Customer Reviews for

The Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great, romantic, and a page turner..what more could you need?

This book is amazing! I could not put it down, I just loved it so much from the beginning all the way to the end. I'm so sad it's over. Ah the ending is ..wow! Loved it!!
Alexandra a.k.a Alex/Minx(cuute nickname from Gavin)/Scamp, is a seventeen year old girl who is st...
This book is amazing! I could not put it down, I just loved it so much from the beginning all the way to the end. I'm so sad it's over. Ah the ending is ..wow! Loved it!!
Alexandra a.k.a Alex/Minx(cuute nickname from Gavin)/Scamp, is a seventeen year old girl who is starting her first season in 19th century London along side her two wonderful best friends, Ella and Vivi. She is dreading everything about it because she doesn't really believe in "The One" the way Vivi does or love in general.
At the balls she is forced to attend, she gains attention from a lot of unlikely candidates. Even some really cute ones like Freddy Stanhope.
Then there's Gavin (awww). Her childhood friend who once saved her from a tree (cute story) and who's always been like a fourth brother to her. He's starting to seem more and more different (in a good way). For some reason Alex never really saw him, until this season and now every time she sees him she practically gets butterflies in her stomach, but he's so busy laughing and dancing with the beautiful Penelope and having to deal with his father's recent death, or was it murder?
I HIGHLY recommend reading this book, you will not be disappointed. It will leave you with a ginormous smile on your face once you've finished it, actually throughout the whole book you'll end up with a ginormous smile on your face. hehe :D
The characters are witty and fun to read about. I just love the dialouge throughout the whole book. With Sarah MacLean's great writing, it all ends up being a great story anyone will fall in love with. It doesn't hurt that there are cute guys with great personalities all over the place. There's Alex's brothers William/Will (23), Nicholas/Nick (21), Christopher/Kit (19), and Freddy the adorable flirt (not her brother). Oh and who can forget the main man, Gavin (23).
-tvandbookaddict.blogspot.com

posted by robin_titan on March 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Sorta lame.

The synopsis for this book was intriguing to me because it describes it as a thrilling murder mystery with romance for young adults all set in the Regency era. I haven't ever read a book described like this before, and it sounded really good, but it really wasn't. What ...
The synopsis for this book was intriguing to me because it describes it as a thrilling murder mystery with romance for young adults all set in the Regency era. I haven't ever read a book described like this before, and it sounded really good, but it really wasn't. What was disappointing about The Season was the ratio of romance to mystery. It was like a whole pie to a really tiny slice that your mom who is on a diet would order (romance is a whole pie because there was lots of it, and mystery is a tiny slice because it was hardly there.I like pie, okay?). I was waiting for the clues and the sleuthing but it never really came along until the last hundred pages and by then I was so exacerbated I didn't care anymore.
I also found the characters flat. All Alex ever seems to talk/think/dream about is not getting married and not being chased by hotties and I DON'T CARE ANYMORE I GET IT. Her best friends are pretty boring too, mainly because they're all the same and don't serve any purpose other than to agree with each other. "I hate marriage." "So do I." "Me three!" And not to mention Gavin (who is not 'brooding' at all, book jacket), who is so obviously going to cure Alex's aversion to men that its sad.
Overall I would not recommend this book, because its not very good. If you want to read something with mystery and sweet, subtle romance and awesome BFFs, read Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty.

posted by Posy on July 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great read!!!

    This book is fantastic! A great hiatorical fiction book.. it reminds of Jane Austen. A must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Not Bad...

    It's a good story overall. I found it lacking in some parts, especially the romance, but it's sweet. A good book for teens as there are no steamy love scenes, unlike other books by this author. Try "Nine rules to break...." if you're looking for steamy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Medecine cat den

    Medecine cat den

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    T

    One of my fav books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Fun, engaging and held my attention until the very last word!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and all the characters in it! I recommend this novel to anybody who loves historical fiction, suspense, fun and family and friends! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Absolutely loved this book! Couldn't put it down. I am hoping

    Absolutely loved this book! Couldn't put it down. I am hoping for sequels for Alex's friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Really good book!

    This book was definitely a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Random

    This bok was an exciting thriller that i had a hard time putting down. It starts out pretty exciting with a scene where an unnamed man is seeking another mans life. The characters in this book are dynamic and i enjoued reading as they went along a journey of their own. The book as a mystery was very good...i actually did not know who the guilty part in the book was until it was written.

    The romance is also sweet . I enjoyed reading how alex is trying to olve the mystery secretly with her two best friends while also falling for someone who cares as much about her as she does about him.

    An good book that was very enjoyable! I definitely recommend it if you like romantic mysteries...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    A fun and easy read.

    On the whole I liked the book, but I found myself aggravated with the 2 main characters with their on and off again relationship. But the ending was a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    I LOVE this book!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is sooooooo amazing. Alex, Vivi, and Ella are amazing lead charachters and Gavin(Blackmoore) is a perfect "savior" and friend to all. I think that there should be a second book of their lives after, and Vivian and Will should b together. Love this book. I have the real book copy,(not the ebook), and I have read it so many times that the pages arent attache to the spine anymore. This book is definetely my alltime FAVORITE book!! I first read it when I was gen or eleven and I continue to read it over and over again!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Amazing

    I stayed up all nite trying to finish this book it was so amazing!!! I even read it a couple of times again wich i am not kown to do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    I loved this book! Kept my captivated from the very first page.

    I loved this book! Kept my captivated from the very first page. Mystery, romance it has it all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Love it

    It was so cool but a bit to love sikaning for me. But I love how Alex just trys to help an old family friend fined out who kiled his father and ends up falling in love with him. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Love

    I loved the time setting of this book that it was a mystery with romance!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Best book ever

    I love it if i could rate it higher i would

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended -

    A really good read. I enjoyed the entire book. Sarah MacLean is a very good writer. She's quickly becoming one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I love this book!

    Anyone who likes storys about girls stepping out of thier place in the times of the londen season should read this it is fun and easy to read and it includes romance drama friendship and mystery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Fun read

    I enjoyed the book and had fun reading it but the stiry and characters was a bit bland. The "mystery" was hardly even there and served no real purpose in the book. Alex and her friends all had the same personality which made it a bit...dull.

    I enjoyed the book but it wasnt my favorite and i probably wont read it again as i an known to do. I recomend you get it from the library and dont spend good money on the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Dear Anonymous from July 3, 2009,

    I will not read what you suggested because you very obviously do no have a good sence in books! This is an amazing book and if you think its not you are higher than a kite! (on a windy day, that is. Maybe at the beach because its always windier there) So just to sum it all up: Anonymous from July 3, 2009: your judgement sucks. And the rest of you: buy this book because its really really good. Have a nice life. I bid you farewell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    LOVED this book. I only read this book for a school so I could

    LOVED this book. I only read this book for a school so I could go on a field trip later on, I didn't know what to think of it based off of the summary on the back. I read it any ways and after Alexandra's dance with Lord Blackmoor ( Gavin ) I was hooked and didn't put the book down till I was finished. I loved this book for many reasons 1. It has a very detailed romance that is in the spotlight but stays alive even when put on the back burner to a murder mystery 2. It is read from both sides of the romance so you read how Alexandra feels about a situation then you read about how Gavin feels about part or the whole situation. This is done in a smooth way though in the fact that you dont feel like your rereading something because Sarah writes it in a way that is like a flashback or a fait memory,or even how unjust it is to be stuck with the man your trying not to love but are still madly in love with as a escort to a dance. 3. Takes place in 1815 a time i personally love just because you still had gentlemen :) 4. I could relate to Alexandra's feeling towards her older brothers, feeling of love. Over all a wonderful book that you've got to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10