Customer Reviews for

The Search

Average Rating 4
( 1493 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(728)

4 Star

(336)

3 Star

(218)

2 Star

(100)

1 Star

(111)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

I liked it

I liked this book. It was, in my opinion, a whole lot better than Black Hills. It was a fun romance, mystery novel. I thought, in comparison to her last few books, that this was a nice return to the normal Nora Roberts books. Sure, the story lines can be somewhat predic...
I liked this book. It was, in my opinion, a whole lot better than Black Hills. It was a fun romance, mystery novel. I thought, in comparison to her last few books, that this was a nice return to the normal Nora Roberts books. Sure, the story lines can be somewhat predictable, but who cares. She has a wonderful writing style that sucks you into the characters and the story and you don't want to put it down. Definitely a good summer read!

posted by ma_book_lover on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing read from a good author

I found the abundant profanity to be a turnoff and added nothing to the story's plot or characters and in fact was a distraction to an otherwise fairly good read. The ending was weak and diappointing. I would not recommend this to anyone.

posted by SKT63 on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1506 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 76
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Dog training

    Yes, she explain and talks about the dog training a great deal. But that is what makes nora roberts a great writer. She sets the stage, she puts u there. She helps you connect and understand the characters. She not only helps you relate and understand whats going on, she makes u apart of it all. And for that she is one of my most favorite writer of all. I have not pick up one of her books that i have not completely loved and enjoyed greatly. With nora robert u cant go wrong. This truly is a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    NORA n Nora Roberts does it again Too much dog training t NOra AT At first way too ch Too much dog training info but a good read

    Nora Roberts can always make f

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another fun story from Nora. Initially, I was afraid I might get

    Another fun story from Nora. Initially, I was afraid I might get bored with too much of the story focusing on the lead character’s dog training business. I love dogs, but don’t have a particular interest in that field. However, the fact that a serial killer mystery is a major part of the plot, keeps the heroine’s profession from becoming tedious. The characters are flawed and interesting. Some aspects are predictable, but remain entertaining. I think any of the author’s vast legion of fans will appreciate this novel. I know I did.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Nora Roberts once again delivers a wonderful story with a perfec

    Nora Roberts once again delivers a wonderful story with a perfect blend of romance and suspense laced with humor. Fiona and Simon were fantastic characters that perfectly balance each other. I thoroughly enjoyed watching their relationship develop and blossom and the dogs were my favorite part of the story as the catalyst that brings them together.




    My only problem with this story was the ending. The entire book builds up the suspense of an ultimate showdown between Fiona and RSK2. The means and lengths to which he goes gave me the impression that the terror Fiona felt the first time would be child's play compared to what this maniac had in store for her. The suspense reached nail biting edge of my seat levels for me so I was very shocked and disappointed at the anti-climatic ending. As a result, I can't give this story a full 5 stars.




    Overall, this story delivers a great story filled with memorable characters and adorable dogs, which is always a plus for me. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romantic suspense and likes animals more than they like gripping action and don't mind an intense build-up with a soft ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    I have never read one of her books before. I was pleasantly surprised by it. It was sent to me by someone who knows I am an animal lover. I really enjoyed it. I will be reading more of her books. I would recommend it. I could have done without some of the bad language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    highly recommended-you will be glad you did

    could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Loved this book

    As always Nora Roberts has done a fabulous job. If only there was an epilog that told more about what happened afterward and gave the reader the satisfaction of knowing it what happened wouldn't happen again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Superb!

    I always love Nora, but this one was really really hard to put down!
    ~ Sheila

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    NORA ROERTS? CLICK HERE!

    NORA ROBERTS? MORE LIKE NORA PERFECTIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a big Nora Roberts fan and this book did not disappoint me

    I am a big Nora Roberts fan and this book did not disappoint me in the least. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I love love loved this book. I listened to the audio version (I

    I love love loved this book. I listened to the audio version (I have a long commute!) The women who read was WONDERFUL! I loved the incorporation of the dogs, the suspense, and the romance. Not a love at first site romance, which I cant stand, but a good build up. Just a great read (listen). It made me laugh more then anything. Great interaction between all the characters. Read it and make up your own mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Loved!!!

    Really enjoyed the story and characters. One of my favorite of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Must Read

    I really enjoyed this book. I love dogs and there was so much interaction with them in the book that I fell in love with it immediatley. There was romance, suspense, and adventure. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Amazing

    Read this immediately. Such a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    I have most of Nora Robert's books, and always look forward to t

    I have most of Nora Robert's books, and always look forward to the next one, so it almost feels disloyal to say that The Search was bit disappointing. The tried and true love story formula that works in all her books this time just feels as if she's going through the motions, and I didn't feel connected to the characters as in her previous books. After a few pages, it became pretty obvious that Ms. Roberts must have gone to dog training classes, and was anxious to share her new found knowledge with the world. When I saw the photo of her with her dogs on the back jacket, I said "well, that explains it". So now she's an expert. The suspense of the story line ultimately fell flat, and could have been done much better, in fact, she has done much better in past novels. Having said all this, I am still a big fan, and will look forward to her next book. Hopefully she won't take up any more interests to bombard us with before it comes out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great murder and love story

    This book has you glued to every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    Of course, my review will be "excellent" because of the dogs involved. The story is engaging and interesting, and pretty much a typical Nora Roberts story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Monkeys

    Monkeys are cool this book was good also but not as good as monkeyd

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Nora Roberts does it again! How does she come up with these great stories? I found myself being drawn into the suspence of this story and feeling for the characters as they tried to solve the mystery. Very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1506 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 76