Customer Reviews for

A Season in Purgatory

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Great book with lots of undertones

    From the very begninning this book had me hooked. Dunne has a fabulous way of weaving words so the characters, as well as the reader, are intertwined. The Catholic undertones, though limited, speak volumes throughout the book. Even the title, to those who are familiar with purgatory as a place of cleansing onesself, has a deeper meaning when taken into context with the book. The characters are so well developed I kept asking myself 'what happened to Harrison? Constant? Mrs. Utley?' I felt for Harrison, a victim of time, place and situation who made a decision to free his own soul from his own purgatory. You won't want to put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Dunne's best!!

    This is the best novel that Dunne has ever written, it is wonderful in so many ways. I couldn't put it down! It was so good that I make all of my friend's read it as well and no one has ever been disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    A MUST READ

    This is a gripping book that you won't put down. The only bad part, is parting with the characters at the end. You won't want to read 'just another page', you'll want to read it all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    an easy read!!!

    I have seen this movie on 'Lifetime'and read the book on vacation last week. in 2 days...I could not put it down, and was very sorry to see it end.I was really captivated by Harrison Burns, the actor that played him in the movie was just outstanding and very good looking as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    I couldn't put it down

    This is one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. I could not put it down and it saddened me when I reached the last page. You find yourself wanting to follow the life of this man until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    I Could Not Put It Down!

    I don't read much; however, I saw the TV movie and wanted to read A Season in Purgatory. I was working and going to school full time when I read this 400+ page book in a week. The characters and story line keep you interested and always wanting to know more. You get attached to the characters. Harrison's tug of war with his morals and the Bradleys' power/money makes you believe there is reality to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    Excellent Book!!

    I loved this book!! If you like books about people with huge amounts of money, than you will love this book. This book was great because it showed rich people as having huge character flaws such as greediness. I highly recommend this book if you like books that talk about Kennedyesque power. Pick up this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    Model of Substance

    This was a book that has come across my mind often even though I read it over 2 years ago. You simply could not feel anything except a fierce eagerness that justice be served and disappointment that money can most times prevent that from happening. Sad but true book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    Dunne Keeps You Reading

    Dominick Dunne does an excellent job in his fictional portrayl of a wealthy family. He brings his characters to life. One can only imagine how easy it is for money to get people out of taking responisibilty for the violent crimes they committ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    This is the Most Compelling Book I have ever Read!

    I could not put this book down! If you are interested in Kennedy-esque glamour and intrigue, you should absolutely read this novel! The characters and story are fascinating. This was a book that has stayed with me, even though I first read it two years ago. I was even more compelled when I learned that this book is based on the currently sensational Martha Moxley case. I hope her killer is brought to justice as a result of this novel. Dominick Dunne is an incredible author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2000

    Excellent reading!

    This novel captivated me from the first page with it's obvious parallels to the Kennedy's. The unbelievable and incredibly affluent lives the family led in this book kept my attention for a long time, and I could barely put the book down. The theme of whether or not justice will prevail regarding such a rich and powerful family is one that is easy to find in present day society. I highly recommend this book for good summer reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1