BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Season Beyond a Kiss

Average Rating 3
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining historical romance

In 1803 Charleston, Jeff and Raelynn Birmingham seem happily married in spite of machinations from her Uncle Cooper and an odious wannabe lover Gustav Fridrich. However, she begins to doubt her husband¿s faithfulness when a teenager Nell claims he impregnated her. He ...
In 1803 Charleston, Jeff and Raelynn Birmingham seem happily married in spite of machinations from her Uncle Cooper and an odious wannabe lover Gustav Fridrich. However, she begins to doubt her husband¿s faithfulness when a teenager Nell claims he impregnated her. He vehemently denies her charges. After Nell gives birth, she again accuses Jeff of being the father. Soon after that, Raelynn finds Jeff holding a bloody knife while Nell lies nearby dead.

Raelynn believes Jeff killed Nell even though he denies it. She runs away, but he follows and rescues her from becoming lost in the swamp. They separate, but over time she misses her beloved spouse and begins to conclude that he could never kill in cold blood. However, someone did in the hope of setting up Jeff to take the fall and either the same assailant or another wants Raelynn dead too.

A SEASON BEYOND A KISS, the long awaited sequel to the classic THE FLAME AND THE FLOWER, is an interesting historical romantic intrigue that fans of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss will enjoy. The story line is filled with tension and plenty of action. The tale starts off a bit slow, but once the plot picks up speed it never slows down until the climax. Raelynn¿s behavior seems offbeat and inappropriate especially her attitude towards the heroic Jeff. Readers will love the lead male character and hiss at the various villains. Though no flaming flower, A SEASON BEYOND A KISS is an enjoyable novel that can stand-alone.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes ...
I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes the book feel like porn. Woodiwiss usually builds up the story, characters, and suspense/tension, making for an enjoyable read. She failed on this one.

posted by moverton on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Terrible

    I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes the book feel like porn. Woodiwiss usually builds up the story, characters, and suspense/tension, making for an enjoyable read. She failed on this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Horrid!!!

    I have read just about all woodwiss' books and I have to say that this takes the cake for being the worst. The characters are so poorly developed...., the story bores you to tears. I actually fell asleep reading this book, and I'm a person who normally misses sleep to stay up and read. I would not recommend this book to anybody. Woodwiss is clearly under par.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Least favorite

    It seemed to me the authoress had a bigger story in mind for Jeffrey Burmingham but for unknown reason decided to rush through it. Too bad because I was fond of Brandon's brother in the first book. I would profure the story to start when they first meet rather than after marriage. I wish the story had more insight into Jeff,s thouhts and most of the love making parts were closer to porn than the celebrations of union KW usually masters. I did like the male friends & comraderie they sharred + thier back stories, that was nice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Since I have been reading and enjoying Woodiwiss' books for near

    Since I have been reading and enjoying Woodiwiss' books for nearly twenty-five years, I fully expected to enjoy this one as well. Where usually I can't put her books down, I couldn't seem to pick this one up, and it took me several months to finish it. The stilted dialogue and unusually high rate of verbiage made me wonder more than once whether I was really reading a Woodiwiss book. I respect her as a writer too much to actually say the book sucked, but I was certainly underwhelmed by this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Ransan

    I find myself skipping a lot of pages. Poor reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This book is so slow and boring. Not like her usual writting.

    This book is so slow and boring. Not like her usual writting. You have to get half way through the book for it start to get somewhat interesting. Very disappointed. Not one of her better books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the fam

    I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the family saga. After reading the reviews of this book I found the background for this book were two short stories in Three Weddings and A Kiss also Marred at Midnight. I chose to read only "A Kiss" and was able to figure out through the narrative exactly what was going on. I enjoyed it very much. Loved Jeff, but Raelynn was not the most memorable or brightest female of the Woodiss books.but since she is a teenager you have to give her a break.. It was a good love story which is what we all are following with the Birmingham men.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    Enjoyable yet confusing

    I enjoyed this book as I do all of Woodiwiss's books but why did she call this a sequel when it is actually a prequel. The novel before this one, ' The Elusive Flame' takes place after 'A season Beyond a Kiss'. Beau Birbingham is just a child in this novel. While he was romancing Cerynise Kendall one book ago. I would have liked them to be in chronological order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining historical romance

    In 1803 Charleston, Jeff and Raelynn Birmingham seem happily married in spite of machinations from her Uncle Cooper and an odious wannabe lover Gustav Fridrich. However, she begins to doubt her husband¿s faithfulness when a teenager Nell claims he impregnated her. He vehemently denies her charges. After Nell gives birth, she again accuses Jeff of being the father. Soon after that, Raelynn finds Jeff holding a bloody knife while Nell lies nearby dead. <P>Raelynn believes Jeff killed Nell even though he denies it. She runs away, but he follows and rescues her from becoming lost in the swamp. They separate, but over time she misses her beloved spouse and begins to conclude that he could never kill in cold blood. However, someone did in the hope of setting up Jeff to take the fall and either the same assailant or another wants Raelynn dead too. <P>A SEASON BEYOND A KISS, the long awaited sequel to the classic THE FLAME AND THE FLOWER, is an interesting historical romantic intrigue that fans of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss will enjoy. The story line is filled with tension and plenty of action. The tale starts off a bit slow, but once the plot picks up speed it never slows down until the climax. Raelynn¿s behavior seems offbeat and inappropriate especially her attitude towards the heroic Jeff. Readers will love the lead male character and hiss at the various villains. Though no flaming flower, A SEASON BEYOND A KISS is an enjoyable novel that can stand-alone. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Love it

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Strongly Recommend

    Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Great Romantic Read

    If I'm going to read a romance novel. Kathleen's books are on my list. When I want to relax and escape into a world of romance, her books are perfect. The first I every read was The Wolf and The Dove and I've been a fan ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    do not waste your money!

    I had been waiting for this book to come out as the character of Jeff in the Flame and the Flower was great. This book had no deepth to it at all & you had to read two intro books before this book even starts. Had Flame & the Flower been as shallow as this one been of the same type I never would have bothered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    The Misunderstandings

    A lot of people don't really understand this book because they didn't read Jeff's story prior to this one. There are two books that tell more background information. The books are called "Married at Midnight and Three weddings and a Kiss". If you read the short stories in these books you will be able to understand this story better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    MUST HAVE FOR WOODWISS LIBRARY

    Kathleen up to her usual standards. Not all sequels follow the path we would like. Jeff finally had his moment to shine. Although all of us fell in love with Brandon and Heather, it was time to tell another tale. Keep writing Kathleen. You've never let me down yet. I've been 'hooked' on you for twenty-eight years!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Blech! So much for sequels

    I have read all of Ms. Woodiwiss' books. This one was awful. When she ran out of plot, the couple hit the sheets. There was zero character development. The story made little sense and rambled all over the place, and was hard to follow if you hadn't read the 4 Weddings book. (I also note she made reference to Beau's eyes 'changing colors' from green to blue to cover up her boo-boo in 'The Elusive Flame' - fast footwork there, Ms. W.!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    i want to know where kathleen has gone!

    i really enjoyed reading a season beyond a kiss. the story line was compelling and held me spellbond the entire book. i love all the characters and i especially love the setting of old world charm. keep writing these wonderful stories kathleen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    A Season beyond a Kiss

    This was so disappointing. I could not get through the first 200 pages. There was no spark, no chemistry, nothing to hold my interest. I have read everything she has written and this is the first that I had a hard time completing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    Still Searching

    I'm still searching for the beginning of this story! I read The Flame and the Flower so long ago that I honestly don't remember if Raelynn's story was told at the end of it or not. If not, there is way too much missing from this book. Woodiwiss sprinkles parts of Raelynn's history throughout the book, but at no point did I feel like I had caught up. She also spends way too much time describing bedroom scenes in the first part of the book. I kept wondering when the story was going to begin. What a disappointment from an author who can write wonderful books! Ashes in the Wind was the best she ever wrote. I'm now going to go back and re-read Flower and the Flame in order to see if there was something in there that I should have been able to remember while reading Season Beyond a Kiss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    An extrodinary Book---Very much up to her standard writting

    I was extremely pleased and thouroughly enjoyed the novel,,it was definetley Kathleen E. Woodwiss excellent writting that made the book so good, The only thing that was missing was a prelude to lead you into the story of how they meet but as I began reading the book I could'nt put it down. Keeep up the excellent writting Kathleen,,I enjoy your books alot and wished you wrote faster so I could read more of your writting more often,,,You are one of my favorite 2 authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4