Customer Reviews for

Seaside Letters (Nantucket Love Story Series)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Wonderful story of love surviving the impossible.

    Loved this story. Love the author. It is great how she reveals God's love through human interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    A good read

    It was a good book, but was not as good as some of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seaside letters

    This novel grabbed me from the first few pages and I did not want to stop reading. The outcome is predictable but it is still a cute love story where I had to know what happens next and how Sabrina wiggles herself out of the situations she gets herself into. Sabrina was dumped by her fiancée and betrayed by her cousin six days before her wedding and ran off to Nantucket to work in a diner as a waitress. She met Tucker online and started corresponding with him under an alias name. Things began to spin out of control when Sabrina told her first lie- sending a photo of her cousin Arielle to Tucker.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes love and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tangled Webs but Engaging Story

    This week I'm reviewing a fiction book by Denise Hunter called "Seaside Letters." It's the story of Sabrina and Tucker, who live on the small island of Nantucket. Sabrina works as a waitress and serves Tucker (a captain of tour boats) every morning at precisely 7:10. It also happens that they have a vibrant email relationship, but under pseudonyms. Sabrina knows its Tucker she's communicating with, but doesn't think that he would like her as much if he knew it was her.

    Yes, it sounds confusing. And if you're me, you think, "Golly, why don't you just say, "its me!" And frankly, a few times during this story, I wondered that. Stop messing around people. Let's just get honest with each other and tell what we know! Because of this, the story seemed a little slow to me (which sometimes can happen when the reader is in on the secret). But the characters are well-written and Tucker especially, is an engaging and worthy "hero" of this story. And in fact, after a couple chapters the story picks up and it turns out there are many more secrets the reader has to discover. Most of the plot twists are surprising and inventive. In all, I enjoyed the book - it was a quick, fun read that took my mind off my own life; just what I want a romance novel to do. It had a pleasant amount of romance without being trashy, and I thought the chemistry was well-written between the characters. Four seashells out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating inspirational romance

    On Nantucket, Sabrina Kincaid works at the Cobblestone Café where everyday she serves Tucker McCabe his coffee. Although attracted to him to distraction that she spills coffee, the only relationship she accepts is one in cyberspace as she was hurt badly once before when she lived in Macon, Georgia by her fiancé and her cousin.

    Tucker has fallen in love with his email pen pal Sweetpea, but though he believes she is attracted to him and even sent him a photo of her; she refuses to meet him in person. He has heard that Sabrina is good at puzzles so he wants to hire her to find his Sweetpea. Sabrina knows that would be extremely easy to achieve. The hard part would be to tell her beloved email buddy that he just hired Sweetpea to find his Sweetpea as the picture he has of her is actually that of her seditious cousin; so expecting rejection if she tells the truth she schemes to conceal her identity. She is unaware that Tucker is hiding information from her.

    Sabrina is a fascinating character as she feels her transgressions compound her feelings of plainness so that Tucker and God will reject her. The more lies she weaves and he by omission, the more complicated unraveling the truth becomes though her friend Renny the wannabe writer insists honesty is the only policy. Fans of inspirational romances will enjoy the second Nantucket romance (see SURRENDER BAY; not read by me) even if the island community never comes into focus. Two people in love find redemption by taking a chance on honesty with themselves, each other and God.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seaside Letters

    Seaside Letters
    A Nantucket Love Story
    Denise Hunter
    Thomas Nelson
    2009
    Fiction/Christian/Romance

    Reviewed by Cindy Loven

    Betrayal, has driven Sabrina away from her family and her home in Macon. Betrayed by her fiancé, Jared and her cousin, Jaylee six days before her wedding, she has little trust for anyone. She finds herself on the island of Nantucket, spending her supposed to be honeymoon alone and decides to stay.

    Waiting tables and researching plots and facts for a local mystery writer, keeps her busy. She soon strikes up a friendship online through the Nantucket Chatroom, where she finds herself falling for a local man. Horrified to discover he is one of her customers at the cafe', she knows she cannot reveal who she truly is. A deep shameful secret paralyzes Sabrina, she knows that if Tucker knew who she really was, he would hate her.

    Renny, Sabrina's friend and boss, the local mystery writer, has written nine novels, none of which have been published yet. Sabrina does not understand, why these novels haven't been published. Renny is an awesome author. Poor Renny, on the other hand, is always questioning if it is good enough. Self-image problems threaten to destroy a talented author. Sabrina tries to help Renny past these issues, even though she herself has some of the same issues.


    This romance, filled with amusing twists and turns, also has a very serious side, concerning betrayal, and the redemptive power of God. Denise Hunter has written an awesome story of love. A discussion guide at the end really drives home the redemption angle of the story. 314 pages $14.99 US

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seaside Letters is "note"worthy

    As a reviewer for Thomas Nelson's Book Review Bloggers program (http://brb.thomasnelson.com/) when this book became available I grabbed it. Having read Denise Hunter's Surrender Bay and The Convenient Groom I knew Seaside Letters would be terrific. I was not disappointed in this story in the least. I love books where strangers fall in love through letter writing, be it historical mail-order bride stories or modern day romances like this one. I also love stories that include "real" characters, those with sordid pasts who go on to find love when they thought they were unlovable. Even though Seaside Letters got a little slow for me towards the middle, the ending made up for it! It was so romantic and reminded me of the last scene in Breakfast at Tiffany's. I will definitely be adding this book to my keeper shelf right beside The Convenient Groom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1