Customer Reviews for

A Season Beyond a Kiss

Average Rating 3
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the fam

I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the family saga. After reading the reviews of this book I found the background for this book were two short stories in Three Weddings and A Kiss also Marred at Midnight. I chose to read only "A Kiss" a...
I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the family saga. After reading the reviews of this book I found the background for this book were two short stories in Three Weddings and A Kiss also Marred at Midnight. I chose to read only "A Kiss" and was able to figure out through the narrative exactly what was going on. I enjoyed it very much. Loved Jeff, but Raelynn was not the most memorable or brightest female of the Woodiss books.but since she is a teenager you have to give her a break.. It was a good love story which is what we all are following with the Birmingham men.

posted by Geegat on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes ...
I have loved most of the Woodiwiss books, but this one is at the very bottom of the list. It is a continuation of another story I haven't read, so I was left feeling like I was missing something. Then the characters have a love scene in the first chapter, which makes the book feel like porn. Woodiwiss usually builds up the story, characters, and suspense/tension, making for an enjoyable read. She failed on this one.

posted by moverton on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the fam

    I read The Flame & the Flower and wanted to continue the family saga. After reading the reviews of this book I found the background for this book were two short stories in Three Weddings and A Kiss also Marred at Midnight. I chose to read only "A Kiss" and was able to figure out through the narrative exactly what was going on. I enjoyed it very much. Loved Jeff, but Raelynn was not the most memorable or brightest female of the Woodiss books.but since she is a teenager you have to give her a break.. It was a good love story which is what we all are following with the Birmingham men.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    Enjoyable yet confusing

    I enjoyed this book as I do all of Woodiwiss's books but why did she call this a sequel when it is actually a prequel. The novel before this one, ' The Elusive Flame' takes place after 'A season Beyond a Kiss'. Beau Birbingham is just a child in this novel. While he was romancing Cerynise Kendall one book ago. I would have liked them to be in chronological order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining historical romance

    In 1803 Charleston, Jeff and Raelynn Birmingham seem happily married in spite of machinations from her Uncle Cooper and an odious wannabe lover Gustav Fridrich. However, she begins to doubt her husband¿s faithfulness when a teenager Nell claims he impregnated her. He vehemently denies her charges. After Nell gives birth, she again accuses Jeff of being the father. Soon after that, Raelynn finds Jeff holding a bloody knife while Nell lies nearby dead. <P>Raelynn believes Jeff killed Nell even though he denies it. She runs away, but he follows and rescues her from becoming lost in the swamp. They separate, but over time she misses her beloved spouse and begins to conclude that he could never kill in cold blood. However, someone did in the hope of setting up Jeff to take the fall and either the same assailant or another wants Raelynn dead too. <P>A SEASON BEYOND A KISS, the long awaited sequel to the classic THE FLAME AND THE FLOWER, is an interesting historical romantic intrigue that fans of Kathleen E. Woodiwiss will enjoy. The story line is filled with tension and plenty of action. The tale starts off a bit slow, but once the plot picks up speed it never slows down until the climax. Raelynn¿s behavior seems offbeat and inappropriate especially her attitude towards the heroic Jeff. Readers will love the lead male character and hiss at the various villains. Though no flaming flower, A SEASON BEYOND A KISS is an enjoyable novel that can stand-alone. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Love it

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    Strongly Recommend

    Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Great Romantic Read

    If I'm going to read a romance novel. Kathleen's books are on my list. When I want to relax and escape into a world of romance, her books are perfect. The first I every read was The Wolf and The Dove and I've been a fan ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    The Misunderstandings

    A lot of people don't really understand this book because they didn't read Jeff's story prior to this one. There are two books that tell more background information. The books are called "Married at Midnight and Three weddings and a Kiss". If you read the short stories in these books you will be able to understand this story better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    MUST HAVE FOR WOODWISS LIBRARY

    Kathleen up to her usual standards. Not all sequels follow the path we would like. Jeff finally had his moment to shine. Although all of us fell in love with Brandon and Heather, it was time to tell another tale. Keep writing Kathleen. You've never let me down yet. I've been 'hooked' on you for twenty-eight years!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    The lates masterpiece in the series

    I have read all of the books about the Bringnhams and this one being the lates. You will not be disapointed. If you are expecting a book as good as the rest then you are in for a treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Verry Good

    I have read many of her books. She is one of my favorite. This book was good from the start. It held my attention and kept it peaked. Although I would have liked ot see a little more action in the book it did keep moving. Her best was the Ashes in The Wind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    A Season beyond a Kiss

    This is a good book, that is easy to read. Not one that I could not put down, but still one that I knew from the first page that I would read all the way to the end. The characters were believable, and the plot easy to follow . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2000

    great expectations

    I found the book very gratifying in many aspects. I enjoyed living in the world of the Birminghams. if your looking for a sequel to The Flame and The Flower this is it, yet it is missing some of the details of love and passion that The Flame and the Flower holds. I found myself not wanting to put the book down until i finished it always wanting more(like i do with all Kathleen Woodwiss books) It is surely one not to miss!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    Woodiwiss triumphs

    This book by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss is a definite must read. I have thoroughly enjoyed the books about the Birmingham family ever since I was a pre-teen. I must have bought three copies of 'The Flame and the Flower' because I wore them all out. This book is like rediscovering a long-lost friend because ever since I read the short story about Jeff and Raelynn, it only made me want more of their story. 'A Season Beyond a Kiss' reminds me of Woodiwiss' early works--only better. She has written characters with much more depth than I have ever seen in any of her novels. Anyone who reads this book will have to have it for their To-Keep Shelf--and they'll never regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1