Customer Reviews for

A Season Beyond a Kiss

Average Rating 3
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the fam

I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the family saga. After reading the reviews of this book I found the background for this book were two short stories in Three Weddings and A Kiss also Marred at Midnight. I chose to read only "A Kiss" a...
I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the family saga. After reading the reviews of this book I found the background for this book were two short stories in Three Weddings and A Kiss also Marred at Midnight. I chose to read only "A Kiss" and was able to figure out through the narrative exactly what was going on. I enjoyed it very much. Loved Jeff, but Raelynn was not the most memorable or brightest female of the Woodiss books.but since she is a teenager you have to give her a break.. It was a good love story which is what we all are following with the Birmingham men.

posted by Geegat on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes ...
I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes the book feel like porn. Woodiwiss usually builds up the story, characters, and suspense/tension, making for an enjoyable read. She failed on this one.

posted by moverton on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Terrible

    I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes the book feel like porn. Woodiwiss usually builds up the story, characters, and suspense/tension, making for an enjoyable read. She failed on this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    Horrid!!!

    I have read just about all woodwiss' books and I have to say that this takes the cake for being the worst. The characters are so poorly developed...., the story bores you to tears. I actually fell asleep reading this book, and I'm a person who normally misses sleep to stay up and read. I would not recommend this book to anybody. Woodwiss is clearly under par.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Since I have been reading and enjoying Woodiwiss' books for near

    Since I have been reading and enjoying Woodiwiss' books for nearly twenty-five years, I fully expected to enjoy this one as well. Where usually I can't put her books down, I couldn't seem to pick this one up, and it took me several months to finish it. The stilted dialogue and unusually high rate of verbiage made me wonder more than once whether I was really reading a Woodiwiss book. I respect her as a writer too much to actually say the book sucked, but I was certainly underwhelmed by this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This book is so slow and boring. Not like her usual writting.

    This book is so slow and boring. Not like her usual writting. You have to get half way through the book for it start to get somewhat interesting. Very disappointed. Not one of her better books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    do not waste your money!

    I had been waiting for this book to come out as the character of Jeff in the Flame and the Flower was great. This book had no deepth to it at all & you had to read two intro books before this book even starts. Had Flame & the Flower been as shallow as this one been of the same type I never would have bothered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Blech! So much for sequels

    I have read all of Ms. Woodiwiss' books. This one was awful. When she ran out of plot, the couple hit the sheets. There was zero character development. The story made little sense and rambled all over the place, and was hard to follow if you hadn't read the 4 Weddings book. (I also note she made reference to Beau's eyes 'changing colors' from green to blue to cover up her boo-boo in 'The Elusive Flame' - fast footwork there, Ms. W.!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2000

    Lacking in energy and fun

    This was so disappointing. I could not get through the first 200 pages. There was no spark, no chemistry, nothing to hold my interest. I have read everything she has written and I just don't get it. It was trite and mundane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING

    EAGERLY LOOKED FORWARD TO READING THIS BOOK, BUT I WAS SO DISAPPOINTED. DEFINITELY NOT UP TO WOODWISS STYLE. ASHES IN THE WIND WAS ONE OF HER BEST - BUT THIS WAS VERY 'CORNY'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    A poor effort from an author who can do better

    This book felt like it was thrown together in one sitting. The characters were flat and predictable. The bedroom scenes were unconvincing at best, lacking any real anticipatory tension. If you're a Woodiwiss fan, skip this novel. Reread her earlier books instead (my favorite, 'A Rose in Winter.' ) I'm looking forward to a better story next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Rambling

    I have bought all of Kathleen's books based on the first five she published. Either my tastes have changed or the books are far too descriptive for me that I lose interest. The characters didn't leave the bedroom in the first scene for the 1st 100 pages. (This may be a slight stretch but you get my point) I could care less about the characters and honestly never finished the novel. However, I have reread Shanna at least a dozen times. Have I become too discriminating in my reading or is Kathleen just rambling too much?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1