Customer Reviews for

Seaside Letters

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED it!

    Seaside Letters was everything I want in a romance. It grabbed me from the first chapter with angst and emotion and kept me glued to my seat until the book finished some three hundred pages and a couple of hours later. I did not get up to get a drink, I did not get a snack. I did not answer my cell phone. I just sat there and read the entire novel in one sitting.

    This is the kind of book that makes me LOVE romance (and yes, all caps required). The heroine was vulnerable and wary. The hero was resourceful and extremely patient. Their relationship was a cat and mouse game where the stakes rose as each chapter passed.

    There is some suspension of disbelief required of the reader to get through the middle plot twists, but really, romance lovers like myself are used to suspending disbelief in order to enjoy the story (Twilight, anyone?).

    Shout out to Denise Hunter...you've just made another slightly obsessed book blogging stalker...er, fan. I'll be tracking down everything you've written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Great Book.

    Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    Don't you just love it when a book keeps you up all night? I'm not usually one to stay up late reading a Christian romance; it's not exactly the most suspenseful genre. Last night, however, I couldn't sleep. I was too busy reading Denis Hunter's "Seaside Letters."

    Hunter takes the age-old "pen pal" story and makes it her own with waitress Sabrina and her customer, Tucker. Sabrina suffers from a lack of confidence because her fiance broke up with her six days before their wedding. An online relationship seems like the only safe relationship. That relationship is put in jeopardy, however, when Sabrina finds out Tucker's her man... and he wants her to help him find his secret pen pal. Little does she know that Tucker invented the relationship as a way to break down her barriers and to get to know her. Now, Sabrina must invent a way to keep Tucker from discovering the full truth, a truth from her past that could ruin both her pen pal and her real-life relationship with Tucker.

    Hunter makes the classic "You've Got Mail" story and makes it her own with lovable characters and surprising plot twists. Above all, she touches the heart with her message that true beauty is found in the heart. Hunter's writing, while not descriptive, is compelling. She keeps the reader in suspense to the very end, revealing tid bits of important information as she goes along.

    The thing I love most about Christian romances is that there's always a character with a history that inhibits her from having confidence and taking on a new relationship. Hunter's "Seaside Letters" follows this formula to a "T," using her characters to show the unending love of God. It's a beautiful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Powerful Story of Pursuit

    In this powerful story of love and redemption, Denise Hunter exemplifies God's unrelenting love for us through Tucker's love for Sabrina.

    Sabrina grew up in the shadows of her beautiful cousins and when her fiance leaves her, it strengthens her belief that she's unworthy of love. Tucker meets her at the cafe where she works and seeks her out.

    His pursuit mimics the way God seeks out His people. This romantic tale will take you on a journey of sadness, romance, despair, redemption and joy.

    Hunter creates characters that come alive and invite you to join them on their journey of God-seeking. I hurt when Sabrina hurt and rejoiced when Tucker finally got to kiss his girl.

    This is a must-read for anyone looking for a little romance and a reminder of God's grace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Great!

    While the sea laps to shore along Nantucket Island's coastline, two people search for love through a maze of betrayal, mystery and brokenness. Grab your coffee, pull up a chair and settle in to a heaping serving of romance as you consume the pages of "Seaside Letters." But beware. This poignant story will have you searching for more of Denise Hunter's books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful allegory

    This story did just what I expected. It showed how we try to hide the truth about ourselves when all along Jesus knows who we are and He's just waiting for us to be real with Him and trust Him. And like Sabrina in the story, we don't understand how we can be forgiven. Yet, Christ woos us and tries to show us by His gentle love that He longs for a relationship with us. He understands our weaknesses and reaches out to us despite the barriers we often erect to surround our hearts.

    Like Tucker, the hero, Christ knew us long before He reveals Himself to us. He sought us out because He loved us first and just wants us to love Him back. Despite her past, Sabrina longed to be loved for who she was even though she'd never felt good enough or pretty enough to deserve it. And being betrayed by her fiance right before their wedding was more proof that she was unloveable, in her estimation. I loved how this story showed occasional pain-filled situations from the past and did so in the "moment" as if it was happening right then. Wow.

    I found the conflict and tension very enjoyable and loved how the relationship between the characters slowly developed. I kept wanting her to just let him love her the way Jesus wants us to let Him love us. But because this is a romance, the kind of love is different in this story...it's romantic. And as expected, there are some heartpounding moments that seem so real that I was pulled totally into the setting and the moment. I have to say that Denise is one of the best romance writers when it comes to setting up the situation for the perfect romantic first kiss. Heavy sigh. That was so awesome.

    Bottom line, if you enjoy allegories with spiritual depth and meaning, you'll love the Nantucket series. If you are just looking for a romance without the underlying message, you will probably miss it in this story. But because I'm a Believer, it really warmed my heart. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Great book!

    I love this book,and also this author! I am re-reading it currently. Only thing is my nook broke so i sent it in, and you have to have a credit card to get all your books back. So i was going to read it online. The website says that i haven't bought it! B&N really needs to fix this, because this is STUPID that i can't read my book! Anyways this book keeps you on the edge the whole time! It hurts my heart that she is afraid to admit to being herself. And i feel bad for Tucker, who waits so patiently for her. You should read this book! It is a nice clean book that makes you smile:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Too long

    Good storyline but takes too long to resolve. He knows who she is, but she doesn't know that he knows. Now, so far on page 180 of 252 page book, they are still in that same place. They have feelings for one another but will not open up and be honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An OK Read

    This book was okay and started out fine. But as the story wore on I started getting frustrated with the main characters. Unfortunately my frustration kind of ruined most of the book.
    I understand that Sabrina was ashamed and mad at herself and that Tucker was supposed to be a metaphor but it just didn't work for me.
    I gave this book three stars only because I really like Denise Hunter's "The Convenient Groom."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Wonderful story of love surviving the impossible.

    Loved this story. Love the author. It is great how she reveals God's love through human interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    A good read

    It was a good book, but was not as good as some of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous!

    I could not put this book down! It had everything: romance, suspense, humor, conflict, life lessons. I breezed right through it, wondering what would come next the hero and heroine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seaside letters

    This novel grabbed me from the first few pages and I did not want to stop reading. The outcome is predictable but it is still a cute love story where I had to know what happens next and how Sabrina wiggles herself out of the situations she gets herself into. Sabrina was dumped by her fiancée and betrayed by her cousin six days before her wedding and ran off to Nantucket to work in a diner as a waitress. She met Tucker online and started corresponding with him under an alias name. Things began to spin out of control when Sabrina told her first lie- sending a photo of her cousin Arielle to Tucker.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes love and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Another Love Story

    I loved this story's message that there is no sin God can't forgive. I will quite happily read another of Denise Hunter's books. Her writing is suburb. By page five she had sucked me into Sabrina's fear and suspense. I was gripping the book with both hands and holding my breath as I read - unfortunately my suspense didn't last.
    About halfway through the book I became irritated with Sabrina for sparing her own feelings at the expense of those around her, and I was irritated with Tucker for watching her do so and not calling her on it. I felt the whole scenario was a bit too "woe is me." Yes, Sabrina's parents died young. Yes, her former fiancé is about to marry her cousin. Yes, she put herself in an untenable situation. She has been hurt and clearly has reason to fear trusting again, but she indulges her fear to the extreme of hurting others, and that's when she lost me.
    I am not and never have been a fan of helpless females. If you don't need a "take charge" kind of heroine, and you like stories where the white knight swoops in to the rescue, you'll love this book. Me, I want to read about women who overcome their own fears and don't wait for some big strong man to rescue them - and I want to read about men who admire strength in their women.

    I am a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program at: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seaside Letters, just like You've Got Mail?

    "Sabrina never intended to fall in love with Tucker McCabe, the man she serves coffee to every morning at the Nantucket Café - especially since he's unwittingly tied to a past she deeply regrets. But she has fallen hard, though she's kept her feelings a secret.

    When Tucker learns Sabrina is the research assistant for a local mystery writer, he asks Sabrina to help him with a little sleuthing of his own.locating an elusive woman he's fallen for online.

    If Sabrina accepts the job, she'll spend her evenings in close proximity to a man that can never be hers. If she turns him down, he'll hire someone else - and that would be disaster. Because if someone else sifts through all those letters and finds out the truth, Tucker will discover her secret.That the person he's trying to find is her."

    This is such a great, feel good, romance story. If you are a fan of such movie classics as You've Got Mail, Sleepless in Seattle or even When Harry Met Sally, you will love this book by Denise Hunter.

    This is a classic romance novel woven around the story of mistakes, love, and forgiveness coupled with the love of God. Once I received it from Thomas Nelson Publishers, I couldn't put it down. I was immediately drawn into the story of Sabrina and Tucker and whether or not, theirs would lead to the classic, Happily Ever After Ending.

    The story in set in Nantucket during the summer, as Sabrina is a waitress who has fallen for a man she doesn't really know who she has been emailing for over a year. Tucker is pretty much a captain of a tour boat operation that provides the local tourists with boat trips around the island, who has fallen in love with a woman he has meet in Nantucket Chat room. Once you pick this book up, you won't want to put it down until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seaside Letters, A Nantucket Love Story by Denise Hunter, Thomas Nelson Publisher

    This is a about Sabrina. A young woman who falls in love and hides her feelings from the very one who could give her the love she so desperately wants.

    I read the first third of the book in one sitting. I was drawn in by Ms. Hunter's original plot with its many subtle twist and turns. She built the plot up layer by layer with the usual premise of a woman falling in love with a man, named Tucker, whom she met on line. Nothing different about that, however Ms. Hunter introduces her first twist in the introduction when Tucker approaches Sabrina with an offer. Please help me find the woman I have fallen in love with on line. It doesn't take long before Sabrina realizes Tucker is looking for her. Sabrina however doesn't want to be found and does everything she can to stay hidden.

    There were points in the book I wished Ms. Hunter had flushed out a little more, such as Sabrina's insecurities about her appearance. Also I would have appreciated more details on the background of her family and landlady mystery writer, Renny. Those things would have added more definition and substance to the story and made it more believable. These characters have a profound impact on Sabrina's life, but the reader comes away knowing little about them. That said I would have no problems reading another book by this storyteller. I am member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger. http://brb.thomasnelson.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tangled Webs but Engaging Story

    This week I'm reviewing a fiction book by Denise Hunter called "Seaside Letters." It's the story of Sabrina and Tucker, who live on the small island of Nantucket. Sabrina works as a waitress and serves Tucker (a captain of tour boats) every morning at precisely 7:10. It also happens that they have a vibrant email relationship, but under pseudonyms. Sabrina knows its Tucker she's communicating with, but doesn't think that he would like her as much if he knew it was her.

    Yes, it sounds confusing. And if you're me, you think, "Golly, why don't you just say, "its me!" And frankly, a few times during this story, I wondered that. Stop messing around people. Let's just get honest with each other and tell what we know! Because of this, the story seemed a little slow to me (which sometimes can happen when the reader is in on the secret). But the characters are well-written and Tucker especially, is an engaging and worthy "hero" of this story. And in fact, after a couple chapters the story picks up and it turns out there are many more secrets the reader has to discover. Most of the plot twists are surprising and inventive. In all, I enjoyed the book - it was a quick, fun read that took my mind off my own life; just what I want a romance novel to do. It had a pleasant amount of romance without being trashy, and I thought the chemistry was well-written between the characters. Four seashells out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating inspirational romance

    On Nantucket, Sabrina Kincaid works at the Cobblestone Café where everyday she serves Tucker McCabe his coffee. Although attracted to him to distraction that she spills coffee, the only relationship she accepts is one in cyberspace as she was hurt badly once before when she lived in Macon, Georgia by her fiancé and her cousin.

    Tucker has fallen in love with his email pen pal Sweetpea, but though he believes she is attracted to him and even sent him a photo of her; she refuses to meet him in person. He has heard that Sabrina is good at puzzles so he wants to hire her to find his Sweetpea. Sabrina knows that would be extremely easy to achieve. The hard part would be to tell her beloved email buddy that he just hired Sweetpea to find his Sweetpea as the picture he has of her is actually that of her seditious cousin; so expecting rejection if she tells the truth she schemes to conceal her identity. She is unaware that Tucker is hiding information from her.

    Sabrina is a fascinating character as she feels her transgressions compound her feelings of plainness so that Tucker and God will reject her. The more lies she weaves and he by omission, the more complicated unraveling the truth becomes though her friend Renny the wannabe writer insists honesty is the only policy. Fans of inspirational romances will enjoy the second Nantucket romance (see SURRENDER BAY; not read by me) even if the island community never comes into focus. Two people in love find redemption by taking a chance on honesty with themselves, each other and God.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Too much lying and not enough romance

    Seaside Letters by Denise Hunter is a romance novel set in Nantucket. Tucker McCabe has been emailing a woman named Sweetpea for a year and has fallen in love with her. But Sweetpea refuses to meet with him, so Tucker asks Sabrina Kincaid-known for her research skills-to find the woman. The problem is that Sabrina is the mystery woman .

    The story missed for me in a couple of places. The first was setting. I've never been to Nantucket, so I wanted to see how the setting was brought into the story. Unfortunately, the setting didn't have much of a role.

    I also found Sabrina to be unlikable. She swears off relationships-but starts one through email. When Tucker asks her to find Sweetpea, she lies, feels guilty, worries, and continues to lie. The attempts to cover up the lies don't come across as believable-instead, I wondered why she just didn't tell the truth. And how come Tucker kept tap dancing around everything without telling her the truth either? I understand that theme of the book was lying, but the lies felt more like they were for the story to happen than a logical development of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    Unusual Twist to A Modern-Day Romance

    In Seaside Letters, Denise Hunter gives an unusual twist to a modern-day love story. Sabrina and Tucker are involved in an internet friendship, which eventually turns into a romance. When Tucker wants to meet Sabrina in person, she's terrified because she knows how closely horrific incidents in her past intertwine with Tucker's family. In spite of her efforts, Tucker eventually learns the truth about Sabrina's one mistake.
    With a Nantucket seaside setting, the author takes her readers on a breathtaking, emotional rollercoaster ride before the way is paved for love on the closing pages of the book. Seaside Letters is a sure bet to capture the reader in an absorbing love story. The book is a charming tale of the power of love overcoming the odds. This unusual romance will tug at the readers' emotional heartstrings and leave them with the satisfaction that true love overcomes all difficulties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3