Customer Reviews for

Seabiscuit: An American Legend

Average Rating 4.5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(233)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!

I happened upon this book by mere coincidence and only read it to get in the good graces of my English teacher who was unleashing a vicious wrath on those who disagreed with her book choices. She handed it to me with high reccomendations. With my gradess at stake, I str...
I happened upon this book by mere coincidence and only read it to get in the good graces of my English teacher who was unleashing a vicious wrath on those who disagreed with her book choices. She handed it to me with high reccomendations. With my gradess at stake, I struggled to maintain focus during the first few pages of interminable facts, but soon fell in love with the gripping tale of a quiet trainer, a garralous owner, and horse with both character and a huge heart.
You don't need to be an animal lover to enjoy this enthralling tale though it helps.
While this reccomendation may not have moved you, I hope that you will give this wonderful book a chance as my ability in writing reviews, this being my first, does not in any way reflect the ability of Laura Hillenbrand's amazing story telling ability.

posted by 1138632 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book but exhaustive details slowed pace

With all the relentless buzz surrounding the book and movie, I felt compelled to read the story of Seabiscuit, the plucky little horse who overcame adversity. He's a fascinating subject and author Laura Hillenbrand spares no small detail in her narration. In the end, I ...
With all the relentless buzz surrounding the book and movie, I felt compelled to read the story of Seabiscuit, the plucky little horse who overcame adversity. He's a fascinating subject and author Laura Hillenbrand spares no small detail in her narration. In the end, I felt tired of the countless races and near victories. More editing would have helped the book. Sometimes less is more.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!!!!!

    I happened upon this book by mere coincidence and only read it to get in the good graces of my English teacher who was unleashing a vicious wrath on those who disagreed with her book choices. She handed it to me with high reccomendations. With my gradess at stake, I struggled to maintain focus during the first few pages of interminable facts, but soon fell in love with the gripping tale of a quiet trainer, a garralous owner, and horse with both character and a huge heart.
    You don't need to be an animal lover to enjoy this enthralling tale though it helps.
    While this reccomendation may not have moved you, I hope that you will give this wonderful book a chance as my ability in writing reviews, this being my first, does not in any way reflect the ability of Laura Hillenbrand's amazing story telling ability.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    A Heartening and Inspirational Tale YOU can NOT miss!

    In Laura Hillenbrand's heartening tale one horse lifts the country as he races to unlikely victories. The novel tells the tale of Seabiscuit, a doubted horse that despite all of his setbacks, rises and becomes, arguably, the best race horse of the century. All adding a dash of depth, Hillenbrand, connects us to the characters of, Tom Smith the quiet and wise trainer, Red Pollard the blind battered jockey, and the owner; a charming self made man, Charles Howard. It is inevitable the personal connection made with all the characters, but the connection to Seabiscuit even makes non-horse lovers fall in love with his comedic and stubborn personality. Hillenbrand brilliantly intertwines the hardships and poverty of the country with the main theme of perseverance to overcome. Using imagery, Hillenbrand, portrays the toll that racing had on not only Seabiscuit, but also his main jockey Red. As the horse and jockey became more beaten throughout the story their importance, perseverance, and unbreakable bond only grew greater. The novel also yields the message of teamwork and the importance of taking risks. As the economy crashed Howard's growing business as a car repairman halted and he, like so many other Americans, questioned what to do. Following his interest in the dying sport of horse racing he purchased Seabiscuit, the son of Hardtack (a miraculous race horse). With the combination of Seabiscuit, Red Pollard, and Tom Smith, Charles Howard hoped victory would proceed. Working as a team the unlikely horse rose to greatness, demonstrating that risks and hard work are essential to the success of any feat large or small. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, with the exception of the small portion of dry writing in the beginning, and I would indefinitely recommend this book to someone. It tells an uplifting and touching story of perseverance, relationships, and victory, that anyone would enjoy reading. Other inspirational novels such as Secretariat and Man O' War would be great additional reads to Seabiscuit. In 1938 every stride Seabiscuit made towards victory captured the hearts of Americans and now through every page of this novel he is capturing more.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    From the horses mouth..

    I loved Unbroken and read that first. I decided to go ahead and read this story even though it isn't my usual type of book. Wow. This book was just as good as Unbroken which is high praise. I cannot wait to see what her next project will be...

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Wonderfully researched.

    I will admit, I saw the movie first. However, this only made me enjoy the book more, for it is the amazing detail with which the author brings to life the story of Seabiscuit that makes it such a wonderful read. Yes, I cried. And I was in shock at reading of the horrors the jockeys would inflict upon themselves. Absorbing, wonderful...just wonderful. Some of the best written non-fiction out there.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Heart racing.

    The truly awesome story of an amazing horse with some of the most intense racing scenes I've ever read. Also the story of the owner, Howard; the trainer, Tom Smith; and the jockey, Red Pollard - all odd balls in their own way. Very moving. Loved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Enjoyed every word!!!!

    After reading Unbroken, I was anxious to read another of Laura Hillenbrands books. Wasn't sure if I would enjoy it as much, but Seabiscuit was fabulous! I hated for it to end. The characters were well developed as were the racing events. Highly recommed it! Ms. Hillenbrand is a exceptionally gifted author. I pray that she will be able to bless us with more of her literary talents. Thank You Laura!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Spellbinding

    You can hear the hoofbeats and smell the sweat on every page. The movie is not enough!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Excellent, Fanstatic, Captiving

    Everything about this book is so good. I have seen the movie & now own a copy. This book about Howard, Smith, & Pollard and of course Seabisciut wants you to keep pulling for them all. Read this book even if you don't have a love for history, you won't regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Really great book, but not a childrens book, no way

    A really great book. No where close to a childrens book despite the serious cuss words and grusom visual images that are printed in your mind. TAKE THIS ADVICE BECAUSE I AM A CHILD HORSE LOVER, but anyway,great book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awsome book

    A very emotional novel with great description.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very inspirational, Definitely worth it

    This was an inspiring book of the will, perseverance, heart and determination of a magnificent horse and the three man whose lives revolved around him during Depression-era America. It's a great book for anyone, not just horse-people. I found myself rooting for Seasbiscuit even when it seemed like he couldn't do it. My heart raced alongside Seabiscuit. The feats of this brave little horse and his fearless jockey were so incredible and unbelievable, and they earned a place in my heart

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Great fun to read and good history.

    I absolutely loved this book. First because it's true history and a story of an "underdog" so to speak who won. The movie is also great, but you will get more details by reading the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Can't Wait for the Movie!

    Laura Hillenbrand is the Tiger Woods of historical novelists. It makes you wonder why every novel can't be this good. Plagued by chronic fatigue syndrome and vertigo, Hillenbrand took to writing on her back with eyes closed, surrounding herself with food and supplies, researching and following up on detail after detail to create the one of the most enjoyable and historically accurate novels ever written. She paints a backdrop for her subject matter out of the grit of the 1930's with a colorful palette of unforgettable characters and locales including the account of a "dead" jockey who was sprung back to life by a shot of adrenaline and fought to get back on his horse for the next race! The popularity of Seabiscuit during the depression can be compared to the Beatles in the 60's. The hysteria and excitement created by this courageous champion of a horse jumps out of the pages and holds the reader hostage through each heart-stopping race. This is an adventure worth reliving again and again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    Great history lesson!

    This is a great book to learn all about the horse,its owners,its trainer,its jockeys,and its fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Wow

    In just a few short words, this book was awesome! A must read for any and all horse lovers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Superb

    The unlikely story of a washed up racehorse and the three lost and broken men who came together and made him a champion. In the process, they give a Depression-weary America something to cheer about. Hands down the best book on horse racing ever, and one of the best books on thr Depression and the American experience as well. Don't miss it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    To NRM

    You have the best bloopers!! Pls do more soon!! ~ Cat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Wonderful!

    One of the greatest books I have ever read! You are on the edge of your seat cheering for a horse in a race that happened years ago. You feel and experience everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Loved this book

    If Seabiscit got more press than Hitler musta pissed the killer off

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book

    This book keeps you on the edge of your seat. Rooting over and over for Seabuscuit..anb all those who loved and believed in him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12