Customer Reviews for

The Seamstress

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Compelling Historical novel set in rural Northeast of Brazil.

    The story was obviously inspired by the legendary cangaceiro bandits(robin hoods?) in the interior of Northeast Brazil in the '20 and '30s. It parallels the real lives of Lampiao and Maria Bonita. The book is a very human story of how real people lived and struggled. It also details the contrasts between the wealth of the ruling "coronels" in the interior, politicians of the city, and those suffering under the grinding poverty and constant droughts of the region. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in Brazil's colorful history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very interesting book about Brazil in the 1920's with bandits. Difference between landowners and the other classes. Very well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great read!!

    I loved this book. I could not put it down the author totally makes you want to be involved with the characters and their stories. I would totally recomend this book to friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    you don't have to sew to love this novel.

    I loved, loved, LOVED this book. The story pulled me in & wouldn't let go of me; even though it's a somewhat lengthy book, I wanted to keep on reading about these characters even after I had finished the book. Very compelling characterizations. I'm going to look for more from this author! I'd recommend this book to anyone who loves richly crafted literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Not My Best Book Purchase

    Have had this book for about a month and I have yet to make it through the first chapter.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    An interesting read!

    The Seamstress takes place in Brazil before, during and after WWII. It is a story of two young girls who were born in poverty in a small village. They are raised by an Aunt and learn the Aunt's skills to sew. The story branches out with how life's twists and turns affects the two sisters, one being "abducted" by a notorias outlaw group and the other landing into a marriage with a well to do family. Both siblings end up far from their home and mature into two very different types of women.
    The story is very well written and detailed about how life was in Brazil during this time frame. How the different classes of people lived, interacted or not, even covers the equality of women to vote, etc. during these times. Lots of historical information too keep the interest with me learning things about a place and time I never thought much about!
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book by a first time author and highly recommend it. It is a long read but it also covers several decades of the girls lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Thoroughly entertaining, educational, historic, original

    This is one of the best books my husband and I have read together in ages! The characters are complex and unique;the Brazilian history and culture authentic and not widely known. The author has a superb command of the language and an eye for vivid and graphic detail. Once you get into the plot, it is hard to put the book down, and it never fails to satisfy in its originality and depth. We eagerly look forward to more books by this thoughtful and intelligent writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    fascinating historical

    In 1928 in lawless Northeast Brazil sisters Luzia and Emilia Dos Santos are both talented seamstresses who each dream of a Prince Charming to take them away from the ¿war¿ between the affluent ¿colonels¿ and the outlaw cangaceiros. However, Luzia knows her chances of marrying a handsome wealthy hunk is zero ever since she was scarred and her arm deformed in a childhood accident. Emilia is a beauty with many men wanting her albeit all locals. Two events change the sibling dynamics. Infamous bandit Hawk kidnaps Luzia and their Aunt Sofia dies. Emilia marries wealthy influential Degas Coehlo but remains dissatisfied while Luzia survives her ordeal and soon becomes one of the outlaw cangaceiros. As Luzia becomes notoriously famous as THE SEAMSTRESS, Emilia hides their connection fearing her scornful mother-in-law will toss her back to her rural dirt roots but her father-in-law the criminologist is going after her sister. --- This is a fascinating historical tale of two sisters whose paths diverge yet converge. Interestingly in the lap of luxury, Emilia is unhappy while living dangerously off the land Emilia is contented. Although overly written with too many passive descriptions, fans will appreciate this deep look at life in Brazil in the late 1920s and early 1930s. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1