Customer Reviews for

The Seance

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    how much this girls been through

    edgy story you'll find your self on a shoulder or with a friend grasping from saddness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    My Review

    I loved this book. It was so good, and I read in four hours. The ending was so unexecting. It was one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!

    This book was awesome. It is not predictable and the ending is awesome..... I love it!!! Okay I recommend this book to any murder mystery fanatics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    two thumbs up

    It all happened on a dark night in a small room. It was a seance held by Roberta. All of a sudden, Sara shrieked and snuffed out the only light in the room. What is going on? Joan Lowery Nixon's book, The Seance is the winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Mystery Writers of America Award. Nixon is the only four time Edgar Award Winner. She was the president of the Mystery Writers of America. The main character Lauren is a very quiet, calm, and ordinary teenager. She lives with her aunt and Sara, her aunt's charge. Lauren is very excited to go to the seance but it didn't go as smoothly as she expected. In a matter of seconds, one of the girls, Sara disappeared. Now, the community is asking Lauren questions regarding what happened to Sara but Lauren doesnt even know what is giong on. Then a couple of weeks later, there is a remake of the seance so the sheriff can try to find out what happened to Sara. But then something awful happens. This time, Roberta disappears. What happened to Roberta? The Seance is an exciting and entertaining book. As you keep on reading, you start to find out more about what is going on and you start to solve the mystery. This book's ending is kind of obvious because you know that the mystery is going to be solved. The Seance is definitely a two thumbs up book. If you start reading the book, you may not be able to put it down. If you love mysteries or have read Joan Lowery Nixon books in the past, this book is just for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    I have read other books by Joan Lowery Nixon and this one is by far the BEST! This book is so captivating I couldn't put it down. I have read it 3 times already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    BEST BOOK EVER

    this is the best book u can ever read in ur life. the minute you think you know who the muderer is the book turns u around and makes you think its someone else. if you like mystery and suprising things this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    A really good book

    This book was really good i couldn't put it down! i have read other books by JOAN Lowery Nixon this one is as good as the other ones. This book leaves you hanging at every chapter. when lauren goes to the seance and sara is missing! You have to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    a thriller!

    i loved it. i finished it in one day. the suspense keeps u turning the pages until u get to the end. it is a good mix of romance, myystery, suspense, and juvenille.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    An execellent book

    This book was very intresting that i could never put it down. This is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    MY AWSEOME REVIEW

    Once I put this book in my hands, I felt that this book was going to be the best book ever. And indeed it was. This book was interesting, fun, and full of suspence. I would like to thank my friend Katie for introducing me to the book, and letting me read it. Thanks, Katie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    MY REVIEW

    I think this book was very well written and should be turned into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    M. A. 6th grade ll/17/03

    It was great, one of my favorite books. Kept me from putting the book down and kept me turning the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    Seance

    This is a fabolous book you have to read it and once you do you are addicted to all of her mysteries. she writes excellent novels and she is deffinitly my favorite writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    like this book ROXXX

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOO OFF THE CHAIN!!! i mean like totally it was scaery and so far the best one ive readen Tho u hav to raed it, its bout this girl who like dissapears at a seance and the one who hosts it dissapears after.....will she be next?? romance, suspense, horror...wat could be like any betta?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    This was a great book!!! I couldn't put it down!! It is one of my favorites! If u like mystery and scary books this is the book for u!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    this book is the best out of jln's books. a new girl in town holds a seance to 'be made known' so she invites some girls to experience one. something is wrong, everyone can feel it. then candle gets snuffed out, and the lamp gets unplugged. when the girls finally get the light on a girl is missing. all the doors are locked and the windows are shut. there is no way for the girl to get out. a few days later she is found dead, by being drowned in a swamp. You have to read the book to find out what happens! this is my personal favorite!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    J.L. Nixon

    Have you ever had a Seance with your friends for fun? After reading this novel, it will never be the same. The Seance is suspenseful and creepy. Keep the lights on and the doors lock and cuddle tight under the covers as you read this scary novel. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    Seance

    Joan Lowery Nixon has many page turners and this is definitly one of them! It's a thriller and definitly five stars....I promise you that you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    Compelling Action-Thriller!!

    I was introducedt to this compelling novel when I was in grade 7, and being a fan of suspense thrillers, I knew I this novel was going to be intriguing. Therefore, friends and I acted out a play of scenes from it, and videotaped it to show the class how much enjoyment we really received out of reading this novel. Now, ready for college, I stumbled over a couple of Lowery-Nixon's novels in the library, and thought about reading The Seance once again. I have not been able to find it in any local libraries, however I am glad I found this sight, so that I can purchase the book and read it whenever I feel the need for suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    TIGHT!

    I love this book. It starts out getting right to the point and just unwinds from there. It was very suspensful and kept me reading day in and day out. I would reccomend it to anyone and everyone who likes a good scare now and then. This is one of my favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2