Customer Reviews for

The Season of Passage

Average Rating 5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    I love this book and have read it countless times. I want it on

    I love this book and have read it countless times. I want it on my nook, but it's not available!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    This is by far my favorite book of all time. True horror at its

    This is by far my favorite book of all time. True horror at its best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    Old favorite

    I've read Christopher Pike since I was a teenager, and was surprised to see him writing adult novels. This was the one I chose to try first, and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised by it. Even after all these years, this is still one of my favorite books. The book grabs you from the very beginning and keeps a hold throughout the book. I don't see anyone getting tired of reading this one. This book is highly recommended for those who truly like suspense novels!!! And for those who get so involved in books that they find it hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I`m a huge fan of Christopher Pike ever since my middle-school y

    I`m a huge fan of Christopher Pike ever since my middle-school years reading his paperback books for young adults. After reading the Remember Me trilogy, which is my favorite from him, I saw that he released a new novel, Season Of Passage. I realize halfway through the book that it wasn't intended for young adults but for actual adults. The suspense, horror and overall tone of the book related a lot towards an older audience, but it he still keeps it relative to his first audiences. What I love about this book is the fact that he incorporated fantasy and a world beyond earth that ties everything in the end. As always, Pike's first-person narrative makes the characters in his book relate to us. You can hear his literary expression which lingers in all his previous books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    amazing book

    kept me guesing the whole time loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    I couldn't put this book down!

    This is Christopher Pike at his best... he reveals just enough of the plot at a time so that the reader can't guess what will happen next. That's what I always loved about Pike, I can never guess how the story will resolve itself.

    I won't say too much of the plot, so many others already have. But I will say that I love how Pike writes in such a way where I can actually feel what the characters feel. It's not like his writing gets into my head, but also my emotions. I can feel what ever character feels, and even after the book is over I'm still experiencing what the characters have gone through. Maybe that's why Pike can write stories that are fantastical or sci-fi, and yet they still feel so real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    WOW

    I loved this book so much. A few years ago, when I was about 12-13, I was bored reading plain fantasy novels about princesses and princes and some sci-fi, but it wasn't enough. I picked up this book while scimming my middle school media center, and saw the cover. I know the old saying, but sometimes, we can't help but judge a book by its cover. I checked it out, and two frightening hours later, I was sad to put it down. I never really had a favorite book, until this one. I loved it.
    Lauren Wagner narrates this book, and reading about her terrifying experiences was amazing. Pike takes Brahm Stoker's "Dracula" to a whole new level. It takes romance, passion, hate, adventure, and everything imaginable and wraps it up into the best novel I've ever read. I would recommend it to anyone, and have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    THE GREATEST BOOK EVER!!!!!

    Mr. Pike is the greatest author with the most vivid, compelling, imaginative stories that have EVER been introduced to world of literature. this book has been my favorite book for 8 yrs straight (since 12 years old) and i don't think it will ever change! i highly recommend this book to anyone young and old, whether you enjoy reading or not you will not disappointed in any shape way or form. please regard this seriously you will regret not reading such a wonderful book and trust me once you do you will totally fall in love with all the characters but most of all you'll never forget how well you relate to what the book encloses!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Season of Passage

    I love this novel. I discovered it when it first came out, as the author is one of my favorites. It combines vampires and Mars, weaving an amazing story of the origins of the human race, and how Mars' atmosphere was destroyed, with a modern day exploration of the planet, and the deep emotional commitments people make with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Nightmarish and blood curdling.What it speaks about, about Asurians controlling the minds of the children of shastra and through biting them changing them into Vampires is a reality ,a fact of life.Where I was born and grew up its an accepted fact,that Evil spirits or beings bite you at night and make you change into a devilish being like them suffering from thirst for blood and the thirst never gets slaked till the Devilish being is caught and burnt alive.Am from a town called Wau.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Amazing.

    I'm 20 years old and I remembered reading this book when I was younger. I absolutely loved it then. All the elements in this book wrap you up and you can't put it down. I just ordered another copy so I could read it again and I'm sure that it's everything I remember it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Great and memorable book

    This is the first time I've written a book review here. Reason I feel compelled to write one is I absolutely loved this book when I was a kid. I read it when I was 13/14, and the book had such an impact on me - not that it taught me anything about life, but the story was so incredible and masterfully told that it stayed with me for years. Every time I pass by the young adult section, I think of this book. I'm actually thinking of buying it (i lost the copy i had - i think i might have gotten it from the library) so I can read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    One of the Best

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. Pike is an amazing writer with more imagination than a 10 yr old. (that's hard to beat). I've never encountered an author with such originality. This book rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    scary!!!!

    OK, I am 27 years old and I had to sleep with the light on because of this book! I loved it!!! I haven't read one of Pikes books since I was a teen!!! I have to go and find all the ones I missed now!!! WOW SCARY. GREAT BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    best book over by Pike. better than 5 stars

    I have read almost every single book Pike has ever written (been reading his stuff for 12+ years on and off since I was a young teen) and this book I would ahve to say is by far the best one he has ever written. be prepared to loose some sleep trying to finish this one. This book defines the word 'suspense'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Absolutely Excellent

    This book is, by far, my favorite. Christopher Pike's story telling is simply compelling. I've read this book at least a dozen times, and I'm captivated and wrapped into the characters everytime! If you have yet to read this book, whatever you do, leave the lights on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    The Best

    This is my favorite book ever. I have read it at least 20 times, and every time I notice something else that ties the story together. He makes an awesome web of complex stories; when, all of them put together constitutes a fascinating plot with characters that pull at your heartstrings. I love the story more each time I reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Absolutely Amazing

    I found this book randomly browsing the aisles of the public library and I was a little reluctant to read it. Seeing that it had a bit of a science fiction flare to it really put me off. But once I began the book I couldn't put it down. I was up long hours reading until it was finished. I was ignoring people who's conversations I was supposed to be involved in. Christopher Pike is an author that I've been reading since I was a young girl. I've always been amazed at how well he writes and gets his point across without making the reader feel like a little child. Season of Passage ties in aspects of many religions and superstitions in a way that makes it real and authentic. I sweat I had dreams of the characters all through the reading of the book. Definately worth picking up, for reading again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Another Great One!

    Christopher Pike has been one of my favorite authors since I was about 9. I have read most of his books, with the exception of those hard to get ones, and I believe that this book was one of the best written yet! It was so deep and moving that I couldn't put it down. I am not one to get emotional over books, but this one actually moved me to cry! I highly reccomend this book to anyone who loves the captivating way Pike writes! It is unforgetable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    a book you can't put down

    I have owned 'A Season of Passage' since it came out and have read it many times. Each time is like reading a new book. It is a very good story and even though I've read it and know I like it, I can never totally remember what it is about. It is definetly worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3