Customer Reviews for

SEAL of Honor: Operation Red Wings and the Life of LT. Michael P. Murphy, USN

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

True hero and role model for all! Must read in honor of Memorial Day!

If you read LONE SURVIVOR by Marcus Lutrell, then you will want to read this book. My life changed after reading Lone Survivor and found myself wanting to learn more about these brave men, so that they would not be forgotten. It is so refreshing to find someone who rea...
If you read LONE SURVIVOR by Marcus Lutrell, then you will want to read this book. My life changed after reading Lone Survivor and found myself wanting to learn more about these brave men, so that they would not be forgotten. It is so refreshing to find someone who really is a hero and an amazing example for children and adults, unfortunately society pays too much attention to athletes and movie stars. Lt. Murphy makes me want to be a better person and parent. It really opens your eyes to what these men go through to become warriors and protect our freedom. I have so much respect for the Navy Seals, and learning more about Lt. Murphy just increases that respect. It is always good to put a name and face to a person. This book makes it so much more real, and not just another soldier. I found it emotional and informative. It made me want to give this family a big hug and say thank you and God bless you! This is not just a book for military buffs. I am a mother of 3 girls and I find this book important for everyone to read, so they can pay their respect to a Medal of Honor recipient and learn what it means to be a hero.

posted by Christy3 on May 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

What A Waste

Its a shame that such an incredible young man with such promise and future threw his life away for nothing. Just like in Vietnam all those dead kids thought they were defending America too. What did Michael Murphy die for? defending freedome in cities in America like Ne...
Its a shame that such an incredible young man with such promise and future threw his life away for nothing. Just like in Vietnam all those dead kids thought they were defending America too. What did Michael Murphy die for? defending freedome in cities in America like Newark New Jersey or Gary Indiana. Such a waste.

posted by 6765794 on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    True hero and role model for all! Must read in honor of Memorial Day!

    If you read LONE SURVIVOR by Marcus Lutrell, then you will want to read this book. My life changed after reading Lone Survivor and found myself wanting to learn more about these brave men, so that they would not be forgotten. It is so refreshing to find someone who really is a hero and an amazing example for children and adults, unfortunately society pays too much attention to athletes and movie stars. Lt. Murphy makes me want to be a better person and parent. It really opens your eyes to what these men go through to become warriors and protect our freedom. I have so much respect for the Navy Seals, and learning more about Lt. Murphy just increases that respect. It is always good to put a name and face to a person. This book makes it so much more real, and not just another soldier. I found it emotional and informative. It made me want to give this family a big hug and say thank you and God bless you! This is not just a book for military buffs. I am a mother of 3 girls and I find this book important for everyone to read, so they can pay their respect to a Medal of Honor recipient and learn what it means to be a hero.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    A TRUE HERO

    I am amazed by the Navy Seals in general. I too, have read Lone Survivor Which is what led me to this book. This man is truly an American Hero. I cannot agree more with the first review. Americans are so wrapped up with movie stars, sports and pop culture it's ridiculous. Americans want to live in this fantasy land. We do not realize how good we have it and do not even pay attention to the men who are fighting for us. Lt. Michael Murphy is someone everyone should know about, I am grateful for his service and respect all that he has done. I recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    A True American Hero

    I came across this book while speaking with a fellow police officer/ex Navy SEAL; when I saw what he was reading, I recognized the picture immediately. I bought the book and read the whole thing in four sitting periods (even though I was in finals week). I could not put the book down. Gary Williams did an excellent job telling about Lt Murphy. It talked about his unique and humble youth. It spoke about his obstacles in his training and his commitment to all that was selfless. I had read Marcus Luttrel's Lone Survivor and I could tell that Lt Murphy was already an amazing leader, but to read about what his comrades and superior officers had to say only confirms what Lone Survivor said about Lt Murphy. As I read, I was emotionally overcome with sadness to know that one of America's finest and brightest was willing to lose his life to save his team. There is no better example of a selfless leader than Lt Murphy. I only hope that I can by half the leader that Lt Murphy was. He is a true patriot, warrior ad leader. This is a must read.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    SEAL of Honor

    AMAZING! As a military retiree I cannot recommend this book enough. Especially during Memorial Day. Intergiry, commitment, duty and yes honor is what Lt. Michael Murphy was all about. If you are 17-28 and considering the military you must read this book. It is without a doubt a top 5 in my library.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    An American HERO

    Having the honor to work with Navy SEALs, I rate this book as - right on target- describing seals moral charactor, motivation, professionalism and personal yet common traits thoughout the NSW/NSO community. A must read about seals and Mike - a model sailor, warrior, friend and American. Thank you for this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    FREEDOM IS NOT FREE - READ THIS BOOK

    I ran into this book by accident and picked it up. It is an outstanding reflection of courage and what our "freedom" costs. Having been in Viet Nam for four years, I was aware of the outstanding record the Navy Seal's have and how important they are in missions that most could not complete. This is a great read, it is a reminder of the heroics of so many in difficult situations and it reinforces just how much our freedom depends on these men and women of courage and determination. This is a book for all ages!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Amazing

    What an amazing person. I wish I would have been lucky enough to have known him. Rest in peace Lt. Murphy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Real Warrior!!!

    Great American Hero!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Very Good

    Its hard to put down

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Mike murphy

    When you look up honor in the dictionary it should say mike murphy! This guy had it all, and gave it away to serve us all. My kids will know who mike murphy was.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    A must read!

    This is one of the best written accounts of SEAL bravery and selflessness I have read. This shouldbe at the top of your list if you enjoy factual accounts of military action and personal sacrifice. Words alone can't describe the range of emotions you will experience.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Amazing men

    I suggest reading "Lone Survivor" and then reading "Seal of Honor". The latter deals very little with the actual time on the mountain but rather gives details in the structure of the SEALS & the many men that gave their last full measure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Confused

    Reading this book, having read Lone Survivor, with some of the information included MIchael AND I find it mind boggling that anyone could be so courageous and have such a great love for his country and fellow man that one could do as he did ! I pray that this hero is in peace and his family will focus on tha laughs that they shared. MAY FOD BLESS THEM ALL JUDY L!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Seal of Honor

    This book is a very detailed and well written true story about (SEAL) LT Michael Murphy who received the Medal of Honor in Afghanistan. If you enjoyed Lone Survivor, you will really like this carefully written account of all the men who took part in this operation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Powerful book

    Great background on a national hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    To val

    R u here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Oooh I love it

    Oooouuuuccccchhhh

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5