Customer Reviews for

The Seance

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Seance by John Harwood

This novel was a real page-turner. Twists and turns till the end of the book. I loved it, and I believe anyone who enjoys 19th century novels set in England will love it, also.

posted by chookio on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

So so...

This is the second book that I picked up by this author (the first one I didn't finish because it seemed to bounce around too much). I didn't find this book creepy enough, evem though it provided some chills and atmosphere. The whole suit of armor thing was a bit strang...
This is the second book that I picked up by this author (the first one I didn't finish because it seemed to bounce around too much). I didn't find this book creepy enough, evem though it provided some chills and atmosphere. The whole suit of armor thing was a bit strange... I guess I expected something a little different because of the title.

posted by BarnesNobleFan on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wanted more "BOO"

    A bit far-fetched, a little confusing, and not as spooky as I expected. An entertaining read, but not nearly as good as The Ghost Writer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Slow

    Wanted something a little more fast paced and exciting. Well written though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    Interresting

    It was pretty well written. it kept me interrested .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Not the best

    I just read this book and it was okey, not the best. I wish there was a little more suspence. A little to slow and not very scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Enjoyable but not fantastic

    This is an enjoyable read but it didn't challenge me on an intellectual level, as in I don' t feel compelled to go back and reread it. The title is somewhat deceptive. Although there is a seance or two they aren't what binds the story. The ending was a bit abrupt. I felt the was a page missing but it really was the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Interesting but sometimes hard to follow

    This book was interesting and suspensrful, yet sometimes hard to follow with all the different characters' narratives. Definately a unique plot..not sure how some things tie together though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Pretty good.

    If you like various stories within a story which shows different viewpoints from different characters, theb this is the book for you.
    I must admit, it was not the ending I expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    Was okay.

    I really like the beginning but then it became confusing and I didn't like the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay read

    John Harwood does a good job setting the spooky, gothic scene. Supernatural elements are introduced, and the plot takes a few interesting turns. There are a few good mysteries to unravel. Unfortunately, I found the ending reminded me of nothing more than an episode of Scooby Doo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Pretty entertaining

    This was a very good read, although I read it on my Nook and would have liked to be able to more easily go back to previous sections to remind myself of who the different characters were. There are several narrators here, each with his or her own section, a literary construction that I like if it's done well, and Harwood has done it well. The mystery is engaging, the characters are well-developed, and the atmosphere is very good. It reminded me of Rebecca, by DuMaurier, and The Little Stranger, by Sara Waters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3