Customer Reviews for

Sealed With a Curse (Weird Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Enjoyed it!!

    What a great way to start off a series! Very much enjoyed the book, it was fast paced, and fun. And who doesn't love a sexy vampire, a hot werewolf , and his pack! Mix that up with some strong willed smart mouthed sisters, can't go wrong;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars Trying to avoid the supernatural world Celia, who is m

    4.5 Stars
    Trying to avoid the supernatural world Celia, who is more use to being alone, and her three sisters end up in Vampire court, charged with murder of one of Misha Aleksandr family members, to prove they were not as guilty yet to learn of a bloodlust spreading through the vampire families.  Now the Supernatural world knows of the sisters and are sneaking around for a peek, and pictures.  However Misha, the lead vampire who tried to have them killed, is now interested in the dominating Celia, but Celia may have her eye on a werewolf.  Misha's having troubles in his family.  Bloodlust.  His vampire family eats well and shouldn't be suffering from this, which means magic is involved.  He fears the upheaval of the vampire world maybe the reason - to kill him and take his power.  Misha asks Celia, having no ties to the supernatural world, for her help to fight his rival and prove his remaining family innocent and should live.  Celia sees the affects of the bloodlust on the human world and makes her choice.  Misha and his families time is limited.  The sisters jump full force into the supernatural world finding themselves in the middle of werewolves fighting for the world and vampires along with bloodlust vampires.
    This book starts off strong, the girls are already in trouble - in vampire court.  Quickly we see touches of what each girl's personality is along with a hint to their individual powers even mention of toothpicks with one, to make you curious what she can do with them (serious weapons!).
    Action, story, humor, magic, and blooming love all wrapped in one gift here.  So many magical variations so makes for a cool action fight.  Their is explanations of connections between werewolf and vampire weaknesses and the rules to their kinds.  Great set up with action and story blended.  Fun quick comments and using current people, places, happenings, and things to relate.  Makes me happy with all these elements present.
    I suggest making this a weekend read as you're not going to want to stop!  I wanted to know if I was right on who was behind the happenings, how much more trouble Celia and her sisters would find, and if Celia got her man.




    The blooming love... now, this story has two amazingly hot men and one woman.  BUT, this is not what I would call a love triangle.  Even though both are interested, she has eyes for one.  I loved this.  Now there is budding romance in the background with all the sisters as well, but I would not say this is the focus of the story.  It's an added top notch bonus to this supernatural story.




    This is a definite one for a great weekend read.  Cecy has started her series with a kick start, and I CAN NOT WAIT for the next books to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    After the novella that precedes this book, I was curious to disc

    After the novella that precedes this book, I was curious to discover an entire story featuring our four sisters. I must say it is quite rare to have so many main characters in the same novel, and as I said for the novella, I think it is a big work to make them all interesting, as well as the secondary characters. But Cecy Robson has completely succeeded in this challenge, and it was very interesting to learn more about all our protagonists. However, I hope that we can find more about each personality.

    We directly fall in the middle of the story from the beginning of the novel. Indeed, the four sisters are part of a trial after they killed a vampire and they’ll choose now their fate. But realizing that the vampire had become rogue, the charges are quickly dropped and life returns to normal. Did I say normal? Oups, it’s a mistake, this event is only the beginning of many other problems. Between the vampires who become more and more bloodthirsty and the werewolves who try to face them, the four sisters won’t be bored.

    As for the short story, we follow in this novel the point of view of Celia, a character who is very complex. For her, her sisters are the most important persons in the world, and she would be capable of anything to protect them. The beast that she has in her, keeps her away from the others ... but it's not necessarily by choice, every persons crossing her eyes are scared by her, something that greatly complicates things. She will evolve throughout the novel, allowing us to discover her determination but also her fragility. And when two men are suddenly interested in her, her life gets more complicated and she does not really know how to handle all these upheavals. But well, we can understand her! Aric and Misha are both fascinating and I confess that I have immediately appreciated both of them. It is true that if I had to choose between the two of them, I would probably choose Aric, but Misha is an extraordinary character and I look forward to know a little more.

    The plot is also very good and although I thought I knew several times the answers, the author perfectly manage to lost us and mislead us throughout the story to finally give us the truth about everything. We still have many things to discover whether about the characters or the culture of each species and I am eager to know more. I enjoyed the novel and I was completely carried away by this first book. It’s a new great series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    Enjoyed

    Just finished number four. This is one. Had a hard time doing them in order but it was worth it I enjoyed them all kept sneaking time in myday to read them. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2015

    Couldn't put it doen

    Caught my attention at the start and I couldn't put it down. I got drawn right in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book I've read from this author, the other be

    This is the second book I've read from this author, the other being a totally different genre. The other book had impressed me so much I wanted to read more from this author. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed reading this story. It's the first book in a series about four sisters who have supernatural powers but aren't a part of the supernatural world. They are all very different, including how they got their powers.

    The overall plot of the story sounds cliched, but the book itself really isn't. Celia, for the first time, finds herself holding the affections of a master vampire while helping him to save his family. During which, she meets a were that she can't stop thinking about. I found Celia to be strong and powerful and yet very self-aware, almost belittling, about herself as she tries to figure everything out. I found myself feeling for her as she is trying to make heads or tails of her relationship with Aric while her sisters' seamlessly moved forward with their own relationships. I look forward to reading the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    Caution reading this series will make you experience Love, Laugh

    Caution reading this series will make you experience Love, Laughter, Intrigue, Anger, Heartbreak & Joy! Only to repeat itself! The Weird Girls series is so freaking awesome! I recommend this series to anyone looking for a good book. Whether you like reading Romance, Mystery, Paranormal... These books have it all! I Love all the characters except the bad guys of course! Definitely looking forward to more reads from Cecy Robson!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Okay

    I really liked the novella before this book, but then i bought this book for 7.99+tax, and i got less than 300 pages and it wasn't all that great. Definitely not worth what i paid for, maybe if it was an actual book rather than a nook book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Me!!!

    This book was awful. The writing was juvenile in a "see spot run" kinda way. Disappointing and a waste of my money!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended-EXCELLENT

    This book is amazing. I was instantly pulled into the characters. This is the first book that I have read that actually made me laugh out loud. I couldn't put it down, finished it in one sitting. Since I have read the second one, and I'm now enjoying the third. Love it! Cecy Robson is a awesome writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was even better!!! I cried my eyes out but I love this

    This book was even better!!! I cried my eyes out but I love this series can't wait for book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    This was a fun and very entertaining read. I love all the Wird s

    This was a fun and very entertaining read. I love all the Wird sisters. Celia is really compelling with her strong tigress side and adorable with her shy awkward side. I loved this book and can't wait to read the next book in this series. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Amazing

    I am ever so grateful to have come into possession of this book. I love this world Cecy greated and the story. I love the Wird sisters. They are strong and their story drew me in right away. Love the twist to the vampire and were world. There was nothing that you will not like about this book. It is a must read. If I could give it 10 stars I would. I recommend to all!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4 1/2 stars, rounded up. SEALED WITH A CURSE is the first book

    4 1/2 stars, rounded up.

    SEALED WITH A CURSE is the first book in a new series by Cecy Robson. This is probably the most fun and entertaining urban fantasy I’ve read to date. SEALED WITH A CURSE has vampires, werewolves, witches, were-shifters, and 4 unique sisters that have their own ability and personalities that I haven’t read in any book. The Wird sisters were a hilarious bunch, and the type of gals that everyone would want to be friends with. Celia is the oldest, and plays the leader/protector role of the siblings. Shayna has the go-with-the flow-surfer mind-set, Taran is the girlie-girl- model and even if she’s covered in vampire guts she knows how to strut her stuff, and finally the baby of the family, Emme, the innocent sister that looks like a baby-doll/angel. Celia’s power is very interesting; she’s a fierce tigress but has other abilities that were pretty cool. Shayna rocks at wielding a sword; her aim is always perfect and can turn certain things into a weapon. Taran can manipulate fire, and Emme can move objects with her mind and heal. In addition to the girls, Celia has two sexy men vying for her attention the master vampire Misha and warrior werewolf Aric. It really isn’t much of a competition since Celia is interested in Aric, and vice versa but Misha is so darn charming, I couldn’t help but root for both (odd, I know since I’m not a fan of love triangle)! Misha and Celia may not be connecting on the same attraction level but I am looking forward to seeing how their relationship will play out in the next book.

    SEALED WITH A CURSE is a fun-action packed novel that will have you captivated from page one till the end. I love everything about this book, but the characters are truly the stars of the novel. The characters make it a one-of-a-kind urban fantasy that cannot be replicated. I like my heroines to be funny, strong, and kick-ass…and SEALED WITH A CURSE has not one but four of them! I wish I picked read this book sooner, and can’t believe I let it sit on my shelf for months! I love this novel and highly recommend this to everyone looking for something fresh and different, it will not disappoint! It hard to distinguish oneself in an already saturated genre but Robson was able to do just that that. I can’t wait to read A CURSED EMBRACE when it comes out next month! This is a series not to be missed!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    This book had me captivated by the end of the first page! I have

    This book had me captivated by the end of the first page! I have just finished it and simply can't wait for the next installment... July seems too long to wait! Bravo Cecy for creating such an intriguing group of characters for us to fall in love with!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    I am new to this genre, but Sealed With A Curse looked interesti

    I am new to this genre, but Sealed With A Curse looked interesting so I picked it out. Once I started I could not put it down! I was actually laughing out loud by page 10 which is unusual for me. Cecy Robson has a wonderful and witty way with words and settings. I actually felt connected to the characters and Ms. Robson did not let me down at the end of the book. Her plot also kept me guessing to the end on who was infecting the Vampires and why. And several handsome men certainly did not hamper the storyline at all! I worried at the beginning I might not understand the different groups (Weres, Vampires, Witches) and their abilities as I am a genre "newbie", but Ms. Robson includes all that matters in the story. I can't wait for the next book in the series coming out this summer. Will Aric forsake his fullblood lineage for a future with Celia? And what of her sisters and their admirers? I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Loved the four sisters and their super powers. When Celia, turns

    Loved the four sisters and their super powers. When Celia, turns into a tigeress and meets up with a Aric, the 
    werewolf, the fur flies and leaves everyone panting. Even in the face of horror, Robson lightens the adversity with 
    her quirky sense of humor. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Take four sisters, a backfired curse, and a mix of Tahoe's super

    Take four sisters, a backfired curse, and a mix of Tahoe's supernatural creatures and you get a whole lot of fun! No matter how hard the Wird sisters (Celia, Taran, Shayna, and Emme) try to avoid trouble, it always seems to find them.

    In this first full length novel by Cecy Robson, the girls are brought to trial for the murder of one of Master Vampire Misha Aleksander's family, but it's quickly discovered that they had just cause...the vamp in question was infected by bloodlust. Celia and the girls reluctantly agree to help Misha discover who is infecting his family. Along the way, the girls meet up (and hook up) with the local werewolf pack who are charged with keeping supernatural Tahoe safe.

    Sealed with a Curse is well paced, shifting from full-on action to romance without letting up. The characters are well developed and I love the relationship between the girls-they're a funny, tight, caring family that you want to join. Even though I had a suspicion of who the ultimate baddie was (and was right in the end) Ms. Robson did an excellent job of keeping you guessing and turning the pages.

    The Weird Girls is a must read series! I can't wait for A Cursed Embrace that comes out July 2013!

    Quotes from Sealed with a Curse:
    "I really like it," he murmured once more.
    Say something. Anything. Tell him you love him and want to have his puppies. "Haven't you had tea before?"

    A small smirk found its way to my lips. Luke Skywalker could suck it. He had nothing on Shayna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sealed with a Curse is a unique & funny new urban fantasy wo

    Sealed with a Curse is a unique & funny new urban fantasy world. Cecy Robson was created a fantabulously unique urban fantasy world with her series Weird Girls. Sealed with a Curse was an outstanding debut with kick ass, extremely special heroines you'll root for, a seriously smexy master vampire, and a pack of wolves you'll want to get up-close-and-personal with. I have a new book boyfriend in the oh so very swoon worthy Aric.

    Sealed with a Curse was action packed, funny, and added some much needed cultural diversity into the urban fantasy genre. Can't wait to see what happens to the Wird sisters next and to get another glimpse at the super yummy Aric.

    I give Sealed with a Curse 4.5 stars and highly recommend it to any-and-all looking for a new urban fantasy world to fall in lurve with.

    *ARC PROVIDED BY NETGALLEY*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3