Customer Reviews for

The Search: How Google and Its Rivals Rewrote the Rules of Business and Transformed Our Culture

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting book but ...

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was well written and provided enough information to keep me glued to it. However, I was really hoping to find out more about Google than what would be possible from Google's own PR machine. The early search engine history and the development of that technology is probably the more fascinating part of the book. Which is ironic, since the book is supposed to be primarily about Google. My guess is that the author sacrificed the ability to write about more intriguing and behind the scenes happenings at Google for the almost unlimited access to the founders and the top managers.

    Overall, this is a pretty good book, but a hard-nosed investigative reporter would probably have come up with more intriguing content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book that is, and isn't.

    The Search was recommended to me from a colleague and I was excited to find it still in circulation at my B&N. While an interesting topic, the author promises that this book is not a history of Google, when in fact, that's exactly what it is. From the early days in a dorm room, to the hiring practices and personalities of the creators, there isn't much in the way of the quote on the cover. True, it does discuss the rivalries of Yahoo and AOL, and how they all circle each other, with some losing and some winning, there's not as much an answer to 'what is search' as is ' what is google doing differently than everyone else'. perhaps the book was ahead of it's time (Google bought YouTube months after the books release). There are tidbits of information that are insightful (What does RSS stand for? YaHoo is an acronym?) and the theory as to what the internet itself actually is was an interesting paragraph, though these are few and far between. The last quarter of the book is repetitive, and became a chore to finish. The book now rests on a library shelf somewhere, waiting for it's next victim.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    A very entertaining read

    This is a well-researched book on the subject of search, and how it is changing our business and culture. Google is arguably the most powerful and venerated Internet company in the world today -- reading about its birth, growth, and future direction is a must for anyone involved in business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Big Brother?

    A very thought provoking read. Reminds one of an old story by Goerge Orwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    A Great Book!

    I found myself completely enveloped in this book. The author does a great job of telling the story of search, as well as outlining the implications of Google's power in the future. His bit on AI is fascinating and thought provoking. I highly reccomend this book - it's a quick read, and serves as a 'crash-course' in the history of search, with tons of anecdotal information and terrific story telling. Plus, I found it to be a very quick read. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Way too Technical

    This book was way too technical. It spent more time speaking about the technical configurations of servers then it did about how Google has achieved its success. It was a slow read at times, and would be a good book for someone interested in how Google was set up from a technological standpoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Outstanding storytelling about the most important company of the day

    Battelle's is a great book with amazing, captivating storytelling. I've only read one other industry book that I tell people is a must-have if you're in the IT business or into the web lifestyle, Stephen Segaller's 'Nerds 2.01 - A Brief History of the Internet'. Battelle's fine work is right up there with it. The book's main focus is primarily Google, but there's also a healthy dose of the other major players in the search game, like Amazon's A9, AltaVista, AllTheWeb, Yahoo and Microsoft. So there's a holistic view of the search industry, without leaving out any of the majors. The book does, in my opinion, lack a bit of the technical explanation behind Google's processes (I'm a software developer, so I like that kind of thing). I would have enjoyed reading more about Google's data center and distributed computing philosophies and the company's adoption of open source software (there are a couple of paragraphs dedicated towards detailing the former). Google rolled their own Linux implementation, which wasn't mentioned, and have pretty much put Python on the map as a programming, which also didn't make the final cut. But not taking anything away from Battelle's work - he does a fantastic job early on of breaking down web-wide search and the components involved. The book is still spot-on in terms of the strategy, financial profile, legal issues, unique corporate culture, human resources practices, adventures with venture investors, stock performance, insider interviews , horror stories, brutal truths and a historical look at the company. The final chapter, 'Perfect Search' also talks about what's on the horizon for search, maintaining the belief that in all, web search is only 5% completed. It's fine writing. Pick this one up. Kudos, John - well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2005

    Why Google rules

    The idea of making billions of dollars on a business based on searching online indexes is inconceivable, except when you consider how the Internet has changed the business world. This concept is so vague that it is difficult even to consider, let alone write about. Yet author John Battelle has done a thorough, entertaining job of identifying how this attempt to pin down cyberspace works, and how two graduate students turned their mathematical challenge into Google, the fastest growing company in history. While this is primarily a corporate biography, Battelle does not pander to the company¿s billionaire founders. They are portrayed as authoritarian geeks with few warm qualities. But they are also shown as visionary engineers who turned their killer application into a business that successfully defied Wall Street when their company went public. This is a great story, which is why we recommend it to technology fans searching for meaning and to business readers who want to understand the future of search technology. Or as Google says: search and you shall find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    This is by far the best book written about search

    John Batelle dug in by thoroughly researching and interviewing key search industry experts to explain the history of search. He is a talented researcher, writer, journalist and entrepreneur and understands this medium well, offering analysis and keen insight on the rise of search engines, from Webcrawler in 1994 to present day. He explains underlying algorithms and pay-for-performance click advertising business models that created today¿s multibillion dollar businesses. I bought each of the 40 employees at Become.com a copy. It¿s an excellent read for people who are in the industry, and those who want to learn about the dynamics of Internet business and its societal impact. We are all still in the early stage of search, and know that it will be a part of everyday life for Internet users. And as a search engine entrepreneur, I agree with John that vertical search engines will take the industry to the next level and into the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1