to anyone who likes magic, trolls, and sharp weapons!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    I recommend this book The Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer. The genre is fantasy. It starts off in a little peaceful village near The Holy Isle. This book is about a boy named Jack who meets a bard 'a bard is a person who knows magic' who would teach him magic. Jack has a little sister named Lucy. Jack is well, you can say kind of not very brave but, clever. Lucy is curious and believes in that she is a lost princess. All because of that it almost caused Jacks and Lucy¿s life. Lucy and Jack was kidnapped by berserkers because Lucy thought that they were princes to ¿take her home¿ and shouted to the berserkers. Olaf is a Northman the leader of the queen¿s berserkers. He and his young shipmate Thorgil captured them and were very proud. In the story Jack was sent on a quest to save his sister. One of my favorite scenes was when Jack and Lucy went to the party of Olaf¿s return. The author how the people prepared and described what Queen Frith looked like when she came out. And when Thoril gave Lucy to the queen, because Lucy started telling a story about a princess. But that scene also gives me the felling that jack would do some big mistake just to get Lucy back. I chose this passage because after jack sang his poem for Frith she had a snit because she has lost her hair. Then the queen wanted Jack to cure her but Jack doesn¿t know how to cure the queen so the queen told him to go on a quest or his sister will be sacrificed. I thought that part was very well described and written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Jeremiahs book report

    Book title: Sea of trolls I would highly recommend the book Sea Of Trolls By: Nancy Farmer. The Genre of this book I think is fiction-fantasy. The setting takes place in England and Europe. This book is about an 11 year old boy named Jack and his little sister who is only 3-6years old. The Bard in the village is rumor that he can use mystic powers and destroy anything. The story takes place in the 1400s-1700s I¡¦m not sure that¡¦s my guess. 11 year old Jack and his sister are taken away from there home there family and there world. If you are interested in swords fighting, and barbarians this is the book for you. From reading the book I might know how it feels to be taken away from your family. (Well not really) but I can tell the way he feels. I love how the author with every character describes what he-she looks like so that you can get a really good picture in your mind. On what is going on and where they are. She also describes all the places so you can picture where they are and what they are doing. This book is pretty long so if you are not a experienced reader I do not recommend this book. I¡¦m looking forward to reading the sequin to this book¿º. I love this book! The author also doesn¡¦t put in to many details she puts just enough so that you¡¦re not bored to death and so it just grabs your attention like thunder. There is a girl named thorgill if you read this book you will learn more about her. She is a very good barbarian/fighter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    The Sea of Trolls

    I would like to recommend the book Sea of Trolls by Nancy Farmer to anyone who likes action, adventure, and magic. This story takes place in England and Norway. This book is about a boy and his sister who get caught by Vikings. The characters are named Jack and Lucy. Jack is a bard¿s apprentice, a person who sings and tells stories (they are also minor wizards). Lucy is a beautiful girl who is trapped in her own world of her really being a princess. The brother and sister are caught by Vikings and brought to their capital. The Viking who caught Jack found out that he was a bard and wanted to keep him. One day he had to sing to the Queen. Jack¿s crow flew down and took off the enchanted hair of the queen the rest you will just have to read. One of my favorite scenes was when Olaf One-Brow and Jack were actually having a conversation. Olaf was teaching Jack what they call battles, like a meeting of swords and armor, and ships would be a maiden of the sea. Jack had changed the subject about why the shield maiden Thorgil wanted to die so badly in battle and Olaf actually answered him, which is surprising because Jack is little different then a slave. I chose this scene because it gave me hope that Jack¿s fate wasn¿t so doomed because the berserkers actually were starting to like him and talk to him like he wasn¿t a slave. This passage told me that the berserkers aren¿t that bad. After read this book I knew how it felt to be living in the time when berserkers were raiding. In that time the risk of a being raided was very high, you would be living in constant fear. This author describes everything as if you¿re in the story. I would recommend this book to people who like adventure and magic, if you aren¿t a person who has read these books ----or don¿t like them, read this one anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Kids review

    I would like to recommend the book The Sea of Trolls by the author, Nancy Farmer. The genre is historical fantasy. This book would be better for 10 year olds to adults because it may be too graphic and or too long because it has 450 pages, of a great adventure story. The setting takes place in the North West of Europe in about A.D. 793. This story tells how a young boy named Jack must help Northmen 'Vikings' to rid them of the king¿s evil wife¿ the dreaded half troll. Also he isn¿t just going to help. He is captured with his sister Lucy by Olaf One- Brow, his crew, and his mean young shipmate Thorgil. One of my favorite characters is Thorgil. Thorgil has an attitude and would do anything to either number one become a berserk. Or number 2 die. Thorgil wants to die because Northmen believe that when you die you can eat the best foods and do anything you want all the time. They believe in an after life. Thorgil is very mean to Jake and Lucy in the beginning. Thorgil¿s father was the greatest berserk ever but. He went crazy eventually so he killed his wife and his young son not his newborn baby. The queens royal dog had just had puppies and found Thorgil in the woods. The dog suckled the baby and took care of Thorgil. The other puppies are Thorgil¿s brothers and sisters and are her only friends. Thorgil lives with Olaf his three wives Dotty, Lotti, and Heide. Also his many children and an ex-bard Rune. From reading this book I know now what it was like in 793 AD Europe trying to plan what to do if Northmen 'Vikings' attacked your village and killed everyone and everything. I like how the author describes the village before and after the Northmen destroyed it. Also how the go berserk when they do it. I think this book was very good for my reading level because I love long captivating books. If I had a list of my favorite books this book would absolutely on it. I would recommend this book to people who liked Lord Of the Rings and any historical fantasy this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7