Customer Reviews for

The Sea of Trolls (Sea of Trolls Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    check out this boook!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Book title and author: THE SEA OF TROLLS, Nancy farmer
    Title of review: THE SEA OF TROLLS
    Number of stars (1 to 5):10
    Do you like books? How about barbarians? Magic, magicians? Well the book for you is THE SEA OF TROLLS!!! This is a grate book about mythical beings, Norns, trolls (duh), barbarians, dragons and more.
    The best author of all time is Nancy Famer. She is so descriptive with detail it is crazy. You are their watching it happen if you read one of her books. The characters of the story are Jack, Olaf, Thorgil, Jacks sister Lucy, and more people. This book is fiction the best type of books because any thing can happen and the reader won¿t know it. This is a kind of fantasy, action, epic, funny, sad, type of stories all combined.This story takes place during the Black Death era you know like knights and other stuff like that. So that¿s what I meant by barbarians and magicians. Castles, kings, queens, and horses the olden days. That¿s what I like old time books and swords.
    This story takes place during the Black Death era you know like knights and other stuff like that. So that¿s what I meant by barbarians and magicians. Castles, kings, queens, and horses the olden days. That¿s what I like old time books and swords.
    This story revolves around one person, Jack he is a hard working boy who just doesn¿t want any thing special but to go to the land of silver apples and be with histories heroes and the great people. One day Jack and Lucy his sister are walking down the street when a fog comes in then they get lost hiding because they hear voices of people that they know don¿t live there
    This is a great book I think you will all like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Need-to-read

    The only way you can find the biggest amount of joy in this book like I did, is if you are interested in Norse Mythology. This book is wonderful, with some very unexpected twists. I would recommend this to anyone interested in Mythology. This is a need-to-read for everyone going into middle school, it just is that age range. Please read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Great Book!

    I personally enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It kept me interested and I really got into the story. I liked the characters and their personalities. The plot was well put together and interesting. I recamend this book to anyone interested in fantacy and adventure stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    You Will Not Want to put it Down!

    The first word that comes to mind when I think of this book is enchanting. Througout the well thought out plot lies a cast of creative characters, suspense, excitment and thrill. You will not be able to put this book down once you begin. Nancy Farmer is an excellent authour who words everything perfectly and keeps the readers attached. A good author can make a person feel any way, and that is exactly what Nancy Farmer did with 'The Sea of Trolls'. Bravo Nancy Farmer, BRavo. I look forward to more books by you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    !!!!READ THIS!!!!

    ¿Just say no to pillaging!¿ And trolls. And giant fire-breathing dragons that want to kill you. In Nancy Farmer¿s book, The Sea of Trolls, Jack is a farmer boy in a village. He has a normal life. He works on his dad¿s farm all day. One day, he is bringing food to the Bard'wizard'. The Bard invites him to lunch in the afternoon. When Jack shows up, he is proposed an apprenticeship to the Bard! Jack accepts. During his first few days at there, he has some fun experiences with the Bard. They cook food, tell stories, and the Bard nearly killed Jack while he was using magic,by mistake, of course'. Now you might think that Jack wouldn¿t like the last thing a lot, but he is thrilled by the thought that he will be able to do that level of magic one day. About a year later, half-men/half-wolf people come and steal Jack and his sister. Now he must go on an adventure to another world to get back home. When I read this book, I almost never put down until I was finished. It completely captivated me. The book was full with cliffhangers from the first page to the last page. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good fiction book or a book with a very good storyline. If you liked this book you might also like the sequel to the book, The Land of The Silver Apples. The third book, The Islands of the Blessed, is scheduled for a 2009 release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    ultimate fantasy

    I recommend this book to many people because it¿s a fantasy/medieval novel. It has trolls, people, ogres, and other fantasy creatures. There are swords, bows, and daggers. The characters are back in the day when there was no electricity or running water it¿s probably around the Roman times. It¿s a very interesting book because it creates great suspense. It¿s a long book, but it¿s so interesting, by the time you finish it, you wish it wasn¿t over you just want it to go on forever and ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    AMAZING!

    Loved every moment of it. This book has a well developed plot and charecters you start to love. It also has a good message balanced with fantasy and adventure which is very hard to find in books these days. Our generation isn't into reading and when I reccomended this to one of my friends that would only read comics, he finished it in 2 DAYS! If we could get more books like this, insteand of teachers yelling, "Put away that phone!" They will be saying,"Can you put down your book?" What could be better than that?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Um... amazing!!!!

    Is alittle gory at some parts but i looooooooved it read it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Terminator

    Scans the room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    5th grde kid who loved it!

    GREAT BOOK! I recommend this book for all kids in my grade!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Grat Good book

    This is awesome!!! Omg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Wonderful

    This is an amazing book. It was very enjoyable. I finished this book in one day and I recomend it to anyone who likes fanasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    FANTASY

    Lalalalalalala

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    This was a n amazing book!!!!! I would recommend it to people who like fantasy adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    AMAZING!

    This book is really good. In the beginning it was a little slow but ut quickly picked up the pace. Soon i was unable to put it down. This book had some very ammotional parts but for the most part it was really good. This book would be good for tweens or young audlts because younger kids would quickly get bored by it. If you are looking for a thrilling book you should most defenitly get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Awesome book!

    Great book for anyone who likes fantasy adventures! ILOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    the sea of trolls

    it was adventurous and once you thought 'there couldnt be anything more exiting thann this'...... there was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    This book is so awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This Book ROCKS!!!! You need to read this book. Ok the title might be weird and 'diffrent' but this is an amazing book. Its wonderfully written and I coudn't put it down!!!! It might take a little while to get into but its really good. PLEASE READ IT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Most Favorite

    The story's so complex. Every page has you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    A bold, adventuresome book

    Jack is a farm boy who has a younger sister, Lucy, and his parents. They live in a little village where everyone knows everybody. Then Jack starts helping a Druid Bard and the bard asks him to be his apprentice. The Bard soon teaches essential things to become a *bard* including to listen very carefully to your surroundings and to know what is around you all the time. Soon Jack knows what a real nightmare is and he almost dies because the bard hit him so hard. He gets a week or so off to recuperate. When he gets back he thinks that the bard lost his mind when fighting off the nightmare, or so he thinks. So Jack is left alone to protect his village from being defeated by the Viking **berserkers**. They are found and are taken hostage to the main island where that clan of berserkers lives. He then goes on different quests in order to save his sister and himself. They face a number of different challenges which will force them into hardships. *A person who composed and recited epic or heroic poems, often while playing the harp, lyre, or the like. **An ancient Norse warrior who fought with frenzied rage in battle, possibly induced by eating hallucinogenic mushrooms. The book I thought started out as a slow pace and then picked up after the introduction of all the characters. It had good details and it always seemed to answer all of my questions that I thought of. The book never got off track and kept the same thought throughout the entire book. The thing that I didn¿t like was how they would always be able to talk to each other in an easy language that could be picked up very easily. So far this is the only book and might be the only book. This book would be best for kids age ten and up because there are hard words to learn and pronunciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5