Customer Reviews for

The Seance

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Seance by John Harwood

This novel was a real page-turner. Twists and turns till the end of the book. I loved it, and I believe anyone who enjoys 19th century novels set in England will love it, also.

posted by chookio on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So so...

This is the second book that I picked up by this author (the first one I didn't finish because it seemed to bounce around too much). I didn't find this book creepy enough, evem though it provided some chills and atmosphere. The whole suit of armor thing was a bit strang...
This is the second book that I picked up by this author (the first one I didn't finish because it seemed to bounce around too much). I didn't find this book creepy enough, evem though it provided some chills and atmosphere. The whole suit of armor thing was a bit strange... I guess I expected something a little different because of the title.

posted by BarnesNobleFan on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    The Seance by John Harwood

    This novel was a real page-turner. Twists and turns till the end of the book. I loved it, and I believe anyone who enjoys 19th century novels set in England will love it, also.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    A good "Gothic" read...

    Harwood creates a wonderfully rich Gothic feel in this sometimes predictable work. There is enough of the literary tradition to satisfy, but with a twist to the ending that is fulfilling. The central characters are well developed through description and action, and the settings and feel for the time are superb.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nicely done.

    I rate it higher than most people did, and frankly I don't see why others rated Seance so low! It was a marvelous read. Supernatural, romantic, some surprises, it had a bit of it all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    So so...

    This is the second book that I picked up by this author (the first one I didn't finish because it seemed to bounce around too much). I didn't find this book creepy enough, evem though it provided some chills and atmosphere. The whole suit of armor thing was a bit strange... I guess I expected something a little different because of the title.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    mhsilver

    This was a very good representation of a modern day Gothic thriller.
    I enjoyed it immensely especially the ghost stories within the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wanted more "BOO"

    A bit far-fetched, a little confusing, and not as spooky as I expected. An entertaining read, but not nearly as good as The Ghost Writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Having absolutely loved Harwood's The Asylum, I decided to read

    Having absolutely loved Harwood's The Asylum, I decided to read The Seance. While I don't think it was quite as good as The Asylum, The Seance still did not disappoint. A mystery unfolds through several generations attached to the decaying Wraxford Hall.

    The narrative begins with the story of Constance Langton. Her mother's paralyzing grief over Constance's sister's death, the lack of any kind of mother/daughter bond between the two of them, and Constance's father's eventual desertion make Constance a desperate young woman. She turns to spiritualism to try to bring her mother back from her grief, and the consequences of a seance meant to give her mother peace are disastrous. Then Constance discovers that she is heir to Wraxford Hall, and that's when the story really gets complicated. We shift narrators several times, from Constance to John Montague, to Eleanor Unwin/Nell Wraxford and back again. Their tragic stories are inextricably interwoven as one man, Magnus Wraxford, exerts his influence on them all. Constance is forced to question everything she thinks she knows about her own life. Everything hinges on the crimes committed one awful night at Wraxford Hall. It is up to Constance to sort out the truth of it all while she still has time.

    Harwood's work is so engrossing that you won't want to put it down, and even if you figure out parts of the mystery on your own before the reveal, you likely won't figure it all out completely. I love that. I get tired of solving the mysteries early on and plodding through the rest of the book until the characters catch up! I look forward to any future work from Harwood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Slow

    Wanted something a little more fast paced and exciting. Well written though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Interresting

    It was pretty well written. it kept me interrested .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Amazing Read

    I couldn't put this book down. Harwood has a way of writing where you feel like you are in the story. I read this book two years ago and I still remember everything about it. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    An excellent gothic tale! I found it hard to put down with just

    An excellent gothic tale! I found it hard to put down with just the right amount of suspense and Victorian atmosphere! Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    "The Seance" is a Head Trip!

    A thoroughly entertaining read. There are many crossroads along the way and unexpected revelations. I highly recommend this book to all who like a refreshingly unique "whodunit" and will the real heroine step forward please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Good book.

    Not as scary or creepy as I was hoping for, but still a VERY good book. Love the way the stoey was told from diferent viewpoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Quite good!

    A fun read, especially on a very stormy evening! Set in the 19th century, this novel is so full of twisty turns you might want to down some Dramamine before you begin. Don't expect a true scare factor here, though, cuz it's suspense - and LOTS of it. There is a multi-character narration, which could get mangled in the hands of a lesser author. Here? No problem. One suggestion? You may want to keep a list of characters and their roles handy. I read this in 2 sittings and STILL kept going "Geez. WHO was THAT again?!" There are many, many folks involved here! And the "family tree" dealio just wasn't helping quite enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Not the best

    I just read this book and it was okey, not the best. I wish there was a little more suspence. A little to slow and not very scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Enjoyable but not fantastic

    This is an enjoyable read but it didn't challenge me on an intellectual level, as in I don' t feel compelled to go back and reread it. The title is somewhat deceptive. Although there is a seance or two they aren't what binds the story. The ending was a bit abrupt. I felt the was a page missing but it really was the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Smooth n' scary

    A slowly seductive tug into a greatly entetaining contemporary victorian gothic. I had a good time. Definately recommend to those who enjoyed The Turn Of The Screw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Slow start good ending

    This book was a little slow and takes awhile to get into

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Expected more paranormal goings-on.

    Although parts of the story confused me, I did find the story interesting and a little sad. I'm always looking for tales about seances, this one wasn't as dark and scary as others I've read. But it was by no means disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Seance

    Excellent and very hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7