Customer Reviews for

The Search

Average Rating 4
( 1491 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(726)

4 Star

(336)

3 Star

(218)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

I liked it

I liked this book. It was, in my opinion, a whole lot better than Black Hills. It was a fun romance, mystery novel. I thought, in comparison to her last few books, that this was a nice return to the normal Nora Roberts books. Sure, the story lines can be somewhat predic...
I liked this book. It was, in my opinion, a whole lot better than Black Hills. It was a fun romance, mystery novel. I thought, in comparison to her last few books, that this was a nice return to the normal Nora Roberts books. Sure, the story lines can be somewhat predictable, but who cares. She has a wonderful writing style that sucks you into the characters and the story and you don't want to put it down. Definitely a good summer read!

posted by ma_book_lover on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing read from a good author

I found the abundant profanity to be a turnoff and added nothing to the story's plot or characters and in fact was a distraction to an otherwise fairly good read. The ending was weak and diappointing. I would not recommend this to anyone.

posted by SKT63 on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 76
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I liked it

    I liked this book. It was, in my opinion, a whole lot better than Black Hills. It was a fun romance, mystery novel. I thought, in comparison to her last few books, that this was a nice return to the normal Nora Roberts books. Sure, the story lines can be somewhat predictable, but who cares. She has a wonderful writing style that sucks you into the characters and the story and you don't want to put it down. Definitely a good summer read!

    31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong romantic suspense

    The Red Scarf Killer murdered twelve twentyish women before he abducted Fiona Bristow, tied her up and tossed her into the trunk of his car. She had a knife on her so was able to get free; Fiona provided the FBI with a description of her kidnapper. They failed to find him until he snatched Fiona's befriend, killing the caring cop.

    After much therapy, Fiona starts over on Orcas Island in Puget Sound. She is a canine search-and-rescue trainer and dog trainer in general who has no plans to have a relationship with artisan Simon Doyle as eight years have passed since her last tragic one ended n his death. As he creates beautiful furniture, they get to know one another due to his feisty matchmaking puppy. As their feelings grow, Fiona feels contentment for the first since the Red Scarf serial killings. However, that ends when the FBI agents arrive to inform her that someone using imprisoned Perry's M.O. is killing young women leaving on their necks the telltale red scarf. Law enforcement and Fiona believe the copycat killer is coming for her, but this time she will not run from her nightmare; this time she plans to confront her bogeyman.

    The Search is a strong romantic suspense mostly because of the lead couple's bickering teasing, a strong support cast including an eccentric four legged pup, and the Washington State setting. The serial killer subplot is not new as the copy cat has been done before, but Nora Roberts makes it seem fresh with her incredible writing skill as she uses the S&R canines as key elements in the exciting story line. Readers will enjoy Ms. Roberts' entertaining Puget Sound thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    A disappointing read from a good author

    I found the abundant profanity to be a turnoff and added nothing to the story's plot or characters and in fact was a distraction to an otherwise fairly good read. The ending was weak and diappointing. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My new favorite Nora

    I've loved Nora Roberts for years and have everything she's ever written. I've even been known to write upcoming release dates on my calendar so I don't miss them! The Search certainly didn't disappoint.Such a refreshing read, the characters jumped right off the pages. I'm a huge dog lover and watch a lot of shows on dog training and dogs etc. Nora definitely did her research and knows her stuff. This novel was like reading a current news story right off the headlines. Marvelous job. I love everything she's done but it was such a nice change from the supernatural/witchcraft of late. This would make another great series I think.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    No Cat People Allowed

    I look forward to Ms. Roberts' individual novels almost as much as the JD Robb series. Search didn't exactly disappoint, but it didn't give me the same page turning urgency that her past works have.
    The main character trains search and rescue dogs, and it was clear that the author did her homework on what it takes to be a dog trainer,very clear. In order to teach the reader everything she knew about the character's job, Ms. Roberts goes a bit overboard and fills pages with cadaver hunting vs. character development. This is one of my first experiences with a killer being "outed" in the beginning of the book, and I found myself missing the multiple suspect mystery that so many Nora Roberts plotlines are known for.
    Overall, I enjoyed Search...I just didn't enjoy it as much as I hoped I would. The good news is that I know exactly how to train a puppy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting!

    The Search is a strong romantic suspense. It was a good serial murder read but had a lot of places to laugh also. Fiona Bristow is strong, smart and determined, but she's also warm, lovable, and likeable. Years ago, Fiona Bristow had the perfect life, a great fiance, an upcoming wedding, a loving family. Then the Red Scarf Killer entered her world. She was his only survivor. Her fiance and his police K-9 partner were dead. To help recover from the terrifying ordeal, Fiona moves to Orcas Island and starts a canine obedience and search and rescue training school. Since then, she's managed to find peace and be content with her life, until...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Departure from the ordinary

    The last few Nora Roberts hardcovers have always had the romance, suspense gritty thriller and of course Ms Robert's great writing style. While The Search is a departure from her usual books, I found it to be a very entertaining book with rich characters that draws you into the story. Yes, the gruesome crime details were less evident in this book, but it's a refreshing change. You may not fall in love with the plot, but the portrayal of a loving family and loyal friends, not to mention the hunky hero and the lovable canines (who wouldn't love Jaws?!) were exceptionally done, as is the usual for all of Ms Robert's books. This book is analogous to pop music as the author's previous books are akin to hard pounding rock music. Once in a while, a change in rhythm is good. It's a great value for the price, specially if you have it in digital format.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    Another Great Read by Nora Roberts

    I just finished reading The Search and loved it. It was a great story with wonderful characters that you truly get to know and love. The story reads like an easy beach read but the thriller aspect keeps you on the edge of your seat. I couldn't put it down and in true Nora Roberts style, her descriptions are so real you feel like you are actually on Orcas Island with Fiona and Simon. If you love Nora Roberts, you'll love this latest novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Another terrific book by Nora Roberts.

    A great book with an awesome plot that kept getting better. I loved the canine angle and enjoyed reading how SAR dogs, and dogs in general, are trained, which is an important part of this story. Fiona and Simon are a well matched pair and they are interesting in their own way and you can't help but get involved in their relationship. Ms. Robert has once again given us a book to reread again and again. Try her book"Carnal Innocence" for another great read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    Better like dogs

    Standard Nora Roberts padded with endless dog training instructions. Possibly worth it as a paperback, not as a hardcover.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Read, Read, Read!!

    I couldn't wait for this book to come out. It is an amazing story of courage, self worth, love and comedy, drama, suspence. Once I started reading, I had a hard time putting it down. The relationship between Fiona and Simon are a battle of all things alpha! I see this book as made into a movie with Gerrard Butler as Simon and Ashley Judd as Fiona. I recommend this book to all Nora Roberts fans, and for that matter, I recommend this book to everyone. Why to go Nora!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A DECENT READ.

    If you're looking for a good romantic suspense, this isn't it. There is too much detail about dog training for my taste but, the banter between the two main characters, Fiona & Simon is witty, engaging and fun.
    Fiona is strong and determined and has been through some traumatic things in life. She refuses to be a victim and instead puts her past to work helping others. A decent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Boring

    I found this book boring, too much about dogs and not enough character and plot development. Definitely inferior to Nora's earlier novels.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect Mix

    Definite page turner! It had the perfect mix of mystery, anticipation, anxiety, and passion. I just couldn't put it down until I finished reading the last page. I recommend this one to any Nora Roberts fan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    amazing

    loved this book ...all the elements that i loved. weird how she wrote it and it is much more than a romance book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Slow Moving

    I had a hard time getting through this story. It's mostly about training dogs, and it's like the main story was an after-thought. I've read a lot of Nora's books, in my opinion, this was far from the best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2010

    Great story.

    Nora does a great job with this one. Could be a good movie actually. Predictable at times but still a page-turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    Great Book!

    Nora Roberts never lets you down. You can see where the story takes place and feel the action. This was a book I didn't want to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    One Star Too Much

    Yikes. Want to train a dog? Read this. Explanation galore! Get on with the story...without being the Dog Whisperer!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    had its ups and downs..basically a dog book

    This book had its ups and downs. I would say half of the book was good and kept my attention, while the other half was boring and pointless. The bad half consisted of dog training, so if you want to learn about training your dog...read this book! The other half was somewhat exciting and kept you on your toes. As for the ending, it was too predictable and so cliche. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, unless you happened to find it on the floor and had absolutely nothing else to do. I'm probably being a little harsh, but well, you get the point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1504 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 76