Customer Reviews for

Season of the Harvest

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK

I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK now for about 1 year. I am an AVID 65 year old book reader and have been all my life. I classify this as one of the top 10 books that I have read in my life. I have probably read 2000+ books. This one d...
I wish I could give this book 10 Stars. I have owened my NOOK now for about 1 year. I am an AVID 65 year old book reader and have been all my life. I classify this as one of the top 10 books that I have read in my life. I have probably read 2000+ books. This one deserves 10 STARS ********** !

posted by DRBBASS on December 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

!

First...to the long winded posters who reveal plots of the books and ruin it for others, know than bn has been contacted and they do not like that u ppl are revealing and ruining books. They will investigate and with luck, u will b banned and rightfully so. Now....the ...
First...to the long winded posters who reveal plots of the books and ruin it for others, know than bn has been contacted and they do not like that u ppl are revealing and ruining books. They will investigate and with luck, u will b banned and rightfully so. Now....the book was a thriller and scary to think it could happen. Some of it was a little deep and i had to re-read parts to understand, but overall it was an edge of your seat thrill ride. Would make a good movie!

posted by 8888649 on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Who needs sleep?

    Loved it! Riveting. Quite the storyline, just plausible enough to creep me out.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Not so sure that this book is fiction! LOL GMO's are real and

    Not so sure that this book is fiction! LOL GMO's are real and in the real world the so called scientist responsible for GMO's are not human. They have no heart, no soul, no moral compass, they only think of control and destruction. If you're interested in the subject or you just like sci fi, don't miss this one. I couldn't put this book down. It keeps you on edge wondering what will happen next and yes it's a little creepy but a big Bravo to Michael Hicks for including the GMO subject ( and for giving a cat a staring role).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I'd give this book 4.5 stars if 4.5 was available. I wouldn't g

    I'd give this book 4.5 stars if 4.5 was available. I wouldn't give any book 5 unless it was brilliant.

    I can't believe I got this book for free and then enjoyed it so much. It's fasting moving without meandering subplots. Maybe it isn't haughty taughty literature but it's still well written and fun.

    If you like the type of movie that has aliens' heads exploding but you're enough of a thinker to enjoy a good novel as much as a movie, you'll like this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    very good

    Omit the occasional f bomb and I would give it a 5.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Excellent read! Makes you sit back and think about what you migh

    Excellent read! Makes you sit back and think about what you might unknowingly eat. Two thumbs up!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Good book that could use a little trim

    Season of the Harvest is a book with some really high highs and some sluggish low points, on of which is in the beginning and then a bit father in. That shouldn't deter anybody from picking this book up though. What starts out as a standard thriller quickly takes a sci-fi/horror turn without losing the feel that it had already set up. The characters are solid and there is clearing a lot of research into both GMOs and all the other technology that is in the book. I was turning pages and staying up till two in bed with my book light every night so that is probably the best praise I can give any book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    surprisingly good

    good character development, story & all around good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Wow

    Almost halfway through and had to rate and review. Great story keeping me up late..... thanks for the best freebie yet!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Interesting story

    This story gave me another reason to beware of gmo foods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Good story. Well written. Want more. -Town Crier

    Overall, a very good story about an alien invasion from within our human ranks. The romance scenes were a bit contrived and really unnecessary. Still, I think that this author is well worth following.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    good book

    Will make you wonder

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Good read

    I don't know how much danger gmo's actually pose, but this book takes a look at what could be a worse case senario. The story moves quickly and keeps you on the edge of yor seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    At the top of the list

    This series is my THIS YEARS FAVORITE. I know most of those places, modes of transport and, department heads. Thank you for the revisit. MORE PLEASE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Good!

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Very scary book made all the more scary because you can actually

    Very scary book made all the more scary because you can actually make yourself think "this could happen."  There was a bit too much detail for me involving the surroundings and layout of the hidden location. At times I felt that this was a man's novel and felt like it could be made into a science fiction horror movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Loved it

    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    I found out about this book on Twitter from the Author. I began

    I found out about this book on Twitter from the Author. I began reading it Friday and just finished it up Monday afternoon. I found the story engaging and well written. The story came to somewhat of a conclusion while leaving an opening for future story lines to be generated. I won't go in to any detail as I don't believe in being a spoiler. I will be recommending this book as a good read. I would like to say Thank you to the author for his efforts and look forward to exploring the world he has created in other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Loved it

    This was fiction but could be a future worry... long but but couldn't put it down. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author Hick's sci-thriller novel packs a solid wallop! Reading S

    Author Hick's sci-thriller novel packs a solid wallop! Reading Season of Harvest, I was carried along on a flood of both engaging, recognizable characters and a completely mystifying construct consisting of a collision of worlds. His main character, an honorable FBI Agent stuck inside of an investigation he should have stepped away from, finds out things about Genetically Altered agricultural products than he could never have imagined. The loss of a close friend, it turns out, is also close to the heart of a global threat pushing human life towards a grisly extinction. The nature of the few loyal allies the good-guys have in their resistance, is worth the read alone! The author's skill at pacing is evident as is his scholarship in the research that is at the heart of this terrifyingly believable yet not quite assignable tale. It felt as if I was riding the alternating crests of crime thriller and scifi astonishment. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys either or both genres. When I closed the covers, I had a great deal left to think about, as I'm sure you will, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    This was definitely an edge-of-your-seat, look-over-your-shoulde

    This was definitely an edge-of-your-seat, look-over-your-shoulder story! The characters were believable, and had great depth; you could tell who was whom by mannerisms and speech. The plot was intense and it's obvious the author went to great lengths to research the different organizations and fields of science involved. I found myself unable to put the book down. The plot was so realistic that I would find myself sometimes wishing I had a cat, and would be almost afraid to look outside at night. I can't wait to read #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3