Customer Reviews for

The Seat of the Soul

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I Feel Transformed!!

I just finished the book, and all I can say is 'awesome.' Kind of a trendy word for a 41-year-old to use, but it's all I can think of to appropriately describe it. Mr. Zuvak puts everything into such powerful perspective, cuts through all the greed, anger, and jealousy ...
I just finished the book, and all I can say is 'awesome.' Kind of a trendy word for a 41-year-old to use, but it's all I can think of to appropriately describe it. Mr. Zuvak puts everything into such powerful perspective, cuts through all the greed, anger, and jealousy that this world is thriving on now, and gets to the common root that we ALL have, a soul and spirit. Sure, we all love our SUVs and summer vacations and trips to the mall, but it's not what this life is all about. It's the life the five sense personality has created for itself, and as a result, we're all walking around like a bunch of empty shells wearing designer labels! I think Congress should cancel the upcoming inaguration balls (they've spent enough time on this election already!) and use the money that is wasted on yet more greed and misuse of power, and instead mail a copy of this wonderful and insightive book to every person in this country. It would be money much well spent. What's more important, discovering our true selves and ridding the country of some anger and hatred, or tuning in to see what color gown Laura Bush is wearing??!!

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tantalizing

Zukav's deep and intense thoughts are arranged and described in impressive fashion. Some of what's here is a bit subjective and imaginative -- I think this is part of the book's mystique.

posted by Anonymous on June 15, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    I Feel Transformed!!

    I just finished the book, and all I can say is 'awesome.' Kind of a trendy word for a 41-year-old to use, but it's all I can think of to appropriately describe it. Mr. Zuvak puts everything into such powerful perspective, cuts through all the greed, anger, and jealousy that this world is thriving on now, and gets to the common root that we ALL have, a soul and spirit. Sure, we all love our SUVs and summer vacations and trips to the mall, but it's not what this life is all about. It's the life the five sense personality has created for itself, and as a result, we're all walking around like a bunch of empty shells wearing designer labels! I think Congress should cancel the upcoming inaguration balls (they've spent enough time on this election already!) and use the money that is wasted on yet more greed and misuse of power, and instead mail a copy of this wonderful and insightive book to every person in this country. It would be money much well spent. What's more important, discovering our true selves and ridding the country of some anger and hatred, or tuning in to see what color gown Laura Bush is wearing??!!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Seat of the Soul by Gary Zukav

    This book is a "must read" for all those individuals who are trying to make sense of how our life's lessons are developed and used for our spiritual awakening and journey. All those who enjoy psycho-analyzing themselves, want to understand why situations occur, and wonder why they have been placed in situations need to read this book. Furthermore, the best thing about this book is that it is the first that I have seen on how our personality is reflected through the soul's journey. It is an important piece to a puzzle of evolution of a person's soul on Earth. Gary Zukav makes it clear and helps to distinguish why some of us see things through our senses, and others see things through more developed senses and intuition. If anyone wonders why they are different from their mates, etc. and how in the world they connected and wonder why others don't see things the way they see things, this book is useful to unraveling the mystery. Gary maps out why we have come to Earth and how we connect to the universe in an understandable and simple way. I loved this book-- but I believe nothing happens by chance. I was told about this book by a well known astrologer.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    A Comprehensive Theory of Personality

    In my training as a therapist I have studied many theories of personality. Like the Transpersonal Psychologists Gary Zurkov, in his book ¿Seat of the Soul,¿ challenges psychology to include the language of the spirit. Psychology and spirituality are integrated in Transpersonal Psychology but the American Psychological Association, APA, does not recognize Transpersonal Psychology because the ¿soul¿ cannot be verified scientifically. However, many of Gary¿s descriptions of the human psyche ring true for me. That we are evolving from a five-sensory to multi-sensory beings; that we have non-physical teachers; that our purpose in life is to align the personality with the soul; that mental illness is a shattered spirit; that we are reincarnated; that our choices result in positive or negative karma; that evil is an absence of light and that the universe is alive, intelligent and compassionate. It¿s sad when a physicist presents a more comprehensive theory of personality than a psychologist. But I¿m also glad that ¿Seat of the Soul¿ had touched and helped so many people.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great Book, every must read!!!

    Loved this book, could not put it down. I am reading it a second time and finding new things that I missed. Would read over and over just to make sure I don't forget the teachings in it. You do need to have a very open mind to be able to really learn and expand your insight.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Perfect book

    Hold on to your seat as you read through this book. It will open your mind in ways you may not have thought of before. For me, it was reassuring to the way i feel and think. Glad we are coming together! Unconditional peace and love world wide! Thank you Gary!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Feel Good Book :)

    Enjoyed this book. A must read for enligthening the soul. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Inspirational

    Gary Zukav clarifies our movement from sensory knowledge to intuitive understanding. The topics presented show our evolution moving from outer changes to inner unfolding of consciousness expressed as both personal and social transformation. I gained many insights from 'Seat of the Soul' and highly recommend it as a guide to transformation work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    a reviewer

    This book brought to the surface basic understandings that needed to be recognized. I felt a sense of inner strength forming as I read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Wonderful work in progress!

    Although he is not the best in articulating his vision in a convincing way, I have to say that this book is evidence that Zukav is on his way to something wonderful. Though his commercial success may serve as a impediment in his own path, I think that he has made a positive and significant contribution to public consciousness through this book. All I can hope for is that he continues developing his understanding and uses his fame in a responsible and positive way. If you are looking for this type of vision that is explained in a much more articulate manner, read 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. If you read Sato's book, you will see how it all comes together and also feel incredibly inspired!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    Life Changing

    The Seat of the Soul is with out a doubt the most inspiring book I have ever read, I have searched for many years for some spiritual guidance and direction, and until I read this book had not found any. My life has changed dramatically, in that I take full responsibility for my thoughts and actions, and realize I am not alone in the Universe. I recommend to anyone searching for truth and clarity to read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    great read, highly recommended!

    great read, highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Enriching and enlightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    No spiritual library collection is complete without this one.

    A Masterpiece of Spirituality.A book for the ages.Sheer metaphysical genius, done simplistically, concise, and with reverence, it is a book I treasure and keep at my bedside.

    J. Carroll
    Author of
    Silver Threads.to Gold

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Introspective

    This book is a wonderful journey to introspection. At the beginning, it seemed like a rehash of some other books I've read, but in the second part of the book Zukav surprised me by introducing ways to look at myself and others. Although some may not believe in karma and some of the other beliefs Zukav speaks about, it is still an excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Tantalizing

    Zukav's deep and intense thoughts are arranged and described in impressive fashion. Some of what's here is a bit subjective and imaginative -- I think this is part of the book's mystique.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    The Book That Changed My Life

    The Seat Of the Soul wrote by Gary Zukav has very directly affected my life in a way that is hard to decribe. For a five-sentory thinking world at times, I often wondered who it is that I am? Because; I just don't fit in to that way of thinking. I can forgive the crimnial, the crime, and look beyond the face, and now see his spirit. There we can find the reason for his deed!! This could chance the world as we know it!! Gary Zukav has said it. He had the courage to bring it to light. That forgiveness and love, compasstion and understanding our fellow Earth school pupils just might be the right thing to do. More inpotantly; it might be the REAL thing to do!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Excellent

    I don't know how Gary Zukav does it, but this book speaks to me like very few books ever have. I just read this book for the third time and I am reminded why so many people love this author so much. Every time I read it I find new meanings, new inspiration and new ways of looking at myself and my circumstances that help me grow as a person and be happier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    Not Entirely Convincing

    Zukav's argument is based around the premise that there is a soul, but this is a premise he never sets out to prove. The book thereafter is quite logical, though not really refreshing and somewhat typical of the a+b=c argument. It reminds me of Plato's attempts to prove the existence of the soul, which even he began to reject. A good book, but not Zukav's best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    Thesis to Test with Your Intuition

    Let me explain my rating of 3 stars first. I am required to put a rating on, but do not want to do so on this book. So the 3 stars are my attempt not to rate the book, rather than a rating so disregard it totally. Since the book argues that judging is harmful to the soul and I agree with that, I will try to avoid being judgmental as much as I am able, in order to be fair to the spirit of this book. Let me share with you my reactions to the book. The author has written a series of 16 interrelated essays that take you as a starting point from the perspective of the potential for humans to evolve from being limited by their five senses and personalities to a more authentic existence using more senses and soul-based decisions. The ending is well captured by the concept of becoming a body in a soul, rather than just the opposite. As you read each section, you are encouraged to feel whether the assertion works for you or not. I found that some did and some did not. You would probably have a different experience. I also found that I have had some spiritual experiences that the book did not seem to describe. That left me a little unsettled. You may find that also. On the whole, I found more truth in my own experiences than disconnection in reading the book. Also, it was a peaceful experience, which is always a good sign for me when I read a book. If you are interested in having another perspective on the meaning of existence than the one that your religion, your spiritual advisor, or your family may have taught you or helped you understand, you will probably like this book. If you are not seeking out another perspective, you may find it hard to relate some of the book to what you know and believe. That could be a helpful experience for you. You should decide if you want to read this book or not. I have no recommendat

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    Inspiring

    This book truly inspires me. I have picked it up several times now, and every time I¿ve read different things that influence my life in a profound way. One of the things that opened my eyes that Mr. Zukav writes is: 'When perception of the physical world is limited to the five-sensory modality, the basis of life in the physical arena becomes fear. Power to control the environment, and those within it appears to be essential.' Control has been one of my `issues¿ for a long time. And indeed, now I¿ve become more in tune with my intuition and other `sensors¿, my life has become some much richer. I embrace the concept of multi-sensory perception. I¿ve discovered that I know so much more than logically I should be able to know. I¿ve recently met this wonderful guy; we¿ve `known¿ each other for only 2 weeks now. But I know him and about him for what seems forever. We¿ve even started to communicate `telepathically¿. It¿s so wonderful. And this has all happened since I¿ve become aware of the possibilities of multi-sensory perception. Mr. Zukav has helped a lot in that area. Other people who have helped me trust my intuition are Shya & Ariel Kane. They have written a book about their technique Instantaneous Transformation¿. The book is called 'Working on yourself doesn¿t work' and I can very much recommend this book to anyone interested in the topics mentioned above. I¿ve also bought the tapes (Magical Relationships is one of them) and it has truly redefined my life. Everything has become so much easier and so much fun. If you¿re looking for easy & simple enlightenment you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4