Customer Reviews for

Season of the Harvest

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK

I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK now for about 1 year. I am an AVID 65 year old book reader and have been all my life. I classify this as one of the top 10 books that I have read in my life. I have probably read 2000+ books. This one d...
I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK now for about 1 year. I am an AVID 65 year old book reader and have been all my life. I classify this as one of the top 10 books that I have read in my life. I have probably read 2000+ books. This one deserves 10 STARS ********** !

posted by DRBBASS on December 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

!

First...to the long winded posters who reveal plots of the books and ruin it for others, know than bn has been contacted and they do not like that u ppl are revealing and ruining books. They will investigate and with luck, u will b banned and rightfully so. Now....the ...
First...to the long winded posters who reveal plots of the books and ruin it for others, know than bn has been contacted and they do not like that u ppl are revealing and ruining books. They will investigate and with luck, u will b banned and rightfully so. Now....the book was a thriller and scary to think it could happen. Some of it was a little deep and i had to re-read parts to understand, but overall it was an edge of your seat thrill ride. Would make a good movie!

posted by 8888649 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    !

    First...to the long winded posters who reveal plots of the books and ruin it for others, know than bn has been contacted and they do not like that u ppl are revealing and ruining books. They will investigate and with luck, u will b banned and rightfully so. Now....the book was a thriller and scary to think it could happen. Some of it was a little deep and i had to re-read parts to understand, but overall it was an edge of your seat thrill ride. Would make a good movie!

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK

    I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK now for about 1 year. I am an AVID 65 year old book reader and have been all my life. I classify this as one of the top 10 books that I have read in my life. I have probably read 2000+ books. This one deserves 10 STARS ********** !

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Entertainingly educational fast paced read!

    I wasn't sure what to expect other than this was a book about GMOs be an author who wrote a cat (just like mine) as a main character. My fri ends at Coastal Conversations' blog on wordpress recommended this as one of their monthly picks which is how it made it onto my reading list.

    I found the author had a light hand and was adept at using his skills to make some educational and entertaining social commentary in his narrative. His fleshing out of his characters gave me a full picture while keeping me guessing about each character's motivations. The explanation of the prevalence of GMOs in our world was unexpected and fascinating and terrifying.

    The fast paced plot and well written climax kept me up until the wee hours wanting to find out what happened next. The explosive ending left me wanting more and with the opening left, I hope Mr. Hicks follows this novel up with more of the story of Agent Dawson and his faithful sidekick Alexander.

    Even for those who might shy away from this one because of the implication of "sci-fi", I suggest you put your preconceptions aside and give this one a chance. I think you'll be glad you did.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Holy Cow! I had trouble breathing because the suspense/action of

    Holy Cow! I had trouble breathing because the suspense/action of this thriller was intense. Very, very interesting premise. In the Preface, the author was talking about GMOs. And at first I thought he was serious - GMOs are good for you - everyone knows that. Well, he was being very subtle in his sarcasm, because the premise of the story is scary. Great fiction. Great writing and terrific characters.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Exciting, fast-paced crime/mystery novel with elements of scifi

    The story grabs you from the first chapter and I found it hard to put down as I had to find out what happened next! Interesting characters, fascinating subject, and a murder investigation hampered by needing to know who to trust. I would be interested in the further adventures of Jack Dawson.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Who needs sleep?

    Loved it! Riveting. Quite the storyline, just plausible enough to creep me out.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    This book seemed well written, but was so gory I only read 45 pages out of 1114.

    This had very high reviews and a wonderful premise. It seemed extremly well edited for a free book. I was only able to read 45 pages of the story. The novel is about 1114 pages long. What I read was very good and it really piqued my intrest. Unfortunately, I had had a very stressful day and the extreme gory description of a man's murder really upset me. I had to archive this book for a later attempt to read it. Things like this usually do not bother me, but this was very graphic indeed. I was doing pretty well until the line, "he was alive while they did this to him" was made. This book is for adult men and women, who can handle very graphic, violent details. In a few days I will try it again.

    AD

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Not so sure that this book is fiction! LOL GMO's are real and

    Not so sure that this book is fiction! LOL GMO's are real and in the real world the so called scientist responsible for GMO's are not human. They have no heart, no soul, no moral compass, they only think of control and destruction. If you're interested in the subject or you just like sci fi, don't miss this one. I couldn't put this book down. It keeps you on edge wondering what will happen next and yes it's a little creepy but a big Bravo to Michael Hicks for including the GMO subject ( and for giving a cat a staring role).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Loved it

    This author deserves to become ..... rich and famous. I love the style even if I am not a sci fi buff

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I'd give this book 4.5 stars if 4.5 was available. I wouldn't g

    I'd give this book 4.5 stars if 4.5 was available. I wouldn't give any book 5 unless it was brilliant.

    I can't believe I got this book for free and then enjoyed it so much. It's fasting moving without meandering subplots. Maybe it isn't haughty taughty literature but it's still well written and fun.

    If you like the type of movie that has aliens' heads exploding but you're enough of a thinker to enjoy a good novel as much as a movie, you'll like this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    very good

    Omit the occasional f bomb and I would give it a 5.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Really liked this book

    Good story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Excellent read! Makes you sit back and think about what you migh

    Excellent read! Makes you sit back and think about what you might unknowingly eat. Two thumbs up!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Good book that could use a little trim

    Season of the Harvest is a book with some really high highs and some sluggish low points, on of which is in the beginning and then a bit father in. That shouldn't deter anybody from picking this book up though. What starts out as a standard thriller quickly takes a sci-fi/horror turn without losing the feel that it had already set up. The characters are solid and there is clearing a lot of research into both GMOs and all the other technology that is in the book. I was turning pages and staying up till two in bed with my book light every night so that is probably the best praise I can give any book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Great Sci-fi Thriller

    GMO's. Genetically Modified Organism. This book will make you think twice about what you eat and where it came from. Gave me chills a couple of times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Great read! Made you think about what's going on today! Well written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    surprisingly good

    good character development, story & all around good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Fabulous

    This was a great series. Thank you to Mr. Hicks. I received this book (series) for free, thoroughly enjoyed it. Didn't take long to finish it. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Great, exciting read!!! Makes the GMO topic even more unnerving

    Great, exciting read!!! Makes the GMO topic even more unnerving!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    A Must Read!

    Genetically modified foods and aliens! Who would have ever thought to put them together. It is a fact that should you name the companies that take seeds and add DNA they will absolutely break you if you ever complain about them. GMO's are in 80% of all products in the grocery store! Michael has sheer and entertaining genius to come up with aliens, yes the little green guys being behind it all. You can not put this down when the characters are in the middle of a fight for their lives. By the way, what about rates for autism up 810% in the last 15 yrs! Think about that one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7