Customer Reviews for

The Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great, romantic, and a page turner..what more could you need?

This book is amazing! I could not put it down, I just loved it so much from the beginning all the way to the end. I'm so sad it's over. Ah the ending is ..wow! Loved it!!
Alexandra a.k.a Alex/Minx(cuute nickname from Gavin)/Scamp, is a seventeen year old girl who is st...
This book is amazing! I could not put it down, I just loved it so much from the beginning all the way to the end. I'm so sad it's over. Ah the ending is ..wow! Loved it!!
Alexandra a.k.a Alex/Minx(cuute nickname from Gavin)/Scamp, is a seventeen year old girl who is starting her first season in 19th century London along side her two wonderful best friends, Ella and Vivi. She is dreading everything about it because she doesn't really believe in "The One" the way Vivi does or love in general.
At the balls she is forced to attend, she gains attention from a lot of unlikely candidates. Even some really cute ones like Freddy Stanhope.
Then there's Gavin (awww). Her childhood friend who once saved her from a tree (cute story) and who's always been like a fourth brother to her. He's starting to seem more and more different (in a good way). For some reason Alex never really saw him, until this season and now every time she sees him she practically gets butterflies in her stomach, but he's so busy laughing and dancing with the beautiful Penelope and having to deal with his father's recent death, or was it murder?
I HIGHLY recommend reading this book, you will not be disappointed. It will leave you with a ginormous smile on your face once you've finished it, actually throughout the whole book you'll end up with a ginormous smile on your face. hehe :D
The characters are witty and fun to read about. I just love the dialouge throughout the whole book. With Sarah MacLean's great writing, it all ends up being a great story anyone will fall in love with. It doesn't hurt that there are cute guys with great personalities all over the place. There's Alex's brothers William/Will (23), Nicholas/Nick (21), Christopher/Kit (19), and Freddy the adorable flirt (not her brother). Oh and who can forget the main man, Gavin (23).
-tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

posted by robin_titan on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sorta lame.

The synopsis for this book was intriguing to me because it describes it as a thrilling murder mystery with romance for young adults all set in the Regency era. I haven't ever read a book described like this before, and it sounded really good, but it really wasn't. What ...
The synopsis for this book was intriguing to me because it describes it as a thrilling murder mystery with romance for young adults all set in the Regency era. I haven't ever read a book described like this before, and it sounded really good, but it really wasn't. What was disappointing about The Season was the ratio of romance to mystery. It was like a whole pie to a really tiny slice that your mom who is on a diet would order (romance is a whole pie because there was lots of it, and mystery is a tiny slice because it was hardly there.I like pie, okay?). I was waiting for the clues and the sleuthing but it never really came along until the last hundred pages and by then I was so exacerbated I didn't care anymore.
I also found the characters flat. All Alex ever seems to talk/think/dream about is not getting married and not being chased by hotties and I DON'T CARE ANYMORE I GET IT. Her best friends are pretty boring too, mainly because they're all the same and don't serve any purpose other than to agree with each other. "I hate marriage." "So do I." "Me three!" And not to mention Gavin (who is not 'brooding' at all, book jacket), who is so obviously going to cure Alex's aversion to men that its sad.
Overall I would not recommend this book, because its not very good. If you want to read something with mystery and sweet, subtle romance and awesome BFFs, read Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty.

posted by Posy on July 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great, romantic, and a page turner..what more could you need?

    This book is amazing! I could not put it down, I just loved it so much from the beginning all the way to the end. I'm so sad it's over. Ah the ending is ..wow! Loved it!!
    Alexandra a.k.a Alex/Minx(cuute nickname from Gavin)/Scamp, is a seventeen year old girl who is starting her first season in 19th century London along side her two wonderful best friends, Ella and Vivi. She is dreading everything about it because she doesn't really believe in "The One" the way Vivi does or love in general.
    At the balls she is forced to attend, she gains attention from a lot of unlikely candidates. Even some really cute ones like Freddy Stanhope.
    Then there's Gavin (awww). Her childhood friend who once saved her from a tree (cute story) and who's always been like a fourth brother to her. He's starting to seem more and more different (in a good way). For some reason Alex never really saw him, until this season and now every time she sees him she practically gets butterflies in her stomach, but he's so busy laughing and dancing with the beautiful Penelope and having to deal with his father's recent death, or was it murder?
    I HIGHLY recommend reading this book, you will not be disappointed. It will leave you with a ginormous smile on your face once you've finished it, actually throughout the whole book you'll end up with a ginormous smile on your face. hehe :D
    The characters are witty and fun to read about. I just love the dialouge throughout the whole book. With Sarah MacLean's great writing, it all ends up being a great story anyone will fall in love with. It doesn't hurt that there are cute guys with great personalities all over the place. There's Alex's brothers William/Will (23), Nicholas/Nick (21), Christopher/Kit (19), and Freddy the adorable flirt (not her brother). Oh and who can forget the main man, Gavin (23).
    -tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    SO fun!

    The Season is a fun, funny, exciting romp of a book--Alex, Ella and Vivi are best friends who actually CARE about each other, which makes the story a charming one to read. The romance is just sizzling enough, the mystery just nerve- wracking enough, and the end is oh so very satisfying!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo.com

    Seventeen-year-old Lady Alexandra Stafford is being introduced into Regency London this season. Too bad she doesn't fit in with her sharp tongue and the fact that she hates dress fittings. The last thing Alex wants is to marry, which is why her mother, the Duchess, is so thrilled it is finally her season.

    While Alex attends lavish balls and extravagant dinner parties with her two best friends, Ella and Vivi, she also manages to uncover an important secret involving Gavin Blackmoor, a family friend. His father, the Earl, was killed, and Alex wants to help Gavin find the murderer.

    In the process of growing closer to Gavin, she finds her feelings changing, and realizes that maybe marriage and love aren't as bad as she thought them to be.

    I am a big historical fiction fan, and this book did not disappoint. Sarah MacLean wrote a beautiful debut novel that was hard to put down. Alex's character was witty and fun. She seemed like someone I would be friends with! Gavin was a handsome character who was also sweet.

    If you ever come across THE SEASON, you should definitely pick it up. It was great, and I recommend it to anyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Seasons!!!!

    I loved this book!!! i couldn't put it down!!! I read it in one day. I loved the plot and the romance!!!! IT IS A MUST READ!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Period Piece

    I read this book over a couple of days and found it so thrilling that I didnt want to put it down. The way Ms. MacLean has written this book, you are left hanging till the very end to know who they are after. More than once I found myself gasping out loud at the way events turned.
    There is alot of romance in this book, but its so nice to have something other than vampires to make our hearts beat a little faster. The main character Alex(Alexandra) is a headstrong young woman who is thrown into the London social season, an unwilling participant. Her mother wants her to find a suitor and her place in society. But along the way, she finds more than her share of adventure with her two best friends Vivi and Ella.
    I recommend this to any girl who wants a great true love story, but enough suspense to keep her up till the early hours of the night.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorta lame.

    The synopsis for this book was intriguing to me because it describes it as a thrilling murder mystery with romance for young adults all set in the Regency era. I haven't ever read a book described like this before, and it sounded really good, but it really wasn't. What was disappointing about The Season was the ratio of romance to mystery. It was like a whole pie to a really tiny slice that your mom who is on a diet would order (romance is a whole pie because there was lots of it, and mystery is a tiny slice because it was hardly there.I like pie, okay?). I was waiting for the clues and the sleuthing but it never really came along until the last hundred pages and by then I was so exacerbated I didn't care anymore.
    I also found the characters flat. All Alex ever seems to talk/think/dream about is not getting married and not being chased by hotties and I DON'T CARE ANYMORE I GET IT. Her best friends are pretty boring too, mainly because they're all the same and don't serve any purpose other than to agree with each other. "I hate marriage." "So do I." "Me three!" And not to mention Gavin (who is not 'brooding' at all, book jacket), who is so obviously going to cure Alex's aversion to men that its sad.
    Overall I would not recommend this book, because its not very good. If you want to read something with mystery and sweet, subtle romance and awesome BFFs, read Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I love this book!!!

    I love this book. It's awesome and I keep reading it over and over again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful random find

    I was having a horrible day so I decided to stop by a book store to see if they had Wicked. Unfortunately, they didn't; this looked good so I decided to just get it. The Season turned out to be the only good thing that happened to me that day. It is a wonderful book that was incredibly difficult to put down. I found it hard to believe that this was just Sarah MacLean's first novel, she writes like a pro. Bravo Sarah MacLean! I highly anticipate your next novel and expect it to be just as great!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    A great book for Pride and Prejudice fans.

    I really enjoyed reading this book! Once I started reading, I was very content to keep reading and avoid my "real life". Now that I'm done with the book, I wish it had been longer!<BR/><BR/>I loved the characters, the mystery and the romance. I especially liked the chemistry between the two main characters. I think BBC should make a movie based on this book- it would be great! I hoping there will be sequels about Vivi and Elle finding their "ONES".

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Charming Regency Confection

    It's About: Alex, Vivi and Ella are all set for their debut Season, but they're far from the poised, proper Regency ladies they're expected to become. Least of all, Alex, whose debut comes first, and somehow (perhaps because she just can't help but meddle) she ends up embroiled in the mystery of the Earl of Blackmoor's unexpected demise.<BR/><BR/>Even more unexpected, Alex finds herself falling for the new Earl of Blackmoor- a family friend she's known as Gavin all her life. Surrounded by a stable of over-protective brothers, and a society that demands nothing less than propriety, Alex is bound to have the most interesting Season yet.<BR/><BR/>MacLean has a gift for creating intricate settings- all the fine details that make up this regency world are beautifully drawn, but she never lapses into a place where the setting is more fascinating than the story. Each of her characters are handsomely drawn, from the spirited trio of girls that make up the centerpiece of the story, from the galloping hordes of Alex's brothers, to even the unnamed, but arched-browed ladies of the Ton.<BR/><BR/>I have to admit a particular fondness for secondary player, Freddie Stanhope- who swears to be a rake and womanizer of the worst sort, but whom I suspect (and I hope I will discover in future installments of this series,) is probably just a sweetheart, deep down inside. <BR/><BR/>Would I Give This Book to a Teen: The spirited young women in this novel play within the confines of the society in which they live, instead of shamelessly breaking them. Definitely a treat for young women who love Austen, historicals, and sweet romance.<BR/><BR/>Would I Give This Book to an Adult: Definitely to Regency fans, and to anyone with a taste for something satisfyingly romantic. Because it deals with the first season, and so many novels of the era, and current novels about the era, deal with the same, I think this is a perfect book for adult readers to slip into the YA conception of the Regency world.<BR/><BR/>>My 15 Year Old Son Says: He thinks the brown haired girl on the cover is kind of cute. He refuses to specify which brown haired girl.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Love it!

    I really do adore this book. At first I was a little sketchy about it, but as soon as I sat down and read it, I was hooked!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!!!

    I love love love this book. I am in love with this book! I read this book in, like, 4 hours last night!!! I am so excited I can barely type!!! I love this book! I would definitely recommend reading it. Especially if you are into the whole historical fiction thing, or Regency England or anything like that. Or if you just like a good romance danger adventure mystery sort of book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Page turner!

    A great story with love and romance embedded into murder and mistery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Don't judge a book by it's cover. In this particular case that i

    Don't judge a book by it's cover. In this particular case that is extremely true. From the cover, I assumed this book would be a low cost poorly written story. I had low expectations starting it, but soon realized that the author was in fact talented in the way she writes her book. She did a great job with the characters, the main plot, overall it was a very enjoyable book. It usually takes alot to make me laugh aloud while reading, but she managed it a few times. I definately think this book is worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    AMZi AMAZING

    I love this book. It was really really good. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Not good Not good...FANTASTIC!!!

    This book is the perfect mix of mystery humor and romance.
    Loved how the characters were true and entertaning and i highly recomned this book to anyone it is definetly worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Wonderful, Highly recommended

    The Season was a fantastic book. I loved the setting and time period where it took place, the charachters and everything about it. This book had a little bit of everthing, wonderful conversations, interesting charachter, mystery, and romance. This book made me laugh, and I will definitely read it many more times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book! This book was so wonderful and I e

    I absolutely loved this book! This book was so wonderful and I especially loved the conversations {especially the ones including Gavin}. It made me laugh at times. I recommend this book to anyone who likes 19th century London, mystery, and sweet romance. I loved everything about this book, and you should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Excellent!!!

    This book was great fun to read all the way to the end. Characters were well - developed and understandable. I so enjoyed reading this book as it portrayed the romance of the period without going into the entire detail. I am not a prude but today's new romances seem to "over-share" in that department and it takes up 2/3 of the book. I do wish she would write other books as follow up that told stories of the brothers and Alex's friends. This book does not disappoint!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    ??????????

    How many pages is it??????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10